RT Daily Blog

ThrillerFest Forecast: Authors Share What To Expect From Them Next

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

At ThrillerFest this afternoon we got a chance to check in with some of our favorite authors about the projects they are currently working on (and what readers can look forward to seeing in stores next year). They shared their current projects and exclusive details for RT Readers.

 Alex Kava is continuing her Maggie O’Dell series with Damaged, which will be released on Tuesday, and next summer readers can follow Maggie to western Nebraska in Hot Wire. Kava says, “Expect barbed wire fences and sand hills.”

John Lescroart, who was sitting right next to Kava, chimed in, “Your title Damaged is extremely close to the title of my next release, Damage, which comes out in January.”

 Erica Spindler’s Watch Me Die will be out in May 2011. The story is set in New Orleans when “the ghost of Hurricane Katrina” revisits the city.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


RT Reports From ThrillerFest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mystery writers gather together each year for ThrillerFest, a four-day conference hosted by the organization of International Thriller Writers. We were psyched to attend their fifth annual conference, which was held at the Grand Hyatt hotel, above the famed Grand Central Station in New York City.

Writers attend panels about the craft of writing, such as “How To Make Your Pulse Race,” as well as discussions about the business of writing, like the Friday-morning panel “How Do you Excite Your Editor and Get More Out of Your Publisher?” There were also workshops for fans of the genre like “Who’s Your Hero? In Fiction and in Real Life” and “What’s Love Got to Do With It.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Nancy Bush

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus interviews Nancy Bush about the author's new release Blind Spot. The pair chat about the author's inspiration for the romantic suspense, which takes place mainly in a mental institution, and the emotional heartache Bush puts her heroines through.

Nancy Bush On Blind Spot >>

Nancy Bush Discusses The Colony Series >>


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tales Of The Twenties

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Who doesn’t love the 1920s? Flirty flappers, sexy speakeasies and fast cars, it’s a time rife with change. With gay parties and bright young things determined to have a good time despite the worries lurking when the parties end, there is inherent conflict in the time. Beyond the parties that the era is best known for, It was an age of social unrest, of turbulent politics and a population determined to find new ways after the old ones had led to war and sadness.


In Let’s Misbehave, out this month by Rae Summers, Gabrielle and Simon struggle with their identities in 1920s England. Gabrielle has already left behind the past, eschewing her noble heritage to become a modern woman. Simon is caught between his desire to live a life “full of spontaneity and joy” and his obligation to his family’s birthright. Both characters are seeking to fill an emotional emptiness and discover what being a "modern" person really entails. This novella is a quick ride that RT Reviewer Kate Gerard says, “conveys a depth of feeling that is not reached by many novels triple its size.”

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Authors Gena Showalter And Jill Monroe Team Up For A Non-Fic Project

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Gena Showalter and Jill Monroe are teaming up for a non-fiction project. Titled, Immortelle, this magazine-style non-fic will focus on comprehensive dating advice for the modern woman. What's the twist? It's written "as if hot, otherworldly men were actually living among us."

The authors, who are best friends, started with the desire to create a "magazine for mortals and immortals alike" and took the project from there ... So, what does a magazine for that niche audience actually look like? Co-author Gena Showalter says, expect Immortelle to be "a mix of Cosmo, Redbook and Oprah." But readers can expect a bit more than advice. Between the pages there will be how-to's, top ten lists, quizzes and even ads.

"If you’re wanting to prepare a romantic meal for your angel or your demon, we’ll tell you what to cook and what to wear. Same with your vampire, werewolf, ghost and other creatures of 'myth.' But no worries, it all applies even if you’re not dating an immortal. Because, really. Everyone’s dated a flesh and blood male and thought, at some point, that the guy shared the same traits as a vamp or a werewolf (or sadly, even a zombie)."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Web Exclusive Review: Pulse Of Power By Anne Elizabeth

BY admin, JULY 07, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

RT's Anne Elizabeth coordinates the graphic novel, manga and comic book coverage in the magazine. Now we are thrilled to cover her on the website with this *Web Exclusive Review* of her debut graphic novel, Pulse of Power.

The graphic novel follws the exploits of teen Tia as she attempts to understand her new magical talents and harness them against the forces of evil.

RT Reviewer Ruth Walters calls Elizabeth's debut "brilliant, hilarious and charming!"

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* Of Pulse Of Power >>

Read an Exclusive Excerpt of Pulse of Power >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Patricia Rice Interview

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 07, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

I loved the latest Patricia Rice novel, The Wicked Wyckerly. It got 4 1/2 stars from RT Reviewer Joan Hammond and I absolutely agree that, using "her distinctive voice [Rice] combines a bit of whimsy, mayhem and a lot of love and laughter in this delicious and highly entertaining read."

After finishing the novel, I still wanted to know more about the making of the story (and the series it starts) so, I went straight to its creator for answers. Patricia Rice talked to me about her inspiration for the series and where she drew on her own experiences to create a different type of historical hero.

I was absolutely captivated by the relationship between Fitz and his daughter Penny, which involved alot of creative parenting. I knew that my first question for Patricia Rice would have to be what she loved best about her new release ...


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hungry for The Hunger Games? - With GIVEAWAY!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JULY 06, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

We're gearing up here at the RT offices for the release of Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins' Hunger Games trilogy ender, out August 24. And we're not the only ones. In response to the huge buzz the series has garnered, Scholastic has just announced a print run of 1.2 million books!

Since there are no teasers available to let us know what the book entails, and as we only got a little taste of the first few pages at the Mockingjay party, we spent some time hypothesizing what we think will happen as the books draw to a close.

 

If you'd like to join in the fun and get caught up on the series, we have a contest for you! We've got five copies of The Hunger Games' new paperback release to give away, thanks to Scholastic. To enter, e-mail elissa@rtbookreviews.com by July 13th with your own wildest guess as to how the books will end, or why you can't wait to read this trilogy.

Here's what we think is coming ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jennifer Ashley And The Mackenzie Family - WITH GIVEAWAY

BY admin, JULY 06, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

Author Jennifer Ashley offers RT readers unique insight into her Mackenzie family — and don't miss the EXCERPT and GIVEAWAY at the end of the blog entry!

Meet the Mackenzies: Rich, powerful, dangerous, eccentric. Rumors surround them — of tragic violence, of their mistresses, of their dark appetites, of scandals that set England and Scotland abuzz.

About four years ago, stories about Lords Ian, Mac, and Cameron, and Hart the Duke of Kilmorgan, began forming in my head and wouldn’t let me go. The characters haunted me; I couldn’t stop thinking about them! And so I started writing — long before I had a chance to pitch and sell the books.

Hart, the oldest, becomes duke upon his father’s death. He’s had his heart broken, but he’ll never admit it. He’s ruthless; had a brief, tragic marriage; has dark sexual appetites and the need to control … everything.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 7/6/2010

BY admin, JULY 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

  Give Me A Texas Ranger by Jodi Thomas, Linda Broday, DeWanna Pace and Phylliss Miranda

"Readers couldn’t ask for a finer quartet of heroes ..."

 


Read More>>

Tags:
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST