RT Daily Blog

Hints For Writing Historicals From Author Sherry Thomas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Sherry Thomas offers aspiring writers several tips for giving their manuscripts what the author calls “That Touch of History.”

We often hear about world-building in terms of writing science fiction and fantasy. But writers of historical romance also world-build. We do not write about lands and peoples that have never existed, but nevertheless we are taking our readers to a vanished era that we must recreate.

You already know that. You know that to make your historical romance truly shine, you must make your period come alive. For that you have lovingly—or grudgingly, as it may be—compiled a huge dossier of research. What they ate. What they wore. Who were the king and the prime minister and so on and so forth.

But the thing is, everybody has had the tepid lemonade at Almack’s and heard the hero casually greet the Regent. What can you do to make your world-building stand out?

1) You can’t do that anymore!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 11/12/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Spend your week trying to negotiate your future now that you are Expecting the Boss's Baby?

Here's what you missed on the RT Website.

ASPIRING AUTHOR MONTH:

Married authors Clay and Susan Griffith discuss the perks and pitfalls of co-writing. Read On >>

Maggie Shayne shares advice for improving a romantic suspense manuscript. Get Her Tips >>

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker offers advice on "Author Presence" in this week's Writes & Wrongs column. Learn More >> 

Contemporary romance author Jane Porter on "writing with emotion." Check Out Her Suggestions >> 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Footnotes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two Series Romance Authors Reflect

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Two series romance authors (and best friends) Lynn Raye Harris and Kimberly Lang discuss writing for Harlequin Presents. The authors talk about what makes series romances the "most amazing books in the world", share their experiences at the RT Convention and reflect on hitting the best-seller list.

Two Series Romance Authors Reflect >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jillian Cantor On Life's Transformations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Jillian Cantor shares why she tackled the difficult subject of transitions in her November novel, The Transformation of Things


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Reader’s Reflection on Veterans Day

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Guest Blogger Kim Adams reflects on Veterans day, recognizes two veterans who inspire her and shares a very special way that you can also commemorate the efforts of the troops fighting overseas by participating in Operation Holiday Card.

November 11 has several names – Armistice Day, Remembrance Day, and Veterans Day. It commemorates the end of WWI on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month in 1918. It also honors all veterans who served and sacrificed.

In London, the Queen will lay a wreath at Whitehall.

In Ottawa, the Prime Minister will join veterans at the National War Memorial.

In Washington, DC, the President will lay a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Arlington National Cemetery.

In Hawaii, my husband will be singing with the Sounds of Aloha aboard the USS Missouri as they recognized the veterans of the Pacific.

All will be wearing the poppy pins inspired by a poem written by Canadian Lieutenant Colonel (Dr.) John McCrae during WWI:

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

I was curious about November 11, 1941 – less than a month before the attack on Pearl Harbor. From President Roosevelt’s address at Arlington National Cemetery.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Sunny, Caine, Banks and the RT Convention

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editors' brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I reveal my favorite upcoming release, ask Sunny about her next book, discuss a YA vampire series and list a few of the authors that are attending the RT Convention in April. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: What’s the last book that you read that totally knocked your socks off? – Just Curious

Morgan: That one is easy. Last week I stayed up way too late reading Maya BanksNo Place To Run. It is the second novel in her new romantic suspense series. After I finished the KGI story, I sent this email to my fellow RT editors (it was timestamped 3:30 am — I was that excited.):  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: January 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

The holiday season is always hectic, but steal some time to read the January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS for an excellent break from the madness.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Delilah Marvelle chats about her new post-Regency series, which is releasing back-to-back!

Susan Elizabeth Phillips answers RT reader questions and shares an exclusive excerpt from Call Me Irresistible.

The RT staff looks ahead and shares which books they can't wait for in 2011.

Karen Dionne shares what prompted her to take a research trip to a volcano in Chile.

It's a spotlight on YA: Discover why so many films based on YA novels never get released, what sub-genre is gaining popularity and who will be at Teen Day in L.A. during the RT BOOK LOVERS Convention.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jane Porter Offers Tips for Writing With Emotion

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Jane Porter shares some essential lessons on emotional writing for aspiring authors.

Writing women’s fiction is about writing stories that are relevant to our women readers. According to Donald Maass, in Writing the Breakout Novel, today’s readers want an authentic experience. So if many modern-day readers expect to live the story through the mind of the character, than its our job as writers is to make the experience as real as possible. We must infuse our characters with depth and emotional integrity.

Last August in New Zealand I attended an all day seminar given by Christopher Vogler. It was an amazing session and he talked about how people are always looking for meaning in life, and how we especially look for it in stories. Readers crave stories that help them sense of life. Readers want to connect emotionally and spiritually.

So how do we write emotion? How do we show rather than tell?

I.  KNOW YOUR CRAFT 

There are six different techniques for conveying emotion in fiction writing:

1. Stating emotion - The easiest means of adding emotion to a story is for the narrator to simply state the character's emotion.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jodi Thomas on Heroes and Daredevils

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jodi Thomas talks about daredevils, everyday heroes, and the man who inspired the hero of this month’s Somewhere Along the Way.

In the world of fiction we love to read about men who are bigger than life. Heroes and daredevils. I’ve found that most of the time it’s hard to define the line between the two. In life, as well as in books, there seems to be a certain kind of man who walks the knife’s edge between one and the other.

In my stories I love to create a hero who fights for what is right, who wins battles against injustice or saves the day, but there is another kind of man who takes one step further along the road. The daredevil, the man who doesn’t see, or fear death. He lives in many fields. He’s the barnstormer among pilots, the bull rider among rodeo people, the Special Forces in the military. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST