RT Daily Blog

Show Us Your Public Display Of Romance!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Where do you like to read romance novels? In bed? In the bath? On the couch while your significant other watches a boring movie? How about in public? If your reading time is during your daily commute, at Gymboree or while you're enjoying a quiet lunch solo, we want to see it! So we're launching the #PublicDisplayofRomance campaign. See, we think the days of hiding romances are long gone. Not just because of ereaders, but because you should be proud of what you're reading. Wave your romance reader flag high, folks! We want to see it! Which is why we're asking readers to tag themselves reading romances — in print or on their ereader — in public.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 2/28/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week owing A Debt Paid in Passion?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Mortal Danger By Ann Aguirre

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Known for her unrivaled knack for writing dark, edgy and surprising novels, bestselling author Ann Aguirre returns to the YA scene with Mortal Danger, the first in her new Immortal Game series. And today we have an exclusive first look at the cover! But before we take a peek, let's see what Mortal Danger is all about:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Dive into Kim Harrison’s Undead Pool

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, FEBRUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Kim Harrison’s 12th Hollows novel featuring witch and day-walking demon Rachel Morgan is out this week, and if you think The Undead Pool is full of dangerous waters, you don’t know the half of it — because this book sees Rachel and elven leader Trent Kalamack jumping into the deep end of romance!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: February 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash? As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured several online book retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and more, as well as bestseller lists, to put together the bestselling fiction titles of the month that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

***

The Private Club: Three Days by JS Cooper and Helen Cooper

Genre: Contemporary Short Story

Release date: February 2014

The story: You may recognize JS and Helen from last month’s self-pub bestseller list, for their über-popular Ex Games series. The Private Club is a three-part erotic serial, a spin-off of sorts, starring Meg, an unemployed lawyer looking for work. She meets the ubiquitous hero of this genre, the ‘handsome and elusive’ Greyson at her interview at The Club. Thinking she’s applying for a bartending job, Meg learns she’s in for so much more. As her connection with Greyson grows, as do her questions about the true nature of the club. At a short 67 pages, don’t expect to get too many answers, but never fear, those savvy Coopers have already released the second entry, The Private Club: Two Days.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Scandal Wears Satin by Loretta Chase

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

About Last Night by Ruthie Knox

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

But It On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Night's Honor By Thea Harrison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's nothing like a cover reveal to brighten up a Wednesday! Today we bring you the cover of Night's Honor, Thea Harrison's next Elder Races novel, releasing in September. It's no secret we're a big fan of Harrison's Elder Races series, which had featured some truly interesting shapeshifters and smoking hot romance. Her upcoming tale focuses on the Nightkind region of the Elder Races, which means vampire romance fans will be in for a treat!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Advanced Excerpt: Cora Carmack's All Lined Up

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cora Carmack burst onto the New Adult scene with her sexy, angsty Losing It. After several books in that universe, she's heading back to college with May's All Lined Up, the first in her Rusk University series. It's the story of football-hating Dallas, who's at college with her football star ex and coach dad, and Carson, who's trying to get off the second string. Will these opposites attract, especially once they find out who the other really is? We couldn't wait to find out, so we cajoled (begged?) and got an exclusive excerpt to tide us over until May! Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide of some sort to help us through the precious prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

 

***

Moby Dick by Herman Melville

The world's epic spirit can be found anywhere: Melville illustrates this by making whaling into a mythical saga. You'll be tempted to skip the explanatory bits on how to grease a harpoon, but then you'd risk missing out on some allegory, so you have to read the whole thing.

Plot: A crippled captain wants revenge, he fails and (almost) everyone dies.

Rating: 99 out of 100.

The Man Without Qualities by Robert Musil


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST