RT Daily Blog

Romance Advice From Actress Drew Barrymore

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

With her flowing skirt, hair in braids and quirky grin, Drew Barrymore is the quintessential free spirit Hollywood actress. I was able to spend Tuesday morning with Ms. Barrymore while she was promoting her new film Going the Distance which is about a couple that is trying to make a long distance relationship work. Drew says this movie is a bit of a departure from her usual Rom Com fare because this is a "dude film." With an R rating, crass language and cast of comedians, Drew says you can expect big laughs, but it may be a bit light on the romance for some. However, this did not stop Drew from expounding on what she finds romantic.

"You have to have joy and spontaneity in a relationship," Drew says. "Also, make plans. Even if it is just about when you will call or go on a date that is enough. It's just too hard to function in a relationship if you can't make a plan."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Joan Frances Turner Is Bringing Zombies To LIfe (In More Than One Way) - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Joan Frances Turner 's debut novel, Dust, is a September RT Top Pick! The urban fantasy novel takes a new look at zombies as though they shared many qualities with humans: such as life cycles, a system of beliefs and vulnerabilities to man-made viruses.

We are seriously digging the old school Public Service Announcement-themed videos the author is running for the book's September 7th release. You can check them out below:

Parents Who Eat Brains Have Children Who Eat Brains >>

This Is Your Brain For Breakfast >>

Friends Don't Let Friends Eat Friends >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jenna Petersen On "Getting Physical"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jenna Petersen discusses why she considers sex such an important part of the romance novels that she writes. And don't miss the excerpt of her new release, The Unclaimed Duchess, at the end of this post!

Thanks so much to RT for asking me to write a few words on a topic that is quite near and dear to my heart. See, I’ve always liked a sexy romance. Give me the “good stuff”. And that’s always what I’ve written, whether under my Jenna Petersen name or my erotic romance name, Jess Michaels. But for some reason sometimes people seem to discount a sexy romance and somehow less valid or emotional because there is… horror of horrors… sex in it. Like somehow that cheapens the relationship, especially if sex comes before love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Ward, Hern, Butcher and More!

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I provide a Shannon K. Butcher spoiler, check in with Jessica Bird aka J.R. Ward and hunt down the latest from Candice Hern. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Erin Kellison On The Perks (And Pitfalls) Of Being A New Author

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

We spotlighted author Erin Kellison in the beginning of summer, when she was a debut author with her first novel Shadow Bound. At that time, she shared her journey to publication (read it here). Barely three months later, her second novel, Shadow Fall, is on shelves and she's hard at work on her newest tale. So we caught up with Kellison to find out what life as a new author is really like.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: The Music Video for Alyssa Day's book Atlantis Rising

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

As promised, RT readers get first look at the music video "Atlantis Alive" which is based on Alyssa Day's Warriors of Poseidon series starter, the 2007 paranormal romance novel, Atlantis Rising.

Atlantis Alive from Radiator Music on Vimeo.

You can learn more about this music video and several other novels that are incorporating a musical element in the article "Music of the Heart" in the October issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Supernatural Soiree

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Last night, authors Lucienne Diver and Michele Lang hosted a book release party for their newest stories. 

Diver's newest release Revamped, the second in her Young Adult Vamped series was released yesterday, while earlier this week Lang's Historical Urban Fantasy Lady Lazarus hit bookstores.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smart Chicks Kick It - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

We told you we are psyched to celebrate YA all month long. And now the seventeen authors taking part in September's Smart Chicks Kick It book tour have given us another reason to cheer. This month some of the most popular YA authors will participate in a two-week book tour that's not just cross-country but cross continent! And the authors headlining the tour have put together an AWESOME giveaway for RT readers at the end of the post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
60COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Month Kick Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE: For ongoing coverage of the YA genre, please check the links at the bottom of this page.

For many of us, September means “back to school.” And whether you are headed into the classroom as a student or a teacher, or just remembering the sensation of being in class, what better time for a month-long celebration of young adult novels?

This hot genre is bursting with great books for fall. In our September issue, for the first time ever, we had six YA Top Picks! These six reads are a great cross-section of what is going on in the genre, and are hitting shelves this month. We can't wait!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing with the Stars Finalists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

During the past few months, aspiring authors from all over the United States have been sending in writing samples in hopes of being chosen to participate in the contest that will end with one lucky winner awarded a book contract. Today we are happy to announce the 10 finalists in the Writing With the Stars contest sponsored by RT BOOK REVIEWS and Kensington’s Brava imprint.
 
Congratulations to the following finalists:

Maeve Greyson
Lisa Kessler
KC Klein
Alannah Lynne
Mari Manning
Dale Mayer
Diana Quincy
Meredith Simmons
Madeline Smyth
Maria Zannini

For more information about the contest, make sure to check back on the RT website in late September and pick up a copy of the November issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, on newsstands later this month.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST