RT Daily Blog

Susan Grant Takes Readers Around The World (And The Universe)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Susan Grant has a reputation for transporting readers across the universe with her science fiction romance tales — and this month's The Last Warrior promises to be another trip that is (pardon our pun) out of this world. But Susan Grant is happy also happy to take people around the world during her day job, as a jumbo jet pilot who frequently heads to exotic locals. 

Most of you know me as a bestselling author of 15 assorted paranormal, military, and science fiction romances. A few may know that I live a double life as a 747 jumbo jet pilot, flying overseas routes for United Airlines.

I've flown commercially for 23 years, and before that I was a jet pilot for the US Air Force. In any given month I may land in China, South Korea, Australia, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Singapore, or Japan, staying a night or two then flying home.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Tara Taylor Quinn Shares The Best Advice She's Ever Received - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Tara Taylor Quinn shares her past with readers and explains how (and why) she incorporates her own experiences into her writing. And don’t miss your chance to win a copy of her new novel, It Happened on Maple Street, at the end of this post!

My life is an open book. At least, as of April 1, 2011 it is. Before that I had fifty-five books published with Harlequin and MIRA and I lived my life in hiding. I was living with a twenty-seven year secret of domestic violence. That changed with the publication of It Happened on Maple Street, co-authored with Tim Barney, my husband and the love of my life. It Happened on Maple Street is our true love story. And the story of the healing power of love. I am all over those pages, by name. My shame, my guilt, and my struggle to find faith in myself and trust in love are all there for the world to see. My family and friends, as they read this book, are finding out for the first time about the secrets I kept all those years. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Guardian By Margaret Mallory

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week, Whitney and Morgan Dish about The Guardian the first book in Margaret Mallory’s new The Return of the Highlanders series

***

Morgan: I choose this week’s selection because I loved the reviewer’s summary of the story and how, when the hero, Ian MacDonald, returns home after years of war he “assumes his responsibility, vowing to win [the heroine Sileas’] respect and create a real marriage.” Characters that grow and change always get my attention. Oh, and it doesn’t hurt that he wears a kilt. Nothing wrong with that!

Whitney: I tend to stick to the Regency era for my historical romances, but I’m glad that you selected this medieval tale. It’s much less cold-drafty-castle than I thought it would be. Instead, it’s much more about “passionate hearts on the Highlands.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Miranda James On Two New Men Of Mystery

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last summer, Miranda James introduced readers to the sleuth who is keeping killers at bay in her Cat in the Stacks mysteries. This librarian lead is back to unravel another reader's mystery in this month's Classified as Murder. But don't expect a feisty heroine, in a bit of gender-bending fun, James' book-loving leads are a man and his cat! 

When you mention the words “cozy mystery” these days, what probably comes to mind most often is “female sleuth.” That’s because 99% of cozy mysteries these days do have female main characters, usually amateurs, who do the crime-solving. Two writers who have bucked that trend recently are Jeffrey Cohen, with his Elliot Freed series, and Miranda James (aka me), with the Cat in the Stacks series featuring not one, but two, males as lead characters: Charlie Harris and his Maine coon cat, Diesel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barbara Ashford Talks About The Original Ending Of This Month's Spellcast

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sometimes where you end up isn't where you are heading. Author Barbara Ashford learned this the hard way when her new fantasy novel, Spellcast, became much darker than Ashford had anticipated writing. Today the author chats with us about the original ending of what RT's Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs calls a "compelling" story about "the transformative power of theater."

“Welcome to the Crossroads.”

After I typed the final words of Spellcast, I sat back and stared at the computer screen in disbelief. This was not how the book was supposed to end.

When I pitched the idea to DAW Books, I knew the basic plot. Maggie Graham loses her job in New York City. Drives up to Vermont for a getaway weekend to regroup. Stumbles upon the Crossroads Theatre. Reluctantly allows herself to be lured back into the world of theatre that she had abandoned years earlier. And – with equal reluctance – falls under the spell of theatre director Rowan Mackenzie, a man with strange powers and a mysterious past.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 5/3/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance  
  
 My Favorite Countess
by Vanessa Kelly

“The strong protagonists, deep emotional intensity and rising sexual tension all make the fast-paced romance memorable.”
  One Whisper Away
by Emma Wildes

“The first in Wildes’ Ladies in Waiting series is a lush and highly sensual love story.”
       
 Follow My Lead
by Kate Noble

“The appealing characters and pacing showcase Noble’s writing talents.”
  Warrior of the Isles
by Debbie Mazzuca

“Mazzuca has created a delightful blend of magic, adventure and romance."
       

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Interview Historical Romance Author Kate Noble About Her Fourth Regency Romance And More!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Kate Noble has just released her fourth Regency romance with this month’s Follow My Lead, which takes her characters across Europe on a quest that turns unexpectedly dangerous. Today we chat with the author for an insider look at Follow My Lead and where she’s headed next!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In Follow My LeadWinnifred “Winn” Crane is attempting to gain membership to the all-male Historical Society when she meets Jason. How did this Regency miss originally become interested in such scholarly pursuits?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kevin Hearne On The Deep Themes In His New Urban Fantasy Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kevin Hearne gives readers a special look at his new urban fantasy series, The Iron Druid Chronicles. Learn about the serious themes that are hiding out in this series that unites different ancient gods and classic myths into one fast-paced adventure!

Hounded was written as much for my own entertainment as anyone else’s—and I certainly did not intend for it to be “deep” and fraught with the kind of gravitas that makes the jowls of college professors quiver portentously. But now that I’m a couple of years removed from writing it, I’m capable of putting on my English teacher hat and making up some pseudo-academic stuff that is entertaining in its own nerdy way.

Though I make no claims to literature with my series, there are some serious themes that are entirely intentional, such as the idea that only love and friendship can anchor a long-lived person to his or her humanity. A broader look at humanity’s struggle with faith vs. reason arose unintentionally, however, in the process of building the world.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dorothy St. James On Creating Complete Cozy Characters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, how do you keep your cozy characters sane as they stumble over corpse after corpse? And how does a character go from unlucky body-finder to eagle eyed amateur sleuth? It is a daunting prospect but you aren’t on your own with these dilemmas. Today cozy author Dorothy St. James (aka Dorothy McFalls) shares some of the tricks of the trade that she learned from four fellow mystery authors!

“If Jessica Fletcher walks into a room, run! Someone is about to be murdered, and you sure as heck don’t want it to be you.”

Growing up, this was a running joke in my family.

The idea that an amateur sleuth/mystery novelist would become involved with a murder investigation week after week grew all the more unbelievable with each season of Murder She Wrote until one night my dad exclaimed that Jessica Fletcher was a serial killer who cleverly framed scores of innocent dupes.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Graphic Novel Author Laura Lee Gulledge

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Graphic novel author Laura Lee Gulledge gives readers an insider look at her debut work Page by Paige. This story which got 4 1/2 stars from RT's Dawn Crowne, follows a young teen trying to find a place for herself in New York City. In this video interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus the author shares her thoughts about the way that art can help people push through many different types of emotional issues, including the lonliness that heroine Page faces in Page by Paige.

Laura Lee Gulledge talks about Page by Paige >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of Page by Page >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST