RT Daily Blog

The Ultimate Convention Survival Guide For Bloggers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

2014 RT Convention logo

Are you as excited as we are about RT 2014 in NOLA? Because we are really, really excited. And we want you to make the most of your time with us, so today we've got book blogger and reviewer Jennifer Morris from Books Make Me Happy with some great tips on how bloggers can maximize their RT time. These tips are not only great for RT, but for any book-related conference bloggers may find themselves at.

Take it away, Jennifer!

Getting ready for literary convention season can be a three ring circus of Barnum & Bailey proportions. Juggling day jobs, family obligations and deadlines is a tough act for authors, especially, but bloggers and other fans, as well. I'm usually pretty good at putting together a plan and making lists, but things inevitably get forgotten. I usually go to conventions in full-on fangirl mode, but as a first-time RT Convention attendee, I'm hoping to do a bit more networking for my blog. Which brings me to the following list of “blogger survival tips” for RT14.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


A Suspenseful Journey - Danger And Intrigue In April's Inspirational Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the mood for some high stakes danger, but with a message? In this month’s Inspirational Overview, we take a look at four noteworthy books that have a bit of suspense thrown in for good measure. These are perfect for readers looking for a little danger and intrigue mixed in with inspirational goodness. Take a look:

Nancy Mehl starts off our overview with Gathering Shadows. In this romantic suspense read, TV reporter Wynter Evans is desperately looking for a major story to cover to not only please her boss, but also keep her job safe. When she stumbles across a photo of a boy who resembles her brother, who disappeared nine years ago, she sets out to uncover the truth. She winds up in the town of Sanctuary, where she befriends the Mayor, who warns her of the secretive nature of Sanctuary’s residents. Will Wynter be able to find the answers she seeks?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK
With our column, Forewords, we let you know the latest book news on the most exciting upcoming releases across genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES

Fantasy - Michael Livingston’s Shards of Heaven tells the harrowing story of two sons of the slain Caesar race who control powerful artifacts from ancient mythology. Livingston, a scholar of medieval culture at The Citadel, is sure to make waves with this exhilarating debut. Look for it in Fall 2015!

CONTINUING SERIES

Mystery - Bestselling author Jenn McKinlay wants to keep readers guessing with two more books in her Hat Shop Mysteries series. The two new additions will be the fourth and fifth installments. More details to come!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/18/14

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week wanting to catch The Husband Show?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

Check out the latest RT Convention fashion tips from our editors!

Elisa's Picks

Tricia's Picks

Regina's Picks

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review — Hard Time By Cara McKenna

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Hard Time by Cara McKenna - beefcake alert!When I read the blurb for Hard Time by Cara McKenna I thought to myself: this book will either be completely amazing or an absolute train wreck. Luckily for me, it was the former. Told in first person, the story follows young public librarian Annie Goodhouse, who recently graduated with her MLS and has taken a position as an outreach librarian for a medium-security correctional facility, where she finds herself attracted to inmate Eric Collier. With such sensitive subject matter, which could have been handled carelessly, you can see why I thought this book might be a disaster. But McKenna does not sensationalize prison or the relationships male inmates can have with women on the outside. What impressed me most about this novel is how the author approached the subject matter so skillfully.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are "just like us."   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Regina's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a look at RT Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small's outfits.

 

Pirates, Scalawags & More


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trailer Chat: If I Stay

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let’s talk about the recently released trailer for If I Stay, shall we? This big screen adaptation of Gayle Forman’s stunning YA novel of the same name doesn’t land in theatres until August 22 (yes, this August! squee!), but this trailer sure gives eager readers plenty to ease the wait. Though, in my case, the wait has just gotten infinitely more unbearable! Let’s take a look at some of my favorite moments:

Music -  Right off the bat, the trailer establishes the importance of music in the story. Mia’s a gifted cellist and Adam’s the lead singer/guitarist in a rising rock band. As a pianist/songwriter, I immediately connected with the music aspects of the story when I first read the book. I’m glad to see they’re placing sufficient emphasis on Mia and Adam’s talents. Yay for music!

If I Stay gif

Adam - I’m usually so picky about which actors get to play my book boyfriends, but this time around I was pleased with Jamie Blackley’s casting from the start. I mean, look at him! His Adam is confident, charming and utterly adorable. And look, he has swagger.

If I Stay gif


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like A Pro: Freelance Editing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, a sometimes confusing one for authors trying to navigate its many possible avenues. But as always, your RT Web Team is here to help with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important process of editing. A big complaint readers often have is that self-published books aren’t edited, polished — or sometimes even spell checked. So how to avoid these pitfalls? Hiring a freelance editor could be the answer. To tell us more, today we’ve got longtime freelance editor Bev Katz Rosenbaum to give us the scoop.

***

How do you become a freelance editor?

A

I hold Specialist Certification in English Language and Literature from the University of Toronto (which is a fancy way of saying I have an Honors English degree), and I have also taken courses in substantive editing and copy editing from the Freelance Editors Association of Canada (now called the Editors Association of Canada). Immediately after graduating from university, I landed an editorial assistant position at Harlequin, and worked my way up to an editing position from there.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.5 - "Twilight's Last Gleaming"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Canoodling!

source

Clarke and Finn are canoodling after their little love session in the bomb shelter. Clarke reassures Finn that their night together was special while he jokes about wanting his first Earth sex. Is it a joke, though? After all, his girlfriend is hurtling through space right now to reunite with him.

On the Ark, the Chancellor visits Abby in her cell. She wants to know if Raven made it to Earth, but he wants to talk about how the Ark is dying faster than they predicted and Kane’s population reduction plan has been approved. Abby’s not too pleased, but the Chancellor’s not in the mood to listen to reason.

Meanwhile, Raven enters Earth’s atmosphere and so far hasn’t blown up. Yay!

As Clarke and Finn get all kissy again, Clarke spots a shooting star and Finn tells her all about how you make wishes on them. They quickly realize it’s not a star — and so do the others, including a shirtless Bellamy. Again, shirtless Bellamy.

Abby’s been given temporary freedom in order to attend to the dying people’s needs. She’s still determined to find out if Raven made it or not. Speaking of, we cut to Raven, who’s landed on Earth and is unconscious and bleeding. In the background, we hear the Ark trying to make contact.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST