RT Daily Blog

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Peach Keeper By Sarah Addison Allen

BY MORGAN, APRIL 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we read The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen at Whitney’s request. A big fan of the author’s previous works, Whitney loves these Southern family-style dramas with more than a hint of magic. 

***

Whitney: Welcome to the wonderful world of Sarah Addison Allen novels! I’ve been hooked ever since I read Garden Spells, which I consider mandatory reading for anyone with adult sisters. 

Morgan: This is my first Allen, but not my last. Question: Are all of her books so well constructed? It can’t be easy writing a story with an unlikely friendship, two romances, a long forgotten mystery and magic.

Whitney: They each have their own distinct plotline and quirky characters, but they are all strong stories. My favorite part of SAA’s writing is the way that magic flows through her stories without them ever becoming fantasy tales. She has such a light touch with these elements.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview With Author Kelley Armstrong

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kelley Armstrong has just released her latest paranormal YA tale, this month's The Gathering. Today the author chats with RT's Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi about her new series which is set in the same world as her previous YA trilogy but introducing all new characters. (Armstrong revealed to us that she was "terrified" while writing this, because she knew that her fans had high expectations for the finished novel.) Armstrong also discusses the way that her novels appeal to teens who consider themselves "outsiders" but how in reality everyone has things that set them apart from the crowd and these differences should be embraced. And after the video, don't miss your chance to check out an excerpt of The Gathering.

Kelley Armstrong on The Gathering >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the excerpt of The Gathering >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Author Interview With Virginia Lowell On Her Sweet New Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we get a chance to chat with mystery author Virginia Lowell about her new series that kicks off with this month's Cookie Dough or Die. We knew we needed to get a special look at how Lowell cooked up this small town romp that will satisfy any mystery-lover with a sweet tooth!

***

What were the easiest things about writing Cookie Dough or Die and what were the most challenging aspects of the story?
The easiest part was, of course, the cookies and cookie cutters. I loved writing scenes where I could sink into my senses and enjoy the tastes, the smells, the visual beauty of decorated cookies. It was great fun to research cookie cutters and imagine ways to use them in the mystery. The most challenging aspects…? I’d have to say, the suspect list— weaving together the characters and lives of potential murderers so that each might seem to have a convincing motive for killing an otherwise admirable victim.

Cookie Dough or Die has Olivia racing to uncover a killer and clear her good name after she is accused of murdering her mentor, Clarisse. Can you share the most valuable piece of advice Clarisse ever gave Olivia?
When Olivia was thinking about starting a business and wondering what she should sell, Clarisse told her, “Follow your loves. If you love cookie cutters, don’t sell lawn mowers.” So Olivia opened The Gingerbread House and found that her passion for cookie cutters gave her the energy and drive to keep going. It also helped her solve Clarisse’s murder.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Samantha James' The Sins of Viscount Sutherland

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings readers an exclusive first look at Samantha James' upcoming Regency romance. Get a special look at this new novel that puts a twist on the classic revenge tale as we go beyond the back cover blurb with the book's author!

***

The Sins of Viscount Sutherland is the first in my brand new series, the Lords of Sheffield Square. I, like so many readers, love those dark and sexy heroes. This book features such a man, Viscount Grayson Sutherland, who is (obviously!) a sinner, a rogue, a rake . . . on it goes. Yes, he’s a bad boy. Yes, there’s vengeance. Murder. Revenge. I think there’s a classic appeal to this romantic theme, just as there is with the marriage-of-convenience, the kind of story that has an everlasting appeal. Because each story -- each hero and heroine- - is unique. They have a story of their own to tell.

When Gray came alive in my mind, I knew he’d be one of the darkest heroes I’d ever created. Gray is reckless and dangerous. His life had once been so perfect. But all that changed in the space of an instant. Fate had left him battered and embittered and forever lost. He has hardened his himself against everything and everyone.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 4/19/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Head Around The World With April's Harlequin Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month you can enjoy five new historical tales of love from Harlequin. These stories will whisk you around the world and through several different time periods. And although we know some of you are still suffering with snow, by the time you are done reading these novels, May flowers may have even started sprouting!

Set Sail to Singapore

Wanted: Mail-Order Mistress
by Deborah Hale

Setting: Singpore 1825

Simon and Bethan's relationship begins as one night of passion, but their love grows into something so much more. Will Bethan be able to overcome her past when Simon asks for her hand in marriage? Hale will delight with the final story in her latest trilogy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cassie Ryan On The Demon And The Succubus

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Cassie Ryan gives readers a behind the scenes peek at the Nevada brothel where her heroine works in this month's paranormal romance The Demon and the Succubus. Find out which popular tv show inspired the story’s setting and what readers can expect between the pages of this series second!

Wow! What an honor it was to be asked to blog for RT BOOK REVIEWS, which has been one of my favorite companies...and conventions since I first started writing. I was asked to talk a little bit about the setting for my newest release, book 2 in the Sisters of Darkness series, The Demon and the Succubus. The book begins in a legalized Nevada brothel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Mystery - Eighty-one years after Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s death, his Sherlock Holmes series is returning with Anthony Horowitz penning The House of Silk: A Sherlock Holmes Novel. Horowitz has been endorsed by the Conan Doyle Estate, and promises "a first rate mystery for a modern audience while remaining absolutely true to the spirit of the original". The House of Silk will be released November 1st.

Urban Fantasy - Rob Thurman's fans will be happy to know that there are two more Cal Leandros books releasing as well as another Trickster novel in the works. 

Contemporary Romance - The next three books in Carolyn Brown's cowboy themed Spikes and Spurs series will be released from Sourcebooks. And if they are anything like the other stories in the series, they promise to be a boot stomping good time! 

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

First Look: Jade Lee's Dragonborn Concept Art

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Jade Lee shares a sneak peek at the art of her new Dragonborn comic/graphic novel with RT readers. Comic book issues will be released this summer from Sea Lion Books and the complete graphic novel is scheduled to hit shelves this fall — but you don't have to wait that long to get a look at some of the ways that artist Wilson Junior is bringing Lee's beloved characters to life!


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Evening With Author Gini Koch

BY MORGAN, APRIL 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Saturday evening the romance section of Posman Books in New York City was jam-packed with fans all wanting science fiction romance author Gini Koch’s autograph. Earlier this month Gini released the third in her Alien Collective series Alien in the Family. Gini’s books sold out fast, but that didn’t stop readers from grabbing up the author’s post cards and magnates. Gini mingled with the crowd who she greeted like friends — one thing you notice right away when meeting Ms. Koch, she's a hugger. 

Traditionally sci fi romance has been a bit of a hard sell, but Gini is more than happy with her chosen genre — it gives her room to talk to the crowd about a wide range of topics. Everything from Galaxy Quest to love triangles was discussed during the signing with many references to music. (Aerosmith is the author’s favorite, but she says to really get into her series, try Smash Mouth’s album Get the Picture).  

Well into the evening, I decided to ask the crowd what they loved so much about Gini’s books and the answer was unanimous: one and all are in love with the characters (especially the dreamy Jeff) and they also couldn’t get enough of the series’ realism. “It’s just so believable,” claimed one fan. “Like it could really happen.” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST