RT Daily Blog

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 9/17/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week trapped with this delicious combination: Deserted Island, Dreamy Ex?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Young Adult Top Picks Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

To celebrate the unprecedented SIX YA top picks of September, RT is giving you a chance to get your hands on these coveted novels in this awesome giveaway. Five lucky winners will receive a prize pack of this entire six book collection! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go In-Depth With August's Seal Of Excellence Winner: Mary Robinette Kowal

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mary Robinette Kowal's debut novel has been awarded RT's fifth Seal of Excellence. Kowal, a highly respected puppeteer and vocal actor, wowed RT editors with Shades of Milk and Honey, a Regency England-set fantasy. The book seamlessly blends historical fiction with fantasy to create a novel in the same vein as Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott with one small addition - magic. In this interview, RT goes behind the scenes of Shades of Milk and Honey to learn how Kowal got into the "Jane Austen frame of mind." And don't miss the exclusive hidden extra that Kowal shares from Shades of Milk and Honey and the author's look ahead at the story's sequel, Glamour In Glass.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Report From the Golden Apple Awards 2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Community was the word of the night at the 2010 Golden Apple Awards hosted by the Romance Writers of America - New York City Chapter. The New York romance publishing industry was out in force last night to celebrate the GAA winners. This year honorees included authors Mary Jo Putney and Leanna Renee Hieber, independent publisher Sourcebooks, agent Lori Perkins and editor Deb Werksman.

RT would like to congratulate all of the winners. Another big congrats to RWA NYC for 20 years of inspiring and supporting aspiring and published authors in the New York City area.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marley Gibson's Top Ten Tips For Ghost Hunting Teens

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Marley Gibson has made a name for herself with her popular Ghost Huntress series. Now check out the author's tips for teen ghost hunters and don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* for each novel in this four book series!

The Ghost Huntress series has developed over four novels to become a multi-faceted action-packed ride. The novels follow teen Kendall who discovers that she is a psychic. With the aid of a few close friends and two adult mentors, Kendall is determined to use her gift to help as many ghosts "find the light" as possible. As Kendall experiences the ups and downs of being a psychic teen, Gibson delivers compelling mysteries with a strong supporting cast.

Gibson says of ghost hunting, "In researching for my Ghost Huntress series, I have, in essence, become a ghost huntress myself." Now she shares ten essential rules for effective (and safe) ghost hunting!

Marley Gibson's Top Ten Tips for Ghost Hunting Teens:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Moning, Sparks, Shay and More!

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I talk with Karen Marie Moning about her next release, discuss paranormal creatures and scout out some of the best firefighter stories around. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: I am a huge fan of Karen Marie Moning's MacKayla Lane stories. I just checked on Amazon and the next release Shadowfever won't be out until January, which seems like a really, really long time! Can you tell me anything about the book? Any little tidbit would be welcome. - G.H.

Morgan: I can do much better than a little tidbit. If you go to Karen Marie Moning's website and sign up for the author's newsletter you can find six teasers for Shadowfever in the newsletter archives. Also, fans like yourself are all over the forums on the author's site dissecting the teasers with a fine-tooth comb. And just for you, G.H., I contacted the author to see what Ms. Moning had to say about the long wait for her upcoming release.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Heroine from Jennifer Greene's Newest Novel Serves Up Adventure

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Series author Jennifer Greene takes "women's work" to a whole new level with this month's Mesmerizing Stranger. The novel's heroine, Cate, is a professional adventure chef. Now get an insider's look at how Greene created Cate's "strong but sweet" character for the second novel in the author's current trilogy!

My New Man in Town trilogy for Silhouette Romantic Suspense is about three sisters who lost everything when they were children—and how they each have something to solve before completely getting over the tragedy they endured.

Cate is the middle sister—and I had so much fun with her. I chose to give her the career of “Adventure Chef.”

I’ve always written about women’s issues and women’s values. I believe (and always have) that romances convey support to today’s women, whatever trials, troubles, and triumphs they’re experiencing in their lives.

Cate’s profession was a specific way to express that support.

Women certainly aren’t stuck in the kitchen any more. They aren’t expected to have food on the table, as if cooking and cleaning up were a Woman’s Job.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smart Chicks Kick It: Report From Austin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa Marr reports back from the first night of the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. The giant author tour kicked off in Austin, TX with over 450 YA fans in attendance. Now get Marr's take on the event, check out pictures and find out where the tour is headed next!

To say that the Smart Chicks tour has been wonderful so far would be VERY much an understatement. It’s already so much better than my highest expectations.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing With the Stars: Help Us Find a New Brava Author!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Help us find the next Brava author!

The competitors have been selected, meet the 10 authors who are competing for a chance to have their novel published by Kensington’s Brava line.

Learn who these aspiring authors are, what inspires them to write and when you can cast your votes in their favor. 

Meet The Contestants >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What Is the Best App For Inventorying E-books?

BY Dear Jane, SEPTEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: What is the best i-app to use for book inventory? I have an iPod Touch that travels with me and have fiddled with some of the apps but so far haven't found 'the one' to fit this need.

Currently I have all my books listed on an Excel spreadsheet - it works great when I'm at home in front of the computer, but is useless when I'm at a bookstore trying to remember what books I do/don't have, what's on my 'to get' list and what I've already read.

Oh, and it'll need to handle a LOT of books, like 2000+ for my current list with room to grow... Any suggestions? ~ S

***

Dear S: I tested out the ones for the iPhone/iTouch and I like myBookshelf app the very best. Unfortunately, you would have to have the Google ID for each book to be able to import your list, but by searching on the author's name, you can easily add books to your inventory i-app.

Here's a review of the apps I tested:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST