RT Daily Blog

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Nausea by Jean-Paul Sartre

Without a little fun you'll get crushed by the disgusting "existence of things." The protagonist has a lot of spare time, gets bored and cannot stand his nausea.

Plot: The world exists and it sucks.

Rating: ●●●●○

War and Peace by Lev Tolstoy

If you want to understand the heart of men you have to find out how it beats both in war and in peace. To understand it better, you must do it in the company of Tolstoy.

Plot: In love and war nothing is fair.

Rating: ●●●●●

Othello by William Shakespeare


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Bestselling Self-Published Romance: August 2014

BY Elisa Verna, SEPTEMBER 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists to put together some of the top selling romance titles (including YA & NA romance) that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Indestructible by Angela Graham

Genre: New Adult

Release date: August 2014

The Story: Newly single college grad Cassandra has fallen for the single dad next door, and book three (which contains no cliffhanger, I love it when that's made clear) concludes their story. Things to know about this series: the heroine is a sexual assault victim and apparently book three contains a ton of sex. Reviews claim secondary characters are a big part of this book, paving the way for more books in the series.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal and Q&A: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you get when you take Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code and throw in two hot guys with accents, globe-trotting adventures, a secret society and masked balls? Well, you'd most likely get Maggie Hall's The Conspiracy of Us, an exciting Young Adult thriller coming your way on January 13, 2015. And today, we have an exclusive reveal of the book's gorgeous cover and a Q&A with Maggie. Let's get started!

The Conspiracy of Us seems like a pretty complex story. So let's put you to task! Describe the novel in three to five words.

You’ve done a good job describing some of the plot in question #2, so I’ll go with descriptive words: Danger. Glamour. Romance. Ancient secrets.

Avery's the lost heir to the Circle of Twelve, a secret society whose members may or may not want her dead. Can you tell us a little bit about the Circle?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 9/9/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love Those Witches: Jennifer Murgia on Her Favorite Spellcasters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

With the growing love and popularity for hit shows and books like Charmed, Harry Potter and Witches of East End, witches have proven they're here to stay. And with so many cult classics, new takes and exciting magic, we love that witches continue to enthrall audiences left and right. And now, thanks to Jennifer Murgia, we can throw another witch into the mix — Rune, the heroine in Jennifer's latest, Forest of Whispers, a historical fantasy set in the 17th century. The book is out today and to celebrate, Jennifer's here to share which witches she loves most. Take it away, Jennifer!

Topping the YA trend chart these days is a bewitching character. Call her what you will: spellcaster, charmer, mystic ... witches are garnering quite a bit of attention lately! Aside from my very favorite witch at the moment — my heroine, Rune, from my 17th century Bavarian thriller, Forest of Whispers — are a number of toad-turning, power-wielding women who are equally enchanting and hold a special place in my heart.

My all-time favorite witches: Goth girl, Nancy Downs (Fairuza Balk) and Sarah Bailey (Robin Tunney) from the movie, The Craft.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.5 — "Rent"

BY Regina Small, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Previously: After a failed escape attempt, Claire tended to a dying man on the Gathering's hunt and earned herself a place on Dougal's traveling band of rent collectors. Jamie got knocked on the head with a sword and — YUP — took his shirt off.

Jamie Shirtless Watch 2014: Technically? 22 minutes in, but it's under less than ideal circumstances.

To the recap!

Turned toward the mountains, Claire — who's rocking an amazing fur-collared coat — recites aloud the first part of John Donne's "Present in Absence." That initial stanza is about how the only thing that can fix the pain of someone's absence is time, which has an obvious double meaning for Claire.

Claire's halfway through when she's joined by a slight, bespectacled fellow who joins in her recitation. They bond over a mutual love of Donne as Dougal's men engage in some mildly drunken roughhousing and lively swearing in Gaelic.

Turns out Claire's fellow Donne enthusiast is Ned Gowan, a lawyer who's come to help Dougal with the records and receipts. Ned's also the only one Dougal trusts with the collected rent, which he keeps in a leather pouch on his horse. Amid a coughing fit, Ned explains that, besides money, they also accept grain, cabbage, trussed fowl and goats — but NO live pigs, not this year. Man, landlords today really don't know how easy they have it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap: 2.8 — "Sex, Lies and Birthday Cake"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

To the episode! We’ll call it: The One Where (Almost) Everyone Has Sex. Ready?

Hoo boy! We open on Spike coaching Freddy through slicing up a dude in the forest. They’re still looking for a host for Bad Grandad. Freddy would like to stop killing randoms. I would like for you to do that too, Freddy! Spike agrees … they need to kill someone they know!

It’s Freya’s birthday! To celebrate, she’s walking around the house in purple lingerie! (It was recently my birthday. I kept to my usual yoga pants, to the delight of my neighbors, I’m sure.) Jo’s cooked some chocolate chip pancakes for the occasion, and there’s a big shindig later to celebrate Freya turning 30 for the first time ever. Yay, Freya! Freya’s depressed about Killian, though.

Ingrid’s at Dash’s, she’s been avoiding him and is there to apologize. Except there’s a PYT there, clearly post coital. Ingrid storms out, as is her right as a soap character.

Killian and Ava’s sexcapades have ended, as her grandma is visiting. He’s off to bartend Freya’s party, giving Abuela time to scold Ava. Ava’s been increasing the potion’s strength but Killian’s feelings for Freya keep shining through — and she’s still not pregnant.

Tommy comes over to surprise Wendy, just in time to see her shift from a cat to a woman! He’s understandably freaked. Wendy just tells him: she’s a witch. He runs away, as is his right as a Muggle.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Claudia Connor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love debut authors here at RT and we love introducing them to our readers. Today, we're shining the Debut Author Spotlight on Claudia Connor, the author behind Worth the Fall, which our reviewer says is "a beautiful story" that "reminds readers that your life is never too complicated for love." Read on to learn more about Claudia and the book!

Name: Claudia Connor

Book: Worth the Fall

Genre: Contemporary romance

Current Home: Germantown, TN

Author Icon/Favorite Author: Oh, boy, it’s impossible to choose one favorite, but if I could spend a day picking someone’s brain it would probably be Nora Roberts. I think she’s a genius. I mean hello? Roarke.

Favorite Word: "Haboob" — I recently learned this word because I have a friend who lives in AZ. And more importantly, my husband didn’t know it. First time that’s EVER happened. I was so excited I did a happy in-your-face dance. As he wins at absolutely everything, he didn’t care.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Sydney Landon continues her Danvers series with two new installments. Readers can look forward to even higher stakes and more passion.

Mystery - With Sacrifice, Philip Freeman continues his series of mysteries set in medieval Ireland, which star a nun who must work amongst Christians and druids to catch a killer. Coming in Fall 2015.

Contemporary Romance - Mary Sullivan continues her Accord, Colorado series for Harlequin’s Superromance line with at least one more book. Release date TBA.

Erotic Romance - Sylvia Day's fourth Crossfire book, Captivated by You, finally has a release date! The book will be releasing digitally and in print November 18. Gideon lovers rejoice!


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 9/5/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week being Seduced by the Heir?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Nalini Singh dishes on Rock Addiction! Get Rockin' >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Enter to win M.L. Buchman's The Night Stalker series! Good Luck >>

YOUNG ADULT: Isabel Gillies talks love, life and Starry Night. Read More >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST