RT Daily Blog

Living In The Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Ann Christopher gives readers a sneak peek at her first multicultural romantic suspense novel, Deadly Pursuit. Learn why her hero, Special Agent Jackson Parker, is trapped in the shadows of an un-ending nightmare. And be sure to check out the excerpt at the end of this post!

What would you do if a vengeful drug kingpin wanted you dead?

Would you leave your job, move to the other side of the country and change your name?

Would you live your life in the shadows?

What if he found you anyway?


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Shiloh Walker on Author Presence

BY Shiloh Walker, NOVEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Author Presence… what is it? When do you start building it? How do you protect it, maintain it… eek!

Author presence—well, this is mine. It’s your image so to speak, how you present yourself to your audience/soon-to-be audience.

Author presence… what is it?

It’s almost like your author voice, I guess, but it’s not being used to convey your story, but rather who you are.

My author presence? It’s kind of formed from my own personality.

I’m blunt. I try to be diplomatic, but I’m known for speaking my mind. Basically, that’s just me. In real life, I’m a little more blunt and if it’s not work related, I drop the diplomacy. Hey, it’s real life—I’m not always worried if I anger people. I don’t intentionally try to hurt feelings, but I don’t really see the point in sugarcoating things either.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maggie MacKeever and the Dark Side of the Regency Era

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Maggie MacKeever explores the ugly side of Regency England with a heroine who has been forced to become able to fit in at both a ball and a bar. Learn about the historical truths that inspired The Tyburn Waltz in this special author message and then enjoy an excerpt of the story!

I was seduced by Georgette Heyer in the 70’s, and haven’t recovered from it yet. Since then I’ve written forty-three novels, most of them set in the English Regency. 

The Regency was an era of contrasts, a time of artistic refinement and cultural achievement; social, political, and economic change; bloodshed and warfare. Regency London was an excellent example of the immense contrast between rich and poor. One street might be lined with noble colonnades, bow windows and gleaming doorknockers; the next with gin-shops, pawnbrokers and broken-down dwellings so squalid they oozed filth. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 11/9/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maggie Shayne Shares Advice On Writing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Maggie Shayne is not only a best-selling romantic suspense author, she is also a nominee for Best Paranormal Author in RT’s 2010 Career Achievement Awards. Now the author shares some of the writing advice that has helped make her a star.

When RT BOOK REVIEWS asked me to write a blog with tips for aspiring romantic suspense writers, I thought, great! How is it going to sound when I tell them how I work? I mean, the way I do it is to puke everything that pops into my head out onto the page, and then look at it from different angles to see what shapes it made. You know, like when you read entrails to predict the future. I then re-arrange it all and flesh it out, changing my mind several times about countless key aspects of the story, including whodunnit most of the time, along the way, and then trust myself to make it all make sense in the final draft. 

My final drafts take one week. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jessica Andersen on being "Married With Children, Nightkeeper Style" - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jessica Andersen on the challenge she faced while crafting her latest Nightkeeper novel - and don't miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post!

To channel the Princess Bride: “Mawwiage is what bwings us togevah heah.” Specifically, the mawwiage … er, marriage of Patience and Brandt White-Eagle, two powerful magic users who are on the front lines of the war for souls as we approach the 2012 doomsday.

 

Here’s the blurb:

Mayan lore and modern science warn that 12/21/2012 will bring a global cataclysm, and dark forces stand poised to crush mankind. Our only hope rests with a secret group of modern magic-wielders called Nightkeepers, who gain their full powers by finding and winning their destined mates. But what happens when the mated bond unravels?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Clay And Susan Griffith: Still Writing And Still Married

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thinking of trying your hand at writing collaboratively? Married authors Clay and Susan Griffith, know all about the hard work of co-authoring. They have just kicked off their newest series with The Greyfriar. Now the authors share how have melded their skills to become a successful team.

We are Clay and Susan Griffith, husband and wife authors that have written together for over twenty years.

And yes, we are still married.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In Round Two Of Writing With The Stars!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the second round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors and also vote on the best first paragraph and last line of their novel. For the second round of the competition, you get to read about each contestant's hero and heroine. 

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the thoughts of this round's judge, agent Miriam Kriss the vice president of the Irene Goodman Literary Agency. 

You can vote once time between now and November 28th. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best back cover blurb! 

Cast Your Vote >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 11/5/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week daydreaming about how to end up Under The Mistletoe with John Doe?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

ASPIRING AUTHOR MONTH:

Harlequin kicked off a week long event for writers. Learn More >>

Author Cathy Lamb offers some hard-won advice. What Does She Suggest? >>

Six great online resources for writing a historical manuscript! Check Them Out >>

Diana Holquist talks writing contemporary romance with blogger Sarah Wendell. Watch It Now >>

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Q&A With the YA Authors Behind The Caster Chronicles - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK
Photo Credit: Alex Hoerner  

Authors Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl have just released the second novel in The Caster Chronicles, Beautiful Darkness. Now authors take readers behind the scenes of their popular YA series – and don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of this interview!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST