RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily — in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


8 Ways Your Little Kids Make it Hard to Read

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Header image that says '8 Ways Your Little Kid Makes It Hard to Read'

Little kids! We love our tiny offspring, their sticky hands, their giant hugs. After all they're the reason you got to wear elastic pants for nine months (okay … two years) and why there are always cupcakes in the house. But those little people sure can make it hard to find time to read. We've listed eight ways below (we were going to come up with 10 but we got distracted) … 

8. The closer you get to the surprise twist, the louder your offspring become.

Poor Lois can't even bring herself to pick up a a book.
source

7. Or they get too quiet — and then you really have to investigate.


Seriously. We all know this could actually happen.
source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Midnight's Kiss by Thea Harrison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you're dying to know what happens next in Thea Harrison's Elder Races series, take comfort in knowing we're right there with you and are fervently counting down the days until the eighth installment, Midnight's Kiss, releases next May. Today, we have something to help ease the pain: the cover and the official synopsis! We don't want to keep you waiting, so let's get to it!

In the latest Novel of the Elder Races, two souls who have long buried their passions are about to be consumed …

Ever since their scorching affair ended years ago, Julian, the Nightkind King, and Melisande, daughter of the Light Fae Queen, have tried to put the past behind them — and distance between them. But when a war breaks out between Julian and Justine, a powerful Vampyre of the Nightkind council, they find themselves thrown together under treacherous circumstances …

Kidnapped as leverage against Julian, Melly is convinced that her former lover won’t be rushing to her rescue. But when Julian gives himself up to save her, they both end up Justine’s captives. Armed only with their wits and their anger, Melly and Julian must work together to escape. But will they be able to ignore their complicated history, or will the fiery passion that once burned them blaze again?

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

How to Pursue A Princess

Heiress Without A Cause by Sara Ramsey

4 stars

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Facing the Music

Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence

4 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

New Adult

Defiance

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

BY DJ DeSmyter, SEPTEMBER 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Maria V. Snyder's Study series is one readers just can't get enough of. I don't think I've heard a single bad thing about it, and one of my best friends has been badgering me for years to read them. And now, there's a new spin-off series on its way, starting with the upcoming Shadow Study! For today's Cover Breakdown, let's take a look at the new book's (really pretty) cover! 

Once, only her own life hung in the balance.

Oddly enough, when Yelena was a poison taster, her life was simpler. But she'd survived to become a vital part of the balance of power between rival countries Ixia and Sitia. Now she uses her magic to keep the peace in both lands and protect her relationship with Valek.

Suddenly, though, they are beset on all sides by those vying for power through politics and intrigue. Valek's job — and his life — are in danger. As Yelena tries to uncover the scope of these plots, she faces a new challenge: her magic is blocked. She must keep that a secret — or her enemies will discover just how vulnerable she really is — while searching for who or what is responsible for neutralizing her powers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Black & White & Re(a)d All Over

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

We've been pretty clear about our New Adult obsession, and ogling the hot cover models (as one does) had us noticing something quite peculiar … lots of these titles are black and white, with the occassional colorful font. We couldn't resist showing you — and punning in our blog title — we're only human, after all. But don't tell the beef cake that. To them, we'll always be perfect.

 

These titles have us feeling a little blue …

 

 

 

 

These font's aren't the only thing red hot in these books, we're sure we don't have to tell you.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Michael Kohlhaas by Heinrich von Kleist

There is a metaphysical stubbornness in someone who would do anything to make sure even the smallest crime is punished. It is not surprising that Kafka adored this book, but it is surprising that it's an (almost) true story. 

Plot: A guy conducts a massacre to avenge a kerfuffle. 

Rating: ●●●●○ 

One Thousand and One Nights (aka Arabian Nights)

Telling stories that contain stories that contain stories, in order to give meaning to life — and to postpone death. 

Plot: A girl tells stories to a sultan. 

Rating: ●●●●●


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Heidi Cullinan's Love Lessons and Fever Pitch Ebook Bundle!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

September and Fall are not the only things to be back in session — students are well underway with the new classes, experiences and relationships. And Heidi Cullinan wants to take you back to college with Love Lessons and Fever Pitch, the first two books in her Love Lessons M/M series! We have one exciting e-book bundle of both books for a lucky reader to win! Read on to enter!

Using the widget below, enter to win an e-book bundle from Heidi Cullinan! One lucky winner will win an e-copy of both Love Lessons and Fever Pitch, which our reviewers call "unforgettable" and "a sure-fire winner". This contest is open to both U.S. and International readers and ends next Tuesday! Good luck!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Betrayal by Margaret Bingley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Before Erotic Romance was the popular and widely loved genre that it is today, author Margaret Bingley (who U.S. readers might know as Marina Anderson) forged a new path in romance with Betrayal, which received next to zero exposure due to her publisher's view that the book was too "graphic" and "troubling" in its sexual content and overall themes. Originally written in 1989, Betrayal has continued to enthrall readers and now it's making its way to U.S. readers for the first time. And you know what that means, right? A new cover! But first, a bit about the story:

Set in the second half of the twentieth century, Lisa Green comes from a world of privilege, but only in the way of wealth, not in love. When a turn of events leaves her single, with an Autistic child to raise, without the means to support herself, Lisa gets stuck in an abusive new relationship that she is desperate to get out of.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kendall Kulper Unravels the Magic of Salt & Storm with a Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

YA author Kendall Kulper has woven an alluring spell with her debut, Salt & Storm, a historical tale about witches, whalers and sacrifice. Kendall's take on witches and magic is not only creative and refreshing, but also incredibly believable and detailed. Today she she's here to talk about the creation of her story's magic. Be sure to check out the bottom of the post for a chance to enter to win a copy of the book!

One of my favorite things to write about in Salt & Storm was the magic of the Roe witches, the family of women who created good luck charms and magic spells for the island’s population and visiting sailors.

Because Salt & Storm is based in a world like our own, I wanted the magic to feel rooted in reality. So even though the magic in Salt & Storm is fiction, almost all of it came out of research I did into ocean magic and sailing superstitions. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST