RT Daily Blog

Cover Breakdown: The Shadows by J.R. Ward

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're back with another Cover Breakdown! This time, Elisa takes a closer look at the dark and compelling cover for J.R. Ward's The Shadows, the upcoming thirteenth installment of her popular Black Dagger Brotherhood series! Let's get started!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Witches of East End Recap: 2.1 - "A Moveable Beast"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JULY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

At last it’s time for season two of those campy witches with the amazing hair, the Witches of East End! First off, I’d like to thank Lifetime for moving the ladies to a 9 p.m. time slot because I am old and I appreciate them respecting my bedtime.

There’s tons of exposition this episode in addition to your usual supernatural hijinx, and then a sexy ending that had me clutching my metaphorical pearls.

So let’s get to it, shall we? We begin with a veritable clip show from season one: The girls found out they were cursed witches! Freya had two brothers fighting over her. There were lots of past lives and kicky flashbacks with wigs. Cat-shifter Aunt Wendy was awesome. The girls met their dad — and found out about their long lost brother, and the world, Asgard, their mom and aunt left behind. The portal opened.

And we’re off!

We open in a forest, with a cat skulking around, a shadow chasing behind. Aunt Wendy shifts into human form and looks around furtively. Be careful, Wendy, you’re on your last life!

Freya, in our first lingerie sighting of the season, casts a spell complete with green flame.

Oh! Kinky alert! (This will be a theme. Trust me.) Upstairs, Joanna is tied to the bed and Victor smolders as he takes off his belt. Wocka wocka. (Does EL James get a cut of this?) Except then Victor takes out a knife and cuts Jo. She screams.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Young Adult - In Meg Kassel’s startling debut, Black Bird of the Gallows, a girl discovers that the boy next door is actually a harbinger of death. After learning that her town is destined to fall apart, she must fight for her life and find a way to survive before it’s too late.

Science Fiction - In Heroine Complex, Sarah Kuhn’s debut described as “The Devil Wears Prada with superheroes”, a personal assistant has to pose as her high maintance superhero boss. As she discovers and accepts her own special powers, she must save the world from a supernatural invasion. Yikes! Release date: TBA.

Mainstream - Shifting Colors by Fiona Sussman tells the tale of a mother and daugther separated by land and sea as they navigate life amidst apartheid in South Africa and late twentieth century Britain. Coming soon in 2015.

NEW SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: How To Tell Toledo From The Night Sky By Lydia Netzer

BY Cyndy Aleo, JULY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of How to Tell Toledo From the Night SkyWhen Lydia Netzer's first book, Shine, Shine, Shine, was released, it was amazing, and quirky ... and it was at the forefront of a small recent trend of quirky, socially impaired characters.

I wasn't sure how well it would be received. It was smart — so smart it involved complicated equations as love notes — and super-quirky, and I wasn't sure of its mass market appeal in an industry that sometimes seems dominated with "more of the same." 

Seeing how well that book did was great, but Netzer's sophomore effort (if we don't count June's novella "Everybody's Baby"), How to Tell Toledo from the Night Sky, is astounding. Netzer manages to take a blend of magical realism, the quirk factor of her previous novel, and her own unique voice to create a novel that stands out from the crowd being created by authors like Matthew Quick and Graeme Simsion.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Deployed U.S. Troops Celebrate The Fourth - And How Readers Can Give Back

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

source: Kim Lowe

Baseball, hot dogs, apple pie and fireworks! July 4 is the pinnacle of summer vacation, bringing families together to celebrate our nation’s Independence Day. Military personnel in far-flung places will also celebrate July 4th, although it may not be the traditional barbecue. I asked Tamara Argyle — a Navy surgeon, avid reader and aspiring author — about her holiday experience while deployed to a remote location in Afghanistan. Tamara shared that the international coalition was used to shelling overnight. But the insurgents rocketed them all day on July 4th, thus requiring them to wear full body armor even in the mess tent, giving new meaning to:

And the rocket's red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.

They were rewarded with a special dinner hosted by the Australian contingent who staffed the mess tent. Tamara enjoyed steak, corn-on-the cob and watermelon, bringing a little taste of home for the US troops.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

In Bed with the Devil by Lorraine Heath

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

One Lucky Night by various authors

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

There Are So Many Romance Ebooks On Sale Right Now

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

There are so many ebooks on sale right now, we can't fit them all into our Cheaper By The Dozen post for tomorrow. So we're starting ebook sales early this week with a look at what romances readers can score right now for less than $3. All prices were discounted at the time of this posting.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The King-Off: J.R. Ward's Wrath and Tiffany Reisz's Kingsley Face Off

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

This year, two highly anticipated romance novels titled The King release(d) — The King by J.R. Ward, which released in April, and The King by Tiffany Reisz, which comes out in December. This got me thinking, what would happen if Wrath and Kingsley met? Kingsley would probably try and have sex with Wrath, and Wrath likely wouldn't let him. (Someone please write that fic.) I doubt Beth would be into it either. And this of course would turn Kingsley on even more. My weird book fantasies aside, let's compare Wrath and Kingsley:

The King by J.R. Ward

 

 

The King by Tiffany Reisz

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Loose Id Is Giving RT Readers A 20% Discount For The Month Of July

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

An image of a sexy man in glasses that reads 'Everyone knows that smart is sexy. Indulge that glorious brain of yours, get unleashed!'

We're enablers here at RT, and we're more than happy to keep your book-buying addiction going strong by bringing you as many deals and discount codes as we can find. This month romance ebook publisher Loose Id is making things easier by offering RT readers a special discount code. Valid from July 1 through July 31, readers can get 20% off their total purchase by using the coupon RTUNLEASHED. The coupon is good for two uses per person. Their titles are already reasonably priced (most of them are less than $8, with many in the $4-5 range), so 20% off is just the cherry on your massive ebook-hoarding sundae. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Heliogabalus by Antonin Artaud  

"Heliogabalus was born in an era when everybody slept with everybody” and he’s the hero of this era: he leads every extreme to its peek and dies in the war between men and women, because "it’s not the coitus but death [...] of which all these religions reveal the imposing, evil figure".

Plot: Elagabalus was born a priest, becomes god-emperor and dies in the sewers. 

Rating: 89 out of 100 

America by Vladimir Mayakovsky


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST