RT Daily Blog

Mary Robinette Kowal's Favorite Scene From Shades of Milk and Honey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mary Robinette Kowal’s Shades of Milk and Honey, was awarded RT’s fifth Seal of Excellence. From Kowal’s realistic Regency England -- with the subtle addition of magic -- to her pitch-perfect Jane Austen-esq voice, the author’s dedication to world building shines through the story. Now Kowal shares her favorite scene from the novel.

To set up this scene a bit, Mr. Vincent, a professional glamourist, and Jane have met on three other occasions prior to this scene and have not gotten along. In the preceding chapter, they have been pressed to create a tableaux vivant as a way of entertaining the various guests at a strawberry picking party.

In the Regency there were various parlour games to provide amusement to a fairly board aristocracy. One of them involved dressing up in costume and standing in a tableaux which the other guests could admire as a sort of living painting. One did not act or speak, just posed. I took that idea and adapted it for glamour.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Scooped! Featuring Genre Trends

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I did something a bit different. One reader's question really stood out, so I am using the entire column today to answer K. from Kentucky. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: My favorite book genres are paranormal, mystery and historical romances. What themes are you seeing in these types of books? - K


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

"Zombies Vs. Unicorns"-Themed Haikus

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Yesterday, when RT editors Stephanie and Elissa took a trip to CVS during lunch, they were assaulted (well, visually assaulted, anyway) by Halloween decorations, candy and costumes. It was, in a word, awesome. Because these ladies love Halloween. They also love unicorns and zombies, respectively, and our readers, who were so gracious as to play along in our Zombies vs. Unicorns haiku contest, which ran in the September issue of RT.

To get into the holiday spirit yourself, why not check out Zombies vs. Unicorns, the anthology edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier, out this week from Simon Pulse? Our winners will be getting their own copies in the mail soon! 

Read on for the winning haikus (you guys are hilarious), and thanks to everyone who entered!

Shiny and white coat;
Beautiful and dangerous;
Why only virgins?
—  Sheree Tieh


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Ally Carter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK
YA author Ally Carter is interviewed by RT's Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi. The author chats about her popular series starter Heist Society. Find out what inspired Carter's cat burglar heroine, her favorite art fact that she learned while researching Heist Society and details about the series second!

Ally Carter On Her Heist Series >>

Ally Carter On Her Gallagher Girls Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Check Back Tomorrow For The *Web Exclusive Review* of Only The Good Spy Young!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

QUICK TAKES With Cate Tiernan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Cate Tiernan has just kicked off her new series with Immortal Beloved. Now the author stops by to answer our first-ever "Quick Takes" quiz. And don't miss the author message and excerpt at the bottom of this post!

1) What was your favorite book when you were growing up?

I don't know if I had an all-time favorite, but I read voraciously. My mother worked in a bookshop for a while and I think I read their entire juvenile stock. The one that comes to mind most often is The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. It was long and not dumbed-down and very satisfying.

2) What is your favorite book now? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Robyn Grady On Bad Jobs And Silver Linings

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Robyn Grady's latest series romance is Fired Waitress, Hired Mistress. Learn about the author's inspiration for her heroine's unfulfilling job as a waitress. And find out which eclectic jobs four other Harlequin Presents authors held before becoming writers!

I’ve been lucky on the vocation front. For sixteen years I was employed behind the scenes in television - great fun! Then, four years ago, I landed my absolute dream job…writing fulltime for Mills & Boon and Silhouette, creating new ways for two strong-minded deserving people - who can’t possibly make it together – reach their happily-ever-afters. Some days I could pull out my hair wondering where the story should go next. Many more nights, however, I keep my laptop company into the early hours because the characters have taken over the plot. Needless to say, every minute I write romance, I’m living in my own private heaven.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour Hits Pasadena!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa de la Cruz delivers a report from the Pasadena, CA stop on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. Get all the details about the night's activities, check out photos and find out where you can find these authors next!

The Smart Chicks caravan – a rollicking Sea World-like carnival of girl-powered, writer-powered, shoe-powered fun landed in Pasadena last night to a roaring crowd of 300 people at Vroman's bookstore. I knew the tour was going to be amazing from the first email inviting me to be part of it from insanely fabulous, YA lit advocates and enthusiasts/organizers Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong, but I had no idea how much giddy fun it would be. Stick nine paranormal YA authors in front of a crowd and you get—mayhem! Lightning Round! Marry, Shag, Cliff! Prizes! Trivia! It's a true author-as-rockstar experience that puts all other tours to shame. (No more lonely room service dinners alone, that's for sure!)

Here are the chicks. Don't we look smart? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Inside Meg Gardiner's Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Meg Gardiner is known for her fast-paced mystery series and now you have the chance to become part of the action!

For the release of this summer's The Liar's Lullaby, the author stopped by to chat about mystery-solving forensic psychiatrist Jo Beckett. Now Gardiner is offering fans another way to go behind the scenes of the series. Meg Gardiner will name a character in her new novel, The Nightmare Thief, after one lucky reader!

TO ENTER: Visit the author's blog and write a caption of the photos on this post in 200 words or less. ENTER NOW >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smart Chicks Kick It in Phoenix/Scottsdale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Alyson Noël takes us behind the scenes of the Phoenix/Scottsdale AZ stops on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. Learn how Noël got involved with the tour, take a look at photos from the night and find out where you can catch these authors next!

Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong asked me to join them on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour over lunch.

They were at a restaurant, I was at home, sitting at my desk with the phone clutched to my ear, feeling more than a little star struck to be talking to two authors whose work I admire so much.

Of course, the answer came easy—an enthusiastic, yes! And after months of their diligent planning and organizing and scheduling and last minute finagling, it’s been a blast to see their vision come to life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 9/21/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST