RT Daily Blog

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.7 — "The Wedding"

BY Regina Small, SEPTEMBER 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week: Black Jack Randall interrogated Claire and ... punched her in the stomach. Yikes. To prevent Claire from another of these delightful chats, Dougal arranges a marriage between Claire and Jamie, since an English officer can't compel a Scottish citizen to report for an interrogation. Let's hope that works!

It's the early 1940s and Claire and Frank are walking happily hand-in-hand down the streets of London. Frank's eye is caught by a pair of newlyweds emerging from the local city hall. This prompts him to propose to Claire and he suggests they get married right then, by a justice of the peace. It's not the most romantic moment in the world, unless your boyfriend only proposing to you because you happened to pass city hall strikes you as incredibly gallant. Jesus, what if they had passed a slaughterhouse? I worry about you, Frank. You're highly impressionable.  Meanwhile, Frank's parents are waiting at a nearby restaurant — and they've never met Claire.

But Frank really, really wants to LOCK THIS DOWN so he tells Claire his parents can wait.


source

"They'll never meet Claire Beuchamp; I'll have the pleasure of introducing them to Mrs. Frank Randall." For a seemingly progressive guy who goes downtown, Frank is disappointingly traditional about this whole marital naming bit.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Witches of East End Recap 2.10 — "The Fall of the House of Beauchamp"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, last we left the ladies, they were, you know: DEAD. So let’s get right to it, shall we?

Wendy and Jo are weeping in the garden over the hanging bodies of Ingrid and Freya. Freddy stumbles out to explain that Spike was the culprit, but Wendy wants to hear none of it and kicks him out.

They get the sisters down and lay them on the grass. It’s pretty gruesome. Pretty soon they’re laid out inside, as the aunts prepare the bodies. “A lot of death,” my husband observes. True story, mister.

 


This is all pretty dark, so let’s pause and
look at Mädchen Amick’s kicky new hair cut!

source

Back at Fairhaven, Killian and Dash have destroyed the attic during their brawl. Killian wakes up and summons a fireplace poker. He threatens to stab Dash with it, but doesn’t.

Wendy brings Jo some tea as they talk about how the girls will be reborn, but they’ll still be different — this version of them is gone. Wendy offers up her last life, but Jo says it would be impossible to choose who will live. (Here, let me do it for you: Freya. Boom. You’re welcome.)


Read More>>

Tags: TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jennifer Estep's Superhero-Sized Fall TV Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Whether it's Outlander, Witches of East End or The 100, we love TV as much as we love books. And with September in full swing, it's time for favorite shows to return for a new season and for new ones to capture our hearts and attention. Bestselling author Jennifer Estep is just as excited as we are about the Fall TV line-up, especially for all the superhero shows, and today she shares her top picks for the season.

Fall is my favorite time of year for several reasons — football, autumn leaves, cool temperatures and the start of the new TV season.

This year, I’m especially excited because of all the superhero-themed shows that will be hitting the airwaves over the next few weeks. I love, love, love superheroes, and this TV season offers a variety of takes on the crusaders from the speedy (The Flash) to the spooky (Constantine).

Here are some of the superhero-themed shows that I’m looking forward to this fall:

Gotham — premieres Sept. 22 (tonight!) — A hero is only as good as his villains, and Batman arguably has the best gallery of villains out of any superhero. This show will explore the origins of villains like the Penguin, along with a young Bruce Wayne and Jim Gordon, a cop who’s trying to do the right thing in a city full of corruption.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Historical Romance - Golden Heart Award winner Lenora Bell is ready to make her debut with Charlene and the Duchess Factory, a story about the illegitimate daughter of an earl who sets out to win over a duke by pretending to be her half-sister.

NEW SERIES

Romantic Suspense - In a new series sure to appeal to fans of Fast and the Furious and TV’s Burn Notice, Sidney Bristol turns up the heat and the action, starting with Driven. Coming in Fall 2015.

Contemporary Romance - Set in a small Vermont town popular for vacationers, Cate Cameron’s Just a Summer Fling series is going to be a fun and romantic getaway starting next Summer!


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 9/19/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week hanging out with the Cowboy in the Making?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: In a Historical slump? Connie Brockway can help! Read More >>

INSPIRATIONAL: See the cover for Stacy Henrie's "A Christmas Hope." Cover Revealed >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Say hello to Sawyer Bennett's Garrett. He's a Hot One >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. So we've started compiling our favorite Tweets. Here are this week's: 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Honor Among Thieves by Elizabeth Boyce

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's time for another juicy cover reveal, faithful readers, and if you're a fan of dark, thrilling and romantic Regency tales, then this one's for you! Elizabeth Boyce is ready to launch her new series, The Honorables, with Honor Among Thieves, coming your way October 27 from Crimson Romance — and we're helping her kick it off with the exclusive cover reveal! Let the fun begin!

To pay off her recently deceased brother’s debts, however, Lorna Robbins must take drastic measures. When she happens upon a resurrectionist gang stealing his corpse, she does the unthinkable and joins the criminal outfit to save her family estate and her younger sibling. For the first time in her lonely, duty-driven life, Lorna finds herself leading a treacherous and exciting double existence. By day, she becomes a popular lady of the ton, relying on society gossip to help her body-snatching gang. By night, she becomes the grave robber known only as the Blackbird.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Do You Believe in Aliens? Jennifer M. Eaton Dishes on Her New Novel, Plus a Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Are aliens real? Was that really a UFO floating above your house the other night? YA author Jennifer M. Eaton's not entirely sure if aliens are real, but her new novel, Fire in the Woods, certainly suggests they are. Perfect for fans of Star-Crossed and Jennifer L. Armentrout's Lux series, Fire in the Woods is a thrilling story about girl who falls in love with a boy from another planet who has a secret that could cause the world to end. Today, Jennifer shares her thoughts on the existence of aliens and what she would do if she ever met one. Stay tuned after the post for a chance to win a copy of the book!

The existence of aliens is one of those topics like politics or religion — you probably shouldn’t talk about it in mixed company because it is bound to start a fight (probably with the religious or politically minded).

Most people either emphatically believe that aliens exist, or they are positive that they don’t. Having never personally met an extra-terrestrial, I prefer to remain on the fence. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Sneak Peek: Spoiler-y Pictures!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

When I was a kid, I was watching a movie with my dad where the main character was in peril. He scoffed at my concerns, telling me, “They never kill the star!” Only, last Sunday, they did just that — times two! — on the wildest episode of the Witches of East End yet (which is seriously saying something for a show that’s starred an amorous tentacle man and an incinerated Virginia Madsen). The show finally made good on that curse Freya and Ingrid have been trying to beat since the premiere episode — that the sisters are destined to die young and be reborn again and again.

We scored a sneak peek at some pictures from this Sunday’s upcoming episode (Thanks, Lifetime!), and these creepy images are giving us All The Feels.  


We’ll call this one: “Yup, they’re really dead!”


We're right behind you, Jennifer!
source

And look at this one! Killian’s finally free of the spell that kept him from remembering that he loved Freya, and she’s dead! (If you aren’t watching this show, you really need to be.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

How to Pursue A Princess

How to Catch A Wild Viscount by Tessa Dare

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Rescue Me

Rescue Me by Jaci Burton

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

Defiance

Defiance by Stephanie Tyler

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST