RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Excerpt: Virna DePaul's Turned

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? We know we are! Today we've got a treat for you, Virna DePaul's Turned, a intriguing vampire romance. It's the story of FBI Agent and vampire Ty, who's trying to recruit ex-gang member Ana to join Belladonna, a secret agency that monitors vampires. RT reviewer Melanie promises a crisp narrative and stellar pacing. Want to take a peek? Read on, vampire fans!

Ty strode out of Ana’s coffee shop and kept walking despite the strong urge to go back to her. To kiss her again. To do far more to her soft lips, her slick tongue, and her warm, fragrant body.

Lust the likes of which he’d never felt before, even during the first two months of his transition, was riding him hard, making him nearly dizzy. When he’d first been turned, his lust had been for sex, regardless of who it was with. Now, his lust seemed reserved for Ana alone.

The


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream - National Magazine Award-winning journalist Karma Brown is making her fiction debut with From the Ashes, which is being called a hybrid of Eat, Pray, Love and P.S., I Love You. It’s the tale of a woman learning the valuable lesson that even when life gets difficult, there’s nothing you can’t overcome. Look for it come fall 2015!

NEW SERIES

New Adult - Ann Aguirre is expanding her writing repertoire with I Want it That Way, which will kick off her New Adult trilogy about a college student who falls for a young single dad. Get your hands on it this fall!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 3/14/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week trying to unravel The Secrets of Her Past?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Event Alert: Authors In the City - New York City, Saturday, March 15th

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Don’t you just love hanging out with other booklovers and unleashing your inner fangirl and fanboy over your favorite authors? We sure do, which is why we’re pretty stoked about tomorrow’s Authors in the City event here in New York City at the New York Marriott Downtown! Organized and hosted by Stephanie from Stephanie’s Book Reports, this all day event is not to be missed.

But what exactly is Authors in the City? Well, it’s an all day event aimed at bringing readers and authors together for one giant book party. There are over 80 romance authors attending, including Jay Crownover, Shayla Black and Emma Chase. The main event is the four hour book signing from 1 to 6 PM, which will provide ample time for the close to 400 attendees to geek out and meet their literary idols. Following the signing, there’ll be a meet and greet, including food and an awards ceremony.

But that’s not all! A few of the authors are bringing their hunky cover models! Don’t worry, we’ll be taking lots of photos for those who can’t make it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Public Displays Of Romance - Week 2

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are 'just like everyone else'.   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Croco Designs logoSelf-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Today with us is Frauke Spanuth, owner and creative director for Croco Designs. We hope you enjoy all Frauke has to say, and come back next week for part two! 

***

What should a self-published author keep in mind when working with a cover artist?

As a self-published author you are also in charge of all tasks a publisher usually takes care of. You have to keep a publication schedule as well as a budget in mind, so availability and pricing may be most important for you. But please keep in mind that if a cover is poorly executed, people may also think your book is of poor quality. It’s said that one should not judge a book by its cover, but very often people still do.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Location, Location, Location: How the Big Easy Inspired Mur Lafferty, Kristen Painter — And Their Vampires

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

That's it, we're calling it. 2014 is the year of New Orleans in book publishing. There are so many sexy, spooky, spectacular NOLA-set books being put out this year, we'd be planning a trip — if we weren't already going for this year's RT Convention! Today two New Orleans-inspired authors, Mur Lafferty and Kristen Painter, share what makes the Big Easy such a ripe setting for fiction and their recent releases, Lafferty's Ghost Train to New Orleans and Painter's House of the Rising Sun.

***

New Orleans has a special connection with vampires — how did you tackle that particular creature in your book?

Mur Lafferty: I actually didn't, for the most part. My main vampire characters were the ones who came from New York City, and NOLA vampires were bit parts. But my vampires are pretty standard — drink blood, powerful ones can fly, they're faster than people, can mesmerize. I did cover more vampires in the travel guide sections in the book, telling some of the local history from the POVs of various monsters. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

A Duke of Her Own by Lorraine Heath

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Just the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Your New Adult Guide To New Orleans Hot Spots

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Booze, sunshine, skimpy clothes and, of course, hook ups with hot guys! What could be better? The four authors of Avon's latest erotic new adult anthology, Spring Fling, agree, as they've each contributed a story young women spending their spring breaks in New Orleans — we couldn't think of a better setting — and finding true love — or just some hot, hot loving. With the upcoming RT Booklovers Convention in New Orleans this May, we asked each author to share their favorite New Orleans hot spots. Because who knows, maybe we'll relive a spring break moment or two. (We behaved, Mom, we swear.)

***

Julia Kent: The allure of Maison Bourbon, New Orleans’ notorious jazz club, isn’t the music. What draws me in is the sense of timelessness, of enormity. Those first hesitant steps across the threshold of a jazz bar in the wee hours of the night make me feel like I'm crossing over into world unknown. The music turns into my own pulse as my senses take over. The air is redolent of a part of myself I know I possess, but that is too buried to be known just yet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST