RT Daily Blog

Harlequin's Series Books Reunites Lovers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin is reuniting lovers in three of its series books. Authors Beth Kery, Kate Walker and Katherine Garbera each take on stories of couples that spent time apart only to find each other again for their happily-ever-afters. Always ready to root for true love, we went to the authors to learn more about what tore these couples apart and how they found their way back together again.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The Making Of The Anthology It Happened One Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Authors never seem to run out of plots to write about. But it's rare for readers to get a look behind the curtain to see this magic take place. And in even fewer instances, do we get a chance to actually impact the stories that authors create. However, the upcoming historical romance anthology It Happened One Season is the result of four authors taking a reader's idea and running with it.

Authors Stephanie Laurens, Mary Balogh, Jacquie D'Alessandro and Candice Hern have teamed up before. In their 2008 anthology, It Happened One Night, the authors all used the same plot points to write four very different stories. For their new anthology their publisher, Avon, set up a competition where readers submitted the criteria that each of the authors would use in their novellas. After a long process that involved both the authors as well as their fans, reader Phyllis Post's ideas were given to Laurens, Balogh, D'Alessandro and Hern to each see what type of story they would craft. Here were the guidelines they were given:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking for news about upcoming books in one convenient place? Our weekly column Forewords has everything you need. We share news about our most anticipated releases across all the genres — just as the projects are announced!

CONTINUING FAVORITE SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Author Robyn Carr has just sold the next nine books in her long running Virgin River series. 

Young Adult - Melissa de la Cruz's final novel in the paranormal YA series Blue Bloods will be published in Fall 2012. 

Paranormal Romance - Theresa Meyers will be releasing a novella and three new novels in her Shadow Sisters series. These stories will continue four sister’s ongoing battle to stop the dark fae from overtaking the human world. 

Historical Romance - The next four books in Lynsay Sands' Argeneau Vampire series has been purchased by Avon. 

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diane Whiteside's The Shadow Guard Is Inspired By ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

From classic cinema to a popular novel series and an animated movie, today author Diane Whiteside gives us a behind the scenes look at some of the sources of inspiration that she wove into the major players in her new Urban Fantasy novel, The Shadow Guard!

Many different things can inspire a story. Heck, sometimes it just springs to life in an author’s brain and defies the poor soul to think about anything else until it’s written down. The Shadow Guard, my April 2011 release from Brava, mercifully had three main inspirations.

First, Ingrid Bergman has always fascinated me. Casablanca – who can forget Humphrey Bogart’s immortal line, “here’s looking at you, kid?” You always knew why that hardened man of the world could never forget her.  

In Alfred Hitchcock’s thriller Notorious, she portrays a fragile beauty who discovers inner strength amid betrayal on all sides, including from those she should be able to trust, and saves her country. Cary Grant, as the hero, doesn’t trust her but still finds himself falling in love.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Nora Roberts' Chasing Fire - With Giveaway

BY MORGAN, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

I grew up near Missoula, Montana where Nora Roberts' April book, Chasing Fire is set. Chasing Fire follows heroine Rowan Tripp, a smoke jumper who parachutes into forests to put out fires. While I have never met a female smoke jumper, when I was in my teens my cousin dated a man who fought forest fires during the summers. And I am happy to report that almost everything in Roberts' book matches what I know about smoke jumping.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 3/25/11

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Were you In The Line Of Fire this week?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: J.J. Murray gives us the inside scoop on his diva heroine. Read On >>

YOUNG ADULT: Go inside the dystopian world of Wither. Read The Excerpt >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: This new novel is filled with Regency era suspense. What Book Is It? >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Michele Hauf talks paranormal universes. Learn More >>

EROTICA: Beth Williamson on her new “tortured hero”. Check It Out >>

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Mystery author Rick Mofina on writing. Watch It Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Susanna Kearlsey On The Winter Sea

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's no denying that author Susanna Kearsley has a brilliant way with words. Her latest novel, December's historical fiction The Winter Sea is equal parts contemporary romance, historical mystery and is infused with gothic overtones. This unique story captured our editors' attention and won the RT's December Seal of Excellence. Now get an insider's look at this magnificent tale with this author interview.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In The Winter Sea, your primary heroine Carrie is a historical fiction author who becomes inspired to write a story that happens to include her ancestor Sophia in the action. As the story continues Carrie realizes that what is happening may not be so accidental at all. As a historical fiction author, has anything similar ever happened to you?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trend Watch: Mild Romance Is Hot, Hot, Hot!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite things about reading romance is the wide range of stories that fall under the genre. And that’s certainly the case when it comes to the spice, sizzle and steam factor of these stories. These days many authors are writing tales that are hot, hot, hot — the erotic romance sub-genre has exploded and even contemporary romances are skewing towards the fuego. But where does a romance reader go for a story that sweet not scorching? Today we chat about books that don’t skimp on the romance, but prove that sometimes less is more when it comes to the bedroom scenes.

Physical intimacy is an important part of a romantic relationship, but it’s not always something that needs to be seen on the page. This month Hester Browne’s novel, Swept off her Feet has RT’s B. Nakia Garner saying, “It is refreshing to see a book focus more on the idea of romance as opposed to actual romantic overtures.” Not having explicit sexual scenes on the page can give authors a chance to focus more on the development of the relationship a la the romance classics, Austen and Bronte.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Rick Mofina

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Rick Mofina recently introduced his readers to a new thriller series hero, Jack Gannon. This month Jack's latest adventure, In Desperation, received an RT Top Pick! Today the author chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the ways that his own background in journalism has influenced his writing and Mofina shares his advice for aspiring authors.

Rick Mofina On Writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Devyn Quinn's Darkness Descending

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Devyn Quinn's upcoming novel, Darkness Descending. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this August's Buffy-inspired novel became the start of something so much more.

***

Darkness Descending, the first book of my Vampire Armageddon series with NAL, had a difficult journey finding its place in this world. It all began when I was watching a popular television show about a certain young blonde vampire slayer. The one thing that always struck me was how easy it seemed to create a vampire. A bite, the victim dies, and then rises instant vampire! As Ricky would say to Lucy, it seemed to me that there was more 'splainin’ needed to make everything mesh in a logical manner.

I know, I know. It's all fiction, right? But I want my fiction to make sense, I say, as I pound my desk with a fist.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST