RT Daily Blog

Spoiler Alert: When Is It Okay To Talk About Spoilery Things?

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Spoilers — nobody likes them and nobody likes the person who spoiled a story for you. Friendships have been destroyed, marriages have ended and demons have been summoned because of unwanted spoilers. Okay, none of those things have probably happened due to spoilers, but spoilers are still pretty bad. And while we all agree on their level of awfulness, not everybody agrees on when it’s okay to finally talk about spoilery things.

Recently, I was watching Epic Reads’s popular Tea Time video chat when the hosts spoiled Kiera Cass’s The One with a quick side comment. Naturally, I flew into a booknerd rage and wanted to take refuge in a corner and cry. I obviously still love Epic Reads — how could I not? Seriously. They’re amazing. — but I wish I could have unheard The Thing That Should Not Have Been Said.

But here’s the deal: The One has been out since May. That’s three months in which I could have read the book and therefore protected myself from any spoilers. But I didn’t, so I suppose I can assume some of the blame. Besides, at this point, there really isn’t any reason why people shouldn’t be talking openly about what happens in the book.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Perils of Pleasure

The Peril's of Pleasure by Julie Anne Long

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Something to Talk About

Something to Talk About by Dakota Cassidy

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Wicked Lovely

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Movie Thoughts: If I Stay

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Gayle Forman’s If I Stay has been one of my favorite books since I first read it in 2010. It’s actually one of the few books that have made me bawl my eyes out. And I’ve been following the movie adaptation since the rights were first sold. Now, after a change of studios, directors and actors, the movie is a real, live thing. On Monday, I was fortunate enough to see the film at a special advance screening hosted by Refinery29.

For those unfamiliar with the book, If I Stay tells the haunting story of Mia, a young cellist who finds herself existing in a sort of limbo state following a fatal car crash that kills her immediate family and leaves her in a coma. She must decide whether to live or to die. Watch the trailer below:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's no secret that I'm a huge fan of Lauren Oliver's work. With lyrical and evocative prose, intriguing characters and always refreshing premises, it's no wonder she's a bestselling author with a legion of fans. Next year, Lauren returns to her YA roots with Vanishing Girls and while we have to suffer the wait for the book, we at least have the pretty cover to tide us over. Let's take a look!

Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged.

When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, bestselling author Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.

Let's break it down:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Short Stories by H.P. Lovecraft. 

If every rational man had an unshakable, irrational faith, Lovecraft's faith would be in the truth that comes from dreams.

Plot: There are gods and there are the other gods, even worse. 

Rating: ●●●●● 

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

If sleep produces monsters, then dreams are a wonderful, yet logical delirium. 

Plot: Alice goes to Wonderland. 

Rating: ●●●●○ 

One Day This Pain Will Be Useful To You by Peter Cameron


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview & Giveaway: Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki Talk Branded

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Seven Deadly Sins take an even deadlier turn in Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki's Branded, an exciting new dystopian YA novel in which people are punished according to the sin they're deemed guilty of committing. The book's heroine, Lexi, is determined to survive and clear her name of a crime she didn't commit. Today, Abi and Missy dish on their partnership, the book's intriguing premise and which sin they'd be accused of committing! And stay tuned to the end for an exciting giveaway. Take a look:

IHow did you two meet and how did your writing partnership come together?

Abi and Missy: We met in college in 1999 and have been best friends ever since. We used to get together every month and go over books that we both had read. And there was always something that we agreed we would have done differently, or would have changed in some ways. So joking around we said that the only way we would ever love a book 100%, was if we wrote it ourselves.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Crimson Romance's August Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

An image of all the covers of the books available for giveaway

This month the folks at Crimson Romance are offering up all six of their August ebook releases to one lucky reader, because your ereader obviously needs more books on it after your one-click buying binge last week, right? It totally does. Below are the titles up for grabs. The ebooks are available in whatever format the winner prefers, and this giveaway is open to all readers of the world! You can enter by filling out the widget below, a winner will be announced Friday, August 22. Good luck!

Marriage by Design by Elley Arden 

As spirited carpenter Angie Corcarelli faces off with stuffy engineer Stuart Perault over a highway construction project, sparks fly. Can these two opposites build a strong foundation for a relationship? Find out in this sweet and sexy contemporary romance.

One Last Letter by Pema Donyo 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ellora's Cave Announces Changes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

The rumor mill has been running rampant around Ellora’s Cave, leading many to speculate what the future does or doesn’t hold for the erotica publisher. But the rumors can finally be put to rest thanks to an email originally sent to EC authors from the company’s CEO, Patricia L. Marks.

In the email, which was posted on Absolute Write’s forums yesterday and has since been removed, Marks states Ellora’s Cave has been suffering a “sharp decline of ebook sales via Amazon” and that the publisher is now having to make quick changes to avoid losing further money. The most drastic change is a shake-up in their editorial line-up. Ellora’s Cave has let go all of its freelance editors and cover artists. In-house editors and artists will take over these duties, which will hopefully result in “a more direct relationship with [its] authors”.

Additionally, Marks urges EC authors to direct readers to the EC website, Barnes and Noble and other ebook vendors instead of Amazon in an effort to provide authors with higher royalty rates and more visibility to readers. Marks also stressed that this is not “meant to be a statement about Amazon” and its ongoing feuds with Hachette.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 8/19/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

HOW THE SCOUNDREL SEDUCES

"The fast-paced narrative is enhanced by multidimensional characters, sharp repartee and a double mystery. All of the elements of a memorable romance are here just waiting for readers to savor them."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.2 — "Castle Leoch"

BY Regina Small, AUGUST 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Previously on Outlander: In 1946, Claire didn't buy a vase and fell through a time rift, landing in 18th century Scotland. She's married to one dude, Frank, but has just met warrior Jamie. Hope this doesn't cause any horrible, roiling internal conflict!

Credits!

Claire and the merry band of Scotsmen arrive at Castle Leoch, where Claire is still trying to process her unexpected trip across centuries — and figure out how to get home. Amid playful banter among the group, a jolly older lady greets the returning men. But she stops short upon seeing Claire, who looks muddy and bedraggled and close to naked in her light shift dress. Claire certainly knows how to make a first impression, I'll give her that.

Jamie helpfully introduces Claire to the woman, Mistress Fitzgibbons — Mrs. Fitz, if you're nasty — who ushers Claire inside for some food and more appropriate clothing. Because even when men are fighting and dying and you're under occupation from ruthless British military, the number one threat to peace is still modestly covered breasts.


source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST