RT Daily Blog

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.13 - "We Are Grounders, Part 2"

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Bellamy and Clarke prepare to march off.

source

We begin the highly anticipated finale with Clarke cauterizing Raven’s gunshot wound while Bellamy and Finn butt heads. Even after Clarke tells him she and the others need him, Bellamy’s still gung ho on staying behind. Finally, he relents and goes with them. Watching the remaining 82 delinquents march off into the forest is a bit melodramatic, but it’s the CW, so…

Their exodus is halted when one of the campers gets an axe blade lodged into his face. Frantic and freaked, they all retreat back to the camp and argue about what to do next. Octavia and Finn want to fight their way through the Grounder scouts, but Clarke doesn’t think that’s a stellar idea and gives into Bellamy’s wish to stay and fight. Octavia, Jasper and a few others leave to do some recon.

Bellamy, Clarke and Raven go through their remaining weapons and battle plans. Clarke makes the startling realization that they can use the remaining rocket jets in the dropship create an explosion.

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Virtuosoby Grace Burrowes

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Cowboy Justice by Melissa Cutler

Buy It On Amazon For $2.51 >>

Buy it On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Born of Illusion by Teri Brown

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let’s have a little cover chat, shall we? Last month, sci-fi/fantasy author V.E. Schwab — known in the YA world as Victoria Schwab — revealed the stunning cover for her upcoming adult fantasy novel, A Darker Shade of Magic, an exciting first book in a series about parallel universes, magic and treachery. Before we get up close and personal with the cover, let’s take a look at the book’s official summary:

Kell is one of the last Travelers — magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes — as such, he can choose where he lands.

There’s Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, ruled by a mad King George. Then there’s Red London, where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London, ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne — a place where people fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. And once upon a time, there was Black London ... but no one speaks of that now.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Call of the Sea: Kat Rosenfield Fields Our Burning Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Kat Rosenfield's Inland is one of those books you can't put down and when you finish you immediately want to re-read it. With beautiful writing and a complex premise, we wanted to know more about the story's origins and themes. So we took our questions straight to the source and today, Kat sheds some light on her eerie new novel.

Inland is such a striking and thought-provoking novel. What was the initial inspiration for the novel, and how did the story grow and change while writing it?

At the very beginning, the idea for Inland was sort of a thought experiment. This was a few years ago, when the big thing in YA was supernatural romance, which is like a foreign country to me — it's not at all where my natural inclinations are as a writer. So I'd already accepted that I would never be able to capitalize on this particular trend, but at the same time, I really wondered if there were some way to take that sort of subject matter and make it interesting to me, if there were a way through it to a story that I wanted to tell.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The 120 Days of Sodom by the Marquis de Sade

A collection of the most wicked and detailed sexual perversions of the history of literature, justified because “Nature makes vice nicer than virtue." A  must-read with ascetic consequences: after 300 pages of sex, sex and more sex, no one wants sex anymore.

Plot: Every sexual act you can find Internet porn, plus some things that are not there (really).
Rating: 80 out of 100

Pornography by Witold Gombrowicz


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Wilde's Small Town Romance Ebook Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Not only are Kristen Ashley's books on sale this week, so are many of Lori Wilde's! Avon has put several of the author's small town romances on e-sale for $1.99 each. Don't miss out! We've linked to which retailers have which titles on sale, it's not the same across the board. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Appeal Of Anna Todd's After + The Best 1D Fanfic Ever

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Anna Todd's After

With the sale of Anna Todd's Wattpad megahit After — a Harry Styles fanfiction that blew up — to Simon & Schuster, we had to ask ourselves why this particular fanfic was appealing to publishers. Traditional publishers purchasing fanfiction for publication is nothing new, but with so many fanfics being written, what makes After so special? We decided to ask One Direction megafan (protip: 1D fans are called "Directioners") Christin Gest to tell us why After was a hit, and to lead us down the rabbit hole of One Direction fanfiction.

Anna Todd, a twenty-five-year-old Directioner, has just made many One Direction fan dreams a reality. Ms. Todd has managed to score a six-figure book deal for her popular series After. After is published on Wattpad, which is a popular site where all things fanfiction, or just plain fiction, are published.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Creating The Cover: Chelsea Fine's Perfect Kind Of Trouble

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

While a great book can make us feel all the feels, a great cover can do the same, especially if it's super romantic, super cute and features a super hot guy. And guess what — Chelsea Fine's cover for Perfect Kind of Trouble is, well, perfect. Today, Chelsea's editor Megha Parekh takes us behind the scenes and shares the inside scoop on creating the cover. Take a look:

Hi everyone!

I’m Chelsea Fine’s editor here at Forever romance, and I thought it would be fun to give all of you a little bit of inside scoop on the creation of a cover — in particular the cover for Chelsea Fine’s Perfect Kind of Trouble, available June 2014.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 6/10/14

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

STORMY PERSUASION

"The Malorys are back at sea! This is the story Malory pirate fans have been waiting for, and this consummate storyteller doesn’t disappoint."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June's Mystery Releases Bite The Big Apple

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Many people escape to the Big Apple to chase their dreams and fill their lives with bright lights and rich culture. But every city has a dark side and in this month’s Mystery overview, New York is center stage for some chilling cases.

In Linda Fairstein’s Terminal City, Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper is called in to solve a string a murders where the victims are found with a strange mark on their bodies. Her search for answers leads her to an underground city beneath Grand Central Terminal. Meanwhile, All Day and a Night by Alafair Burke introduces readers to NYPD detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan, who are tasked with examining evidence to see whether or not the original trial for a murder was tainted.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST