RT Daily Blog

RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION 2012 Will Take Place In Chicago

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 11/17/2011: We've launched our new and improved convention mini-site www.rtconvention.com. There you can electronically register for our 2012 convention in Chicago, take a look at what will be taking place and find out how you can get involved with RT's volunteer and promotional opportunities!

BLOG UPDATE 10/13/2011: We've announced a preliminary schedule for the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention. You can check out this year's workshops and panels at our Convention homepage or by taking a look at our Convention Overview. Find out what's in store during our Reader Program, our Writers' Programs — such our Genre Panels, Hands On and Specialty workshops — and don't miss the first look at the author's who will be attending this year's Giant Book Fair on Saturday!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
98COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

The Tenacious Miss Tamerlane by Kasey Michaels

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Lucky in Love by Carolyn Brown

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror by Chris Priestley

Buy For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Serpent's Kiss by Thea Harrison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

A dying vampire queen and a happy-go-lucky gryphon will risk the fate of the world for their love in Thea Harrison’s paranormal series third Serpent’s Kiss.

Morgan: I have been loving Thea Harrison’s Elder Races series since book one, Dragon Bound, hit shelves earlier this year. Now we are on book three and I have to say that I never get tired of visiting the author’s world of strange, mythical creatures. 

Whitney: Harrison has become an auto-buy author for me, too. Although, I felt this particular book took a while to get off the ground because Harrison has to explain all the different types of creatures in play, the political factions that are maneuvering and also reacquaint us with the hero and heroine who have been, up until now, supporting characters. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Unusual Occupations For October's Harlequin Historical Romance Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

In October Harlequin introduces readers to several historical heroines with unusual occupations. From a brothel's accountant to a nobleman's page, this month's female protagonists are not your average leading ladies. But will their unlikely jobs help them find love? 

 

The Captain's Forbidden Miss
By Margaret McPhee

Gwyneth McCloud is a lady-in-waiting to the widowed Mary Queen of Scots. It is during Gwyneth's time as part of the royal court that she meets Rowan, Lord of Lachraven, the new advisor to the queen. Although Gwyneth and Rowan disagree on many fronts, will their loyalty to Mary's family help bring these two together?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Carla Swafford

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Carla Swafford treats readers to a seriously seductive adventure with her debut tale, Circle of Desire, from Avon Impulse. Learn how the story went from the slush pile to soon-to-be-e-released when the author chats with RT's Morgan. In the interview, Carla shares her journey to becoming a published author and introduces readers to her fierce heroine, Olivia, a cutthroat assassin. Carla also shares details from her upcoming series second!

Carla Swafford On Her Circle Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 10/11/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jamie Todd Rubin "Vacations" Back To The Golden Age of Sci Fi

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Earlier this year, science fiction author Jamie Todd Rubin re-visited the Golden Age of science fiction, an era in which science fiction gained notoriety during the first half of the 20th century, by looking at one of the most influential publications of the time period — Astounding Science Fiction magazine. In a series of blog posts on his website, Rubin examined every aspect of the magazine — from the short stories to the ads — issue by issue, and reflected on how the magazine defined the Golden Age and how the era has influenced and molded contemporary science fiction writing. This week Amazing Stories, the digital re-boot of another classic science fiction magazine, will be hosting Rubin’s reflective journey on their website.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caught On Cover: October 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on cover", their likenesses lifted for October's new releases. Check out who we spotted:

It looks like Mila Kunis has replaced Kelso with another shaggy-haired hero

 

     


 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Alyxandra Harvey — Updated 10/10/2011!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 10/10/2011: Just a head's up for anyone who doesn't have their own copies of the first three stories in this series, Barnes & Noble is currently having a book-bundle sale on the series. You can purchase all of the Drake Chronicles books as e-books for $7.99 or as print books for $9.49. Check out the deal here!

Author Alyxandra Harvey has made a name for herself with her innovative Young Adult vampire series, The Drake Chronicles. The series began in July and the third novel in the series, Out for Blood, will hit shelves on December 21st. In this video interview, the author goes behind the scenes of The Drake Chronicles with RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan. Learn about Harvey's classic fairytale inspiration, her diverse Drake siblings and more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHOR

Young Adult – The phenomenal David Levithan has created a mind-bending plot for his upcoming novel, A. In this story, the main character is a person named “A”, who takes over a new person’s body each day and must adapt to their life. But when A takes over one teen’s body, it falls in love with the boy’s girlfriend and is now desperate to be with her. RT’s Whitney says, “this isn’t just a must-read, it’s a ‘top of my TBR pile, how can I get my hands on this book sooner?!?’-read!”

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST