RT Daily Blog

Julianne MacLean Aka E.V. Mitchell Talks About The Color Of Heaven

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Julianne MacLean is best known for her historical romances. Recently, writing under the pen name E.V. Mitchell,  MacLean moved in a different direction with her mainstream novel, The Color of HeavenThe story follows heroine Sophie who is struggling to stay positive during her daughter’s battle with leukemia. But when old secrets surface after a serious car accident, Sophie's world may never be the same. Now check out this author interview with Julianne MacLean about the process of creating her first novel as E.V. Mitchell.

***

The main character in The Color of Heaven, Sophie, is a writer. How much of your own experiences as an author went into creating Sophie’s character?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Debut Author Spotlight: Sara J. Henry

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Sara J. Henry

First novel: Learning to Swim

Age: Forever not-quite-grown-up

Current home: On a dirt road in a small southern Vermont town

Author icon: Don’t really have one, but one of my favorite books has always been Brat Farrar, by Josephine Tey.

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: None, unless you count the one begun in pencil in a composition book when I was 12.

Time it took to sell first book: Six weeks – or ten years, depending on how you look at it (ten years of occasionally looking at the manuscript but having no idea how to rewrite, and six weeks after I finally revised the manuscript and sent it out).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Catherine Anderson On The Difficult Themes In Her New Novel Here To Stay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance author Catherine Anderson shares why she doesn't shy away from serious subjects in her stories of love. Discover the topics she tackles in this month's Here to Stay and find out why she thinks readers relate to her heavier tales of contemporary love.

It is said by many that I tackle difficult subjects as a writer, including but not limited to rape, weight issues, child and spousal abuse, racism, and physical disabilities. Morgan Doremus, RT BOOK REVIEWS' web editor, feels that, despite the “not-very-uplifting” core themes in my work, readers look forward to the emotion they find in my books, and she has asked that I address this for RT readers.

That’s quite an assignment. I’ve often wondered, myself, what readers find in my work that has inspired such a huge and loyal following.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lauren Oliver's Delirium and Megan McCafferty's Bumped - With Excerpts!

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

I am really enjoying the influx of dystopian societies in YA fiction. I love seeing how authors like Suzanne Collins, Ally Condie, and Cameron Stracher re-imagine society in response to a challenge.

The latest dystopian tale to leave me awestruck was this month's Delirium by Lauren Oliver. This RT Top Pick! takes place in a society where love is considered a disease; one which teens must have an operation done to protect them from. Even after I finished Delirium, I was unable to forget Oliver's unusual look at teen love.

So, I was intrigued to hear about another new dystopian novel dealing with teen love in an unexpected way. While Oliver puts a spin on the emotional side of love, this May Megan McCafferty's Bumped revolves around the physical side of love. In Bumped teens are encouraged to be sexually active in hopes of getting pregnant.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Look At The Books From Our January Issue Mega Book Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the January issue of RT we ran a mega-book giveaway, offering 14 different titles from bestselling authors to some lucky readers. Hundreds of you entered to win one of the many, many books seen here! Check your emails in the coming days as winners are about to be notified. As for the grand-prize winner, that distinction belongs to Pam in Georgia, who is already waiting for her books to arrive.

Want to learn about other RT contests? Click Here >>

 

 

 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 2/22/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Heather Webber's Absolutely, Postively: An RT-Exclusive Look At Lucy Valentine's Mail

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Heather Webber brings back her popular heroine Lucy Valentine in this month's Absolutely, Positively. For a taste of the type of paranormal investigative work that Lucy does at Valentine, Inc, we've brought you an RT-exclusive look at some of Lucy's recent correspondence. 

Dear Lucy,
I have a big, big problem, and I hope you can help me. I “borrowed” one of my mother’s cocktail rings for a recent night on the town (it matched my outfit perfectly). I woke up the next morning after one too many mojitos and realized the ring was missing! I have no idea where I lost it—and I don’t really want to be cut out of the will. Can you help me?
-Comm Ave. Socialite


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Buzz Before The Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

It was a particularly busy week in the publishing world with lots of new projects announced. Check out our column Forewords where we bring you the latest book news about some of the web team's most anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Young Adult Jeri Smith-Ready has just sold the concluding book to her Shade trilogy. Readers will also be getting a new, currently untitled, novel from the author.

Series Romance - There will be three more books in Loreth Anne White’s romantic suspense Sahara Kings series. 

Paranormal Romance - HQN will be publishing books 3 and 4 in Laurie London's Sweetblood series.

Fantasy - Love Keri Arthur’s Guardian universe? We’ve got good news - the spin-off series Dark Angel will set three new books in this fantastical world. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Tawny Taylor's Darkest Fire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Tawny Taylor's new novel, Darkest Fire. We go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at Darkest Fire which will hit bookstores late this March.

***

Hello everyone! I'd like to thank RT BOOK REVIEWS for the opportunity to talk about my upcoming release, Darkest Fire.

I confess, I'm a history geek. I spend the spring/summer/fall running around in period garb. So, you ask, what does my love for corsets and my insane habit of prancing around in pure wool in ninety-plus degree heat have to do with my book? I'm glad you asked.

As I'm doing research for a living history event, I often stumble upon interesting information. And that information tends to find its way into my stories. In the case of Darkest Fire, it was the mythology of the griffin.

Naturally, I took some liberties with the legend. In my book, Drako Alexandre is the leader of his generation of Black Gryffons—mortal guardians of humanity's most powerful secret. And though Drako has no desire to be tied down—a Dom, he actually prefers to do the tying--he must take a wife. He decides Rin Mitchell, a woman with a secret of her own, is the perfect choice. They strike a deal. He'll never have to give up his desire for domination and forbidden pleasures. And Rin will get the money she desperately needs to help her sister. But, of course, things don't turn out the way either of them expect...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Finding The Right Digital Publisher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bobbye Terry, who also writes under the pseudonyms Daryn Cross and Terry Campbell, is an author with experience writing across the genres and publishing in both traditional and e-formats. Now she shares her tips on how to choose the right digital publisher.

Are you a writer who craves to be published but no matter how many times you submit to print publishers you have a rejection to show for it? I know how frustrated one can be when this happens. If I’d saved every rejection letter I ever got, I could paper several houses, most likely including the White House, not that security would allow it. Now, I don’t claim to be the wise sage who has just the right answer, but I can give you my insights based on fifteen years of writing and having been published with a large New York house and a bunch of small press publishers with an emphasis on digital publication.

When choosing a home for your prize novel, don’t submit wildly in hopes that one of many will accept your work. Choose your publisher just like you would a physical property, with research, inspection and careful analysis of the contract. 

Things to consider: 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST