RT Daily Blog

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.6 — "The Garrison Commander"

BY Regina Small, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week: Claire traveled with the Castle Leoch crew to collect rent — and discovered that Dougal's trying to raise money for a Jacobite army to unseat England's current king. Hurray, treason!

We left off last week with British soldier Lieutenant Jeremy Foster asking Claire if Dougal is holding her against her will. Returning from the smash cut to black, we pick up immediately with Claire's answer: No, she's not a prisoner. She's a guest of Clan MacKenzie.

Foster still feels his superior would want to speak to Claire, so he requests she come with him. Dougal insists on going as well and, as they travel, Claire VOs that there's something comforting about riding with her own people; after all, she did serve in the British army for six years. I don't totally understand her affection for THIS British army, given the fallout of the brutal crucifixion we saw last week. But okay.

Claire notes Dougal's discomfort — though they're still in Scotland AND on MacKenzie land, the town they're heading into has a strong British army presence, so Dougal's definitely in enemy territory.

Once they arrive, Foster takes Claire and Dougal directly to his commander, a foppish gentleman seated at a long dining table with other soldiers. He bolts out of his chair to introduce himself to Claire, proclaiming it's been too long since he's seen a "lovely English rose." Then he kisses her hand, and wastes no time calling Scotland "blasted turf."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Witches of East End Recap 2.9 — "Smells Like King Spirit"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Holy schnikey, witches! Quite an episode! What an ending! In hindsight, I should have known something was up because they sent Jenna Dewan-Tatum on a press tour this week, talking up the show. But I’ve been watching soaps for a long time, so I wasn’t so sure I believed the commercials about “the most shocking episode ever” and that I wouldn’t believe the last two minutes. But I was shocked and I couldn’t believe the last two minutes.


Just remember, we’re all in this together.
source

Ready? Onward!

Ingrid is ignoring Dash’s calls, and the warlock is not happy about it. He’s boozing and smashing stuff in the attic when he comes upon some old letters and journals, containing pictures of old Ingrid from the satanic cult days.

Okay, you guys, this is pretty squick worthy (worse than tentacle man, if you can believe it), so let’s try and get through this together. Freddy’s still carving up his blindfolded girlfriend, who’s oblivious thanks to the “numbing cream” he used. There’s blood all over the bed. It’s terrible. Freddy raises the knife up high … but he can’t do it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: A Christmas Hope by Stacy Henrie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you're someone who would listen to holiday music year-round if you could, today's reveal is for you! Stacy Henrie first enchanted us with July's Hope at Dawn, the first book in her inspirational historical romance series set during World War I, and today, we're revealing the cover for "A Christmas Hope", an upcoming novella in the same series that releases in December, right before the full-length sequel, Hope Rising. Let's take a look:

Drum roll, please!

...

...

Ta da!

Whatever lip color that is, we want it. Here's what Stacy had to say about the cover:

"I think the cover for 'A Christmas Hope' wonderfully captures the heroine with her poised and beautiful demeanor, as well as the feel of the time period. Christmas 1918 was especially poignant since the Great War had just ended the month before, and yet, there were so many people — soldiers and citizens alike — who were struggling in the aftermath of the war and needing to find hope again. A hope that just might be found in the anticipation and beauty of the holiday."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

 With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Young Adult - In A Shadow Bright and Burning, Jessica Cluess weaves an enthralling tale about teen girl who’s chosen as the first female sorcerer to help save the empire, but enemies and dark secrets threaten her success. Set in a Victorian world with magic, this is sure to be a riveting read! Release: Fall 2016.

Young Adult - Valerie Tejeda is ready to cast a spell over readers with Hollywood Witch Hunter, which stars a coven of witches who stay young by sacrificing the rich and beautiful women of Southern California. But a band of witch hunters are determined to stop them.

RETURNING SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 9/12/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Stranded with the Rancher?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Say hello to debut author Claudia Connor! Hi, Claudia! >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>

MYSTERY: Five thrilling mysteries are on sale! Load Your E-Reader Today >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Casting Couch: Gretchen McNeil Casts Get Even

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Gretchen McNeil knows a thing or two about Hollywood as a Los Angeles resident and a former television producer. So we wanted her to take a seat on the casting couch to select her dream cast for Get Even, her latest YA novel about revenge, murder and secrets. Take it away, Gretchen!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ebook Sale: Five Must-Read Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

With the weather cooling down and the leaves turning to red, there's nothing better than curling up with a great Mystery novel, one that will keep you up late turning the pages and looking over your shoulder as you close the curtains and lock the door. And if your ereader is in need of new books, here are five mystery, suspense and/or thrillers on sale for $1.99 each. All prices were accurate at the time of this posting. Happy reading!


 Dear Daughter
by Elizabeth Little

 Unspoken
by Lisa Jackson

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Make It Count by Megan Erickson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

When Make It Count released earlier this summer, Megan Erickson was thrown into the New Adult spotlight and readers quickly fell for her fun and sexy story about Kat Caruso, who falls in love with her tutor, who happens to be her boyfriend's best friend. And now the wait for the sequel, Make It Right, is finally over. To celebrate the book's release tomorrow, we're giving away copies of Make it Count.

Thanks to Avon, we have three e-copies of Make It Count to give away, which means three lucky readers will get to dive in just in time for Make It Right! The giveaway is open to U.S. and Canadian readers and will conclude next Monday! Good luck and happy reading!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don't forget, Make It Right is available digitally now! And for more New Adult books and authors, visit our Everything Young Adult page!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

How to Pursue A Princess

How to Pursue A Princess by Karen Hawkins

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Carolina Home

Carolina Home by Virginia Kantra

4 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Pandemonius

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST