RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Diana Gabaldon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Diana Gabaldon is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus at the 2010 New York Comic Con. Learn about the author's new graphic novel, The Exile, her upcoming mystery series and the most surprising part of book eight in the Outlander series.

Diana Gabaldon Goes Behind The Scenes Of Her Outlander Series >>

 

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Karen Whiddon's Latest Heroine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Profile for Seduction, author Karen Whiddon’s newest heroine, Lea, is on the hunt of the vicious serial killer who once held her captive. Learn what inspired this policewoman who refuses to give up, even in the face of unimaginable odds.

In my October Silhouette Romantic Suspense Profile For Seduction, my heroine Lea Cordasic is a police officer who was on the trail of a serial killer when the tables turned and he captured her. The huntress became a captive. Instead of being killed, she was forced to watch unspeakable acts of brutality. This experience shook her to the core and shaped her in ways unimaginable to the confident officer she’d once been.


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In Round One of Writing With the Stars!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the first round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors. For the first round of the competition, you get to take a look inside of each contestant's manuscript to read their first paragraph and the very last line of their novel.

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the thoughts of this round's judge, blogger Sarah Wendell of SmartBitchesTrashyBooks.com.

You can vote once time between now and October 24th. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best hero and heroine! 

Cast Your Vote >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet A Fourteenth Century Version of Philip Marlowe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Jeri Westerson's novel The Demon's Parchment got an enthusiastic Top Pick review, but the RT editors were scratching our heads on what to call the excellent tale. Certainly it has mystery and suspense, and it is historically set, but there is a lot more to the story. Thankfully, the author came to our rescue when she told us that she has labeled the new type of books that she created - Westerson calls it "Medieval Noir." Read on to learn more from the author about the evolution of this new subgenre.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Photos From New York Comic Con 2010 - Part 2

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

As promised, here are some more photos from New York Comic Con. These are a sampling of our favorite costumes from the convention: 

A Na'vi



Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Photos From New York Comic Con 2010 - Part 1

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

This weekend New York Comic Con is in full swing and the RT editors are on the scene. Here's what we are seeing:

Hundreds Of Comic Book Fans Crowding Into The Javits Center In NYC

 


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 10/8/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Spend your whole week wrestling with the choices you made For The Sake of the Secret Child?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jane Austen With A Paranormal Twist

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

There have been many Jane Austen adaptations over the years - traditional retellings, contemporary spins (including my favorite, Clueless) and even the inclusion of a monster or two. This month readers can enjoy a whole new take on Jane Austen's beloved stories when four historical romance authors use Ms. Austen's characters as inspiration for their new paranormal anthology Bespelling Jane Austen. So how does one go about picking an Austen story to adapt? Find out here.

Susan Krinard writes "Blood & Prejudice"

Pride & Prejudice is my favorite Austen story. I like it most because Darcy is the kind of hero I really enjoy: standoffish, apparently arrogant, but also deeply compassionate underneath. He's a strong man who is also responsible, and it doesn't hurt that he's tall, dark and handsome! Lizzy, too, is my favorite kind of heroine: "spunky," acerbic, and a match for any man. How could I not love this story? (Plus, Darcy makes a fantastic vampire!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Questions With Katherine Heigl

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

A beautiful, albeit uptight, woman is forced to raise an orphaned baby with a messy bachelor. Sounds like a great contemporary romance or Life As We Know It. The much anticipated Rom Com stars opposites Katherine Heigl and Josh Duhamel opens today. So I sat down with Ms. Heigl to ask her about her life, family and career.  

***

In the movie, you and Josh's character go on a blind date that turns out awful. Do you have any real life experiences going on blind dates?
I've never had a blind date, but I had a really, really bad first date. I went out with my trainer from the gym. I was super excited because I didn't know anyone in L.A. and he was a good looking guy. He shaved his legs, but - I don't know - maybe it was a trainer thing. Anyway, he took me out to Sizzler, which was cool because I was totally down for a steak, but before the apps were there, he handed me a head shot and asked if I could give it to my agent...awkward.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kalayna Price's Grave Undertaking

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Kaylana Price kicks off her new urban fantasy series with this month's release, Grave Witch. The series heroine, Alex, has the ability to see into the world of spirits and this witch's powers are attracting the attention of an unusual admirer. Get an inside look at the world of a heroine who is not afraid to flirt with Death!

My vision narrowed, leaving the world faded behind a patina of gray. Flakes of rust covered the stainless steel gurney, and the threadbare, tattered linen sheet covering the body rippled in the breeze blowing through me. The linoleum floor under my boots had worn away, and the cement beneath it crumbled. Outside the circle, John’s wrinkled jacket was pocked with holes, but he was filled with light, his soul a dazzling shimmer of pale yellow.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST