RT Daily Blog

Test your Allison Brennan Book IQ and Win a Prizepack - Now Enter to Win Until January 4th!

BY Faygie Levy, DECEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Suspense lovers will want to check out the January release Love Me to Death by Allison Brennan. This is the first book in the Lucy Kincaid series. As a teenager, Lucy was abducted and nearly killed as her family rushed to save her in the 2007 release, Fear No Evil. Now an adult and waiting to join the FBI, Lucy may be on her way to finding love, but first comes some major crime fighting.

To get you ready for the new series we thought it would be fun to revisit her past and the Kincaid family, many of whom have already gotten their own happily ever afters. Take the quiz below and see how much you know about the Kincaids. Several readers who answer all the questions correctly will win books from the author:  

 

1.How many children are in the Kincaid family?
a) 3
b) 5
c) 7

2. Who is Carina Kincaid’s partner?
a) Jim Gage
b) Will Hooper
c) Hans Vigo


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Three Overnight Dads from Silhouette Desire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the Silhouette Desire line of series romances, men tend to take the fast lane to fatherhood. And whether they are marrying women who are nine months pregnant, or suddenly learning that they have children they’ve never met, these are all men on an emotional rollercoaster. Now three of this month’s Silhouette Desire authors give readers a special look at their "Overnight Dads" of December.

 

Trevor Jarrod, Inheriting His Secret Christmas Baby 
by Heidi Betts


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Holiday Reads, Free E-Books, Choosing RT's Top Picks And More!

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I share insider information about both Christmas and non-Christmas romance books, the easiest way to find free e-books and give an insider look at how RT's Top Picks are chosen. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: How exactly do you choose which books will be Top Picks? -Kimi

Morgan: Top Picks are chosen by RT Reviewers as the best books of the month. They are the ones that we believe are truly special — perhaps even destined to be "classics". However, for the answer about how exactly they are picked, I turn to RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin who has reviewed close to 8,500 books in her 30 year tenure at RT! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mark Henry on Making the Switch

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Urban Fantasy author Mark Henry talks about a writer’s best weapon again the threat of unemployment: the ability to diversify. Today marks the release of his first erotic tale, Stocking Full of Coal, writing under the name Amanda Feral. Get all the details about how this new novel came to be and don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of the story at the end of this post! 

Writers get a lot of questions. What font do you use? Where do you get your ideas? Do you ever bathe? But one that’s been popping up a lot recently is: can you really make a living as a lower midlist author with very little other marketable skills?

The answer is an unequivocal maybe, often accompanied by a shrug.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Heroes Next Door That are Melting our Hearts

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romantic suspense is full of ex-Navy SEALs and high-tech security experts. But this month the three men who are turning our heads are more of the hero next door type. Pamela Loewy's Wyatt Kelly and Joyce Lamb's John Logan are hard working police detectives, and KM Daughters' Patrick Sullivan is a police captain. They may not have flashy gadgets or untold riches to help them save the girl, but they can rescue us any day! Now Loewy, Lamb and Daughters give us a special look at these three everyday heroes who are melting our hearts.

 

Wyatt Kelly the hero of Saving Jemma  
by Pamela Loewy


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside the Issue: February 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

The weather outside may be frightful, but this month's magazine is delightful! We've just wrapped up the February issue and it will be in stores next week.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

We investigate some of fiction's hottest love triangles to find out which man fans think should win the heroine's heart. 

Debut author Darynda Jones talks about the contest that changed it all — and the sought-after shoes that grace her cover!

We look into "The Original E-book" to find out why some bestselling authors are taking a less traditional route to deliver stories to readers.

Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child give us a sneak peek at their new hero, Gideon Crew.

Find out how Colleen Houck's novel became the launch title for a new line of YAs.

Convention News: It's time to talk parties!

You can also check out the third round of the RT/Kensington Writing With the Stars competition, author Jana Oliver is featured in Teen Scene and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Shiloh Walker on Which Website To Use as a Promotional Tool: Shelfari or Goodreads

BY Shiloh Walker, DECEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

It can be hard for an author to tell whether it's better to use Shelfari or Goodreads as a promotional tool.

So far, from everything I can tell? It’s Goodreads.

Full disclosure—I haven’t used Shelfari much. I do have an account, although I’d forgotten it. When I went moseyed over there to check it out, I realized I did have that account and logged in, found a bunch pending friend requests…cleared them through, although I’m not sure it will do much good. I’m not planning spending much time there.

The profile set up doesn’t appeal to me. It’s not as simplified as Goodreads and it’s more limited on what authors can do—which isn’t bad for readers, especially those who are getting tired of authors taking over discussions. Yes, it happens, it gets annoying—I’ve seen it. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Bookshelves Tuesday 12/14/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A New Way to Enjoy Stephanie Laurens' Black Cobra quartet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Bestselling historical romance author Stephanie Laurens and her publisher Avon, part of HarperCollins, have teamed up to create a fun interactive online game based on Laurens' latest historical romance series, the Black Cobra quartet. The new game is called Crazy Cobras and is available for you to start playing now!

We loved traveling around the globe in this fast-paced Regency series, not to mention falling in love with the four handsome heroes. Laurens also gave readers an insider look at her series back in October with this video interview and Q&A. So even if you haven't had a chance to read Laurens' latest series, you can still enjoy Crazy Cobras.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Exclusive Look at The Lost Saint - Read the First Chapter!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Bree Despain’s new YA novel, The Lost Saint, the second in her Dark Divine series, has been getting tons of buzz, and the exclusive look we shared last week, starting with the  prologue, is just going to keep on coming! Now Bree is back to talk about how she won the battle against writer's block and reveal the entire first chapter of The Lost Saint!

Woohoo! Today, thanks to RT BOOK REVIEWS, I get to preview Chapter One of The Lost Saint. Along with the preview, I thought I’d give you a behind-the-scenes look at this chapter.

The problem: As I said in my last post, the beginning of The Lost Saint was a hard one to figure out (what with 20+ false starts and all), and it was frankly giving me a major case of the author crazies.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
28COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST