RT Daily Blog

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

The Soldier by Grace Burrowes

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Love UnExpected by Shelia Goss

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Smokeless Fire by Samantha Young

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview: Leanna Renee Hieber Talks Her YA Series First

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month the author of the popular Strangely Beautiful fantasy series, Leanna Renee Hieber, moves to the YA genre with Darker Still. When Hieber sits down with her good friend, RT's Morgan, the author shares why the Magic Most Foul series has what she calls "a more intimate scope" than her adult series. And then discover what inspires Leanna's intricately detailed gothic settings and why she is dedicated to writing stories that empower the voiceless.

Leanna Renee Hieber Talks Darker Still >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Charles De Lint's "The Invisibles"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Charles de Lint’s short story “The Invisibles” is currently available as a free e-read on Fantasy Magazine.

In the story, the author explores a social injustice and what it means to believe in magic. The narrator, a painter named Andrew, illustrates how our perceptions of the world around us affect our everyday lives. While sitting at a cafe with his friend, Ted, Andrew realizes that he can see a girl no one else in the room can. Intrigued, the young man decides to follow her home, and is shocked to discover that pedestrians are practically walking into her. She's invisible, but not to him.

The plot thickens when Andrew meets an unusual boy lingering outside of the girl's home. He explains who The Invisibles are, why no one can see them and gives Andrew a very cryptic message just before vanishing into a cloud of dust and garbage. The next day, Andrew consults Ted about the bizarre occurrences, and the discoveries Andrew makes are shocking.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Fiction Guide For Adult Readers

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

You know, you know, YA fiction is super popular right now. But surely it's not for you ... I mean, why would you want to remember high school? And I hear you, I do. I don't particularly revel in recalling my wallflower years either. But the great thing about YA is that you can delve into that high school world again, and experience all those dramatic feelings: the crushes, the heartbreak, the drama (oh, the drama!) and then close the book and poof! You're an adult again! No homework for you! So to help orient you into this most angsty of genres, I've detailed three outstanding selections that I think will help you understand what the YA craze is all about. You can even read past your bedtime. I won't tell, promise.

1. Impossible by Nancy Werlin. Oh my is this a gorgeous story. Just divine. Werlin weaves a modern-day fable around the song "Scarborough Fair," to wondrous results. You'll get lost in her rich world as you root for Lucy and her adopted family to solve the riddle and beat the bad guy before it's too late, and the same terrible fate befalls Lucy as did her mother, 17 years before.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Mark Greaney On His Gray Man Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Thriller author Mark Greaney's popular series introduces readers to the legendary covert operative Court Gentry, aka the Gray Man. The series third, Ballistic, was recently released and there are plans in the works to bring the adventure to the big screen. (Brad Pitt is on board to play the titular Gray Man.) Today we sit down with Greaney for a chat about his globetrotting spy, the research he does to bring the series to life and how the author feels about the film adaptation that is currently underway.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your spy, Court Gentry, is a living legend. What would he credit as a key to his success as a covert operative?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 11/15/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

PRIDE AND PASSION

" ... Featherstone mixes her haunting erotic style into a tale tinged with mystery, paranormal elements and the atmosphere of the era."

DESIRED

"Cornick is a master at creating sexy historicals with original characters, witty banter and explosive situations in which, luckily, love always triumphs."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Historical Romance - Last year author Zoe Archer wowed readers with her historical action adventure/romance series Blades of the Rose. Now the talented writer is working on transporting readers back to the Victorian era with tales of a group of men and women who used to work as spies, military personnel and thieves before they devoted themselves to bringing justice to the voiceless. The author has signed on to do at least three books in her new series: Nemesis, Unlimited.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take A Coffee Break With Debut Author Jessica Scott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

In her writing, author Jessica Scott takes inspiration from her career in the military and the difficulties of being a deployed spouse and parent. Starting her writing career as a blogger from Iraq, this month Jessica's debut book, a contemporary romance titled Because of You, releases as the first original title releasing in the revamped Loveswept line from Random House. For today's coffee break, we get to know a bit more about the author and her new series. 

***

What's your favorite kind of story to get lost in? 

A good post apocalyptic journey that shows mankind at its worst and still, goodness triumphs.

What's the first book you remember reading?

Fish is Fish

What's your favorite fairy tale? 

I don't think I have one. If I had to pick one, it would be the Boy Who Cried Wolf

What would your occupation be if you were no longer a writer? 

An army officer. I've got two of the best jobs in the world: I love them both.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

"Smart Bitch Sarah" and Her Latest Romance Nonfic

BY Liz French, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sarah Wendell is one smart bitch—and she’s proud of it! She’s also proud of being a romance fan, and that pride comes through loud and clear from almost every page of her newest nonfic, Everything I Know About Love I Learned From Romance Novels (Oct., Sourcebooks).

The powerhouse behind the crazy-popular website, Smart Bitches, Trashy Books (duh, I know you all know this but just in case there’s one person in the romance community who’s been living under a rock for the past five years....), Wendell writes reams about romance: on her blog, in the mainstream media and in a previous nonfiction tome (with Candy Tan) titled Beyond Heaving Bosoms: The Smart Bitches’ Guide to Romance Novels


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 11/11/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week sitting on a Red-Hot Santa's lap?

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

***

INSPIRATIONAL MONTH

Kathleen Y'Barbo on her latest historical. Find Out Why It Was Nominated For A RT Award >>

We spotlight our favorite inspirational spots on the 'net. Don't Miss These Websites, Blogs & More >>

Lisa T. Bergren wraps up her River of Time series. Is It Really Over? >>

Want to know what's next in inspy fiction? Check out these new book deals. Look Forewords >> 

***

SERIES ROMANCE: Family drama in November's Harlequin Medical Romances. Will Love Conquer All? >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST