RT Daily Blog

Win The Newest Novel From Jeaniene Frost

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Jeaniene Frost’s newest novel, Eternal Kiss Of Darkness, will be released on July 27th. To celebrate her new release, Frost will be doing a book tour by train. The author will stop at locations in the South between July 28 - August 5th. You can read about her complete tour schedule here to find out when the author will be closest to you.

This Paranormal Romance got a 4 ½ stars Top Pick rating. The novel, which is a spin-off from Frost’s popular Night Huntress series, pairs vampire Mencheres with courageous P.I. Kira. RT’s Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith says of the story, “wildly romantic … If Frost keeps this up, fans will need to build more keeper shelves!”

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Author Mary Wine Is Captivated By Highlanders

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Mary Wine ponders the allure of captors (and highlanders) in romance novels.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT BOOK REVIEWS Seal Of Excellence Winner — Tess Gerritsen for Ice Cold

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS is thrilled to announce that the June 2010 Seal of Excellence winner is Tess Gerritsen for her compelling suspense novel Ice Cold.

Gerritsen is in the midst of her press tours for Ice Cold as well as her new TNT series Rizzoli & Isles (read about the show's debut here), RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus was able to track down the author for this exclusive interview. They chat about the author's thoughts on actresses Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander, Gerritsen's inspiration for Ice Cold and how this novel is a turning point for her heroine Maura.

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/16/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Spend your week trying to resist Seduction On The CEO's Terms?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***

GIVEAWAY:  Win an advanced reader copy of Eloisa James' new novel, A Kiss At Midnight. Enter Now >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Kate Bridges chats about Alaska, alpha heroes and irish setters . Read The Interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sated! Our Hunger Game Contest Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Turns out we're not the only ones hungry to find out what happens to Katniss and Co. as The Hunger Games trilogy draws to a close next month with the release of Suzanne Collins' Mockingjay. (No, we could not resist that pun.) Last week we gave you our predictions as to how the book would end, and asked for you to weigh in, or to tell us why you're so ravenous to try these books, here. (We can't stop.) Here are the winning entries, whose appetite will soon be sated with paperback copies of The Hunger Games  ( ... okay we're done).

 

 


Denise
shares our penchant for punning, titling her email entry FAMISHED, endearing her to us forever. Poor Denise only got to page 34 of her library's copy of The Hunger Games before driving 550 miles from New Jersey to North Carolina. She tell us the rest: 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Avery Aames Dishes Up A Cozy Read WITH GIVEAWAY

BY Morgan Doremus, JULY 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

I’ve been an avid reader my whole life, switching to adult books at about 13. So there isn’t much in the way of genre fiction that I haven’t read.

Romance. Check

Paranormal. Check

Graphic novels. Check.

Cozies … wait.

How is it that with almost two decades of reading under my belt that I have never tried out a cozy? It has got to be because my favorite thing about a mystery is the hardened detective tracking down the bad guys. I’ve always been a little skeptical about the genteel amateur sleuth.

But this past week I gave into the peer pressure from RT Senior Editor Stephanie Klose, our resident mystery aficionado, and picked up my first cozy which happened to be Avery AamesA Long Quiche Goodbye.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Janet Evanovich Is Making Waves

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Janet Evanovich is branching out — again. The author is starting a new series and leaving her Jersey setting for the greater Boston area, and focusing on a whole different type of detecting, this time with a paranormal bent.

The series first, Wicked Appetite, is being billed as "An Unmentionable Diesel and Tucker novel." It introduces seven mysterious stones, which are linked to the seven deadly sins. The extraordinary Gerwulf Grimoire is seeking the stones and needs pastry chef Elizabeth Tucker to help him locate them. And Elizabeth Tucker’s life gets even more complicated when a guy named Diesel shows up promising to protect her. But how much can she trust a guy with a ninja cat, a rude monkey and his own interest in these mystical stones?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Using Calibre To Track Print Book Purchases - Part I

BY Dear Jane, JULY 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane:

You mentioned something a few weeks ago about using Calibre to track my wants and to-be-reads and purchases for my print books. Is that possible?

~Lauren

Dear Lauren: Yes! I created a short screencast to walk you through adding books to create a library of your print books. The process is fairly simple. You can watch the full screencast (link to a full screen version) or read on below. Download Calibre here (compatible with Mac, PC, and Linux).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Fairy Tale Romance (Novel) From Eloisa James

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

The latest Eloisa James historical novel, A Kiss At Midnight will be released on July 27th - but you can win your copy before it hits the shelves - check out the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

I was thrilled when an advanced reader copy of Eloisa James' newest novel, A Kiss At Midnight, came into the office. (Readers may remember that I got RT's Elissa Petruzzi hooked on James' novels which she, in turn, recommended to you here.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Meg Gardiner

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus interviews Meg Gardiner about the author's newest thriller, Liar's Lullaby. They chat about how rock stars, politicians and conspiracy theorists all contribute to making this new case the most difficult psychological autopsy Jo Beckett has ever had to perform!

Meg Gardiner Discusses Liar's Lullaby >>

Meg Gardiner On Jo Beckett, The Heroine Of Liar's Lullaby >>

Meg Gardiner Chats About The New Project That Will Bring Her Heroines Together >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST