RT Daily Blog

Diane Whiteside's The Shadow Guard Is Inspired By ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

From classic cinema to a popular novel series and an animated movie, today author Diane Whiteside gives us a behind the scenes look at some of the sources of inspiration that she wove into the major players in her new Urban Fantasy novel, The Shadow Guard!

Many different things can inspire a story. Heck, sometimes it just springs to life in an author’s brain and defies the poor soul to think about anything else until it’s written down. The Shadow Guard, my April 2011 release from Brava, mercifully had three main inspirations.

First, Ingrid Bergman has always fascinated me. Casablanca – who can forget Humphrey Bogart’s immortal line, “here’s looking at you, kid?” You always knew why that hardened man of the world could never forget her.  

In Alfred Hitchcock’s thriller Notorious, she portrays a fragile beauty who discovers inner strength amid betrayal on all sides, including from those she should be able to trust, and saves her country. Cary Grant, as the hero, doesn’t trust her but still finds himself falling in love.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Extended Review: Nora Roberts' Chasing Fire - With Giveaway

BY MORGAN, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

I grew up near Missoula, Montana where Nora Roberts' April book, Chasing Fire is set. Chasing Fire follows heroine Rowan Tripp, a smoke jumper who parachutes into forests to put out fires. While I have never met a female smoke jumper, when I was in my teens my cousin dated a man who fought forest fires during the summers. And I am happy to report that almost everything in Roberts' book matches what I know about smoke jumping.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 3/25/11

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Were you In The Line Of Fire this week?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: J.J. Murray gives us the inside scoop on his diva heroine. Read On >>

YOUNG ADULT: Go inside the dystopian world of Wither. Read The Excerpt >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: This new novel is filled with Regency era suspense. What Book Is It? >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Michele Hauf talks paranormal universes. Learn More >>

EROTICA: Beth Williamson on her new “tortured hero”. Check It Out >>

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Mystery author Rick Mofina on writing. Watch It Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Susanna Kearlsey On The Winter Sea

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's no denying that author Susanna Kearsley has a brilliant way with words. Her latest novel, December's historical fiction The Winter Sea is equal parts contemporary romance, historical mystery and is infused with gothic overtones. This unique story captured our editors' attention and won the RT's December Seal of Excellence. Now get an insider's look at this magnificent tale with this author interview.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In The Winter Sea, your primary heroine Carrie is a historical fiction author who becomes inspired to write a story that happens to include her ancestor Sophia in the action. As the story continues Carrie realizes that what is happening may not be so accidental at all. As a historical fiction author, has anything similar ever happened to you?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trend Watch: Mild Romance Is Hot, Hot, Hot!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite things about reading romance is the wide range of stories that fall under the genre. And that’s certainly the case when it comes to the spice, sizzle and steam factor of these stories. These days many authors are writing tales that are hot, hot, hot — the erotic romance sub-genre has exploded and even contemporary romances are skewing towards the fuego. But where does a romance reader go for a story that sweet not scorching? Today we chat about books that don’t skimp on the romance, but prove that sometimes less is more when it comes to the bedroom scenes.

Physical intimacy is an important part of a romantic relationship, but it’s not always something that needs to be seen on the page. This month Hester Browne’s novel, Swept off her Feet has RT’s B. Nakia Garner saying, “It is refreshing to see a book focus more on the idea of romance as opposed to actual romantic overtures.” Not having explicit sexual scenes on the page can give authors a chance to focus more on the development of the relationship a la the romance classics, Austen and Bronte.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Rick Mofina

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Rick Mofina recently introduced his readers to a new thriller series hero, Jack Gannon. This month Jack's latest adventure, In Desperation, received an RT Top Pick! Today the author chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the ways that his own background in journalism has influenced his writing and Mofina shares his advice for aspiring authors.

Rick Mofina On Writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Devyn Quinn's Darkness Descending

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Devyn Quinn's upcoming novel, Darkness Descending. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this August's Buffy-inspired novel became the start of something so much more.

***

Darkness Descending, the first book of my Vampire Armageddon series with NAL, had a difficult journey finding its place in this world. It all began when I was watching a popular television show about a certain young blonde vampire slayer. The one thing that always struck me was how easy it seemed to create a vampire. A bite, the victim dies, and then rises instant vampire! As Ricky would say to Lucy, it seemed to me that there was more 'splainin’ needed to make everything mesh in a logical manner.

I know, I know. It's all fiction, right? But I want my fiction to make sense, I say, as I pound my desk with a fist.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Return To The Black Hills By Debra Salonen

BY MORGAN, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week, Whitney and I Dish about Debra Salonen's series romance Return to the Black Hills.

Morgan: I picked this week’s Dish book because the heroine is a Parkour expert. Ever since I watched the chase scene in Casino Royale with Daniel Craig, I have loved this sport.

Whitney: It’s pretty amazing and has definitely gained popularity in the past few years.

Morgan: For those unfamiliar, Parkour is all about moving through an urban space as fast as you can, but instead of going around obstacles, you use them to go faster. So you wouldn’t go around a fence, you would climb to the top and do a flip to the other side.

Whitney: If you YouTube “Parkour advertisement” you can see some really cool stunts! (But YouTubers be warned, that’s hours of good reading time that might slip down the drain.)

Morgan: I think Jessie’s Parkour really added a great physical aspect to the story. Debra Salonen could have just made her an adrenaline junkie, but by adding Jessie’s training to the mix, we see her as an athlete.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Building Your Mailing List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

A few columns back, I talked about collecting business cards/addresses when you visited bookstores or met booksellers at conventions or conferences. I also mentioned asking if it would be okay to add the bookseller’s name to your mailing list…

Today, we talk about that mailing list. If you don’t want to build your own or just need some extra exposure, you’ve got several resources for mailing lists. Patricia Rouse is one. She provides a mailing list service. RT provides a service called Bookstores That Care Network. There may be even other options out there.

Now I can’t speak personally for these resources as I’ve built my own mailing list over the past few years.

Why? What was the point? Why should you?

Easy.

Promotion.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Jacquie D'Alessandro's Summer at Seaside Cove

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Jacquie D'Alessandro's upcoming novel, Summer at Seaside Cove. We go beyond the back cover blurb for a special look at this contemporary romance, which the author explains is very different from anything else she has ever written. 

***

First, I’d like to thank RT for giving me the opportunity to give readers a Sneak Peek at my upcoming book, Summer at Seaside Cove. It’s my first contemporary mainstream novel, and I’m so excited about it! All my previous contemporary stories have been either short, category length books or novellas that, because of their tight word count, have focused solely on the romance between the hero and heroine. While Summer at Seaside Cove is at its heart a romance, it’s also a multi-generational story, exploring the intricacies and difficulties of the heroine’s relationships with her mother, sister, and teenage niece. So, while it’s a romance, there’s also a lot more going on. I like to call it Romance--But More. 
 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST