RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Black Widow By Jennifer Estep

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cover reveal time! You ready? Today we're pleased to reveal the shiny new cover of Jennifer Estep's next Elemental Assassin novel releasing this November, Black Widow. In this story, assassin Gin Blanco, aka the Spider, is framed for murder. Poor Gin, whenever she takes down one enemy, a new one crops right up!

But before we get to the cover, the book's back cover blurb:

With wicked Fire elemental Mab Monroe long gone, you’d think I could finally catch a break. But someone’s always trying to take me down, either as Gin Blanco or my assassin alter-ago. Now along comes the Spider’s new arch-nemesis, the mysteriously named M. M. Monroe, who is gleefully working overtime to trap me in a sticky web of deceit.

The thing is, I’m not the only target. I can see through the tangled threads enough to know that every bit of bad luck my friends have been having lately is no accident—and that each unfortunate “coincidence” is just one more arrow drawing ever closer to hitting the real bulls-eye. Though new to Ashland, this M. M. Monroe is no stranger to irony, trying to get me, an assassin, framed for murder. Yet, as my enemy’s master plan is slowly revealed, I have a sinking feeling that it will take more than my powerful Ice and Stone magic to stop my whole life from going up in flames.

Ready for the cover?

Ta da!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Bestselling Self-Published Books: March 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists at The New York Times, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords to put together our picks of the bestselling self-published titles of the month. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Just to Be With You by Bella Andre

Genre: Contemporary romance

Release Date: March 2014 

The Story: If you haven’t already discovered Bella’s amazing Sullivan series, now is as good a time as any to get on board!

Just to Be With You stars powerful CEO Ian Sullivan, who’s kicking butt at life — except for, you know, those pesky personal relationships. Enter smoking hot actress Tatiana, who’s been waiting for her one true love. She thinks Ian is it. Ian has other ideas …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

 

DEBUT AUTHOR

Fantasy - Kirsty Logan, winner of the Scott Prize for short fiction, is ready to enchant us with The Gracekeepers, her debut novel that combines Scottish mythology and fairy tales for a whirling story of two women whose destinies unexpectedly cross paths. Set in a world mostly covered with water, this is sure to be a stellar debut!

NEW SERIES

Erotic Romance - Jodi Ellen Malpas, bestselling author behind the This Man series, will launch a new trilogy this August. While details are scarce, readers won’t have to wait terribly long between titles: following the first book in August, the second will release in November and the third will hit shelves in February 2015! We can't wait.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 3/28/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week romancing The Prosecutor ?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are "just like us."   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vicky Dreiling's Bloopers From What A Reckless Rogue Needs

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Getting a book ready to publish is a team effort — just ask the editors! Today author Vicky Dreiling shares a peek at the book's bloopers, errors her editor caught in the first draft of her latest historical romance What A Reckless Rogue Needs. Thankfully Forever romance editor Michele Bidelspach was able to offer the author constructive — as well as amusing — feedback.

I’m really excited about What A Reckless Rogue Needs, Book two in my Sinful Scoundrels series. In book one, What A Wicked Earl Wants, I confessed that I occasionally make some rather interesting errors. Fortunately, my editor Michele Bidelspach has a great eye for spotting some of my accidental bloopers with stage direction. I like to think this is because I’m so riveted by the story that I’m carried away by my own prose. This is particularly true while I’m writing sensual scenes. I can see it all in my head. The perfect setting with candles, a cheery fire, and of course—a bed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far … Brenda Novak Takes us to Whiskey Creek

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a good small-town romance, which is why we’re always excited to spend some more time in Brenda Novak’s Whiskey Creek. This week she’s got a new title out, RT Top Pick! Come Home to Me. We figured this was the perfect time to get up to speed on all the Whiskey Creek happenings. And so Brenda tells us, The Story so Far …

The cover of When Lightening Strikes

When Lightning Strikes: In the first full-length book, we don’t start out in Whiskey Creek. We start with Gail DeMarco, who’s left Whiskey Creek to make it in the big city. She owns a PR firm in Los Angeles where she’s accumulated a roster of A-list clients, including the biggest box office hit of all—Simon O’Neal. But Simon is so busy self-destructing he won’t listen to anything she says. So she drops him—and he retaliates by taking the rest of her clients with him. Desperate, Gail makes a deal with Simon. The one thing he wants is custody of his son. In order to achieve that, he needs to marry some squeaky-clean girl who’ll drag him off to a small, obscure place like Whiskey Creek …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.2 - "Earth Skills"

BY DJ DeSmyter, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

We begin the night with Clarke, Finn, Octavia, and Monty racing through the forest, trying to escape whatever speared Jasper. Monty trips and comes face to face with a strange skeleton that is neither human nor animal. Octavia rightly says, “We’re so screwed.” They hear Jasper screaming and run back, but he’s nowhere to be found. His attackers took him. Poor Jasper…

Back on the Ark, Abby — Clarke’s Mom — checks in on how the 100 are doing, but they have to keep it all hush hush because it turns out the Chancellor hasn’t told the rest of his people what’s going on. Speaking of, the Chancellor staggers in and learns about the lack of communication and apparent deaths of some of the delinquents. (Remember, they’ve been cutting off their tracking device wristbands.) Abby tries to reassure him the kids, including his son, are fine, but we’re not sure he buys it.

Meanwhile, Wells finishes burying a couple bodies. He doesn’t look too pleased and we don’t blame him. When he returns to camp, he finds everyone acting like horny monkeys, and gets into a fight with Bellamy, who’s shirtless. (Yay, shirtlessness!). Wells tries desperately to convince Bellamy there’s too much chaos, but Bellamy doesn’t quite get it yet. Instead, he lets Wells and right hand man Murphy get in a knife fight. Clarke and Co. return to find Wells about to slice and dice Murphy’s neck. Clarke isn’t impressed. The gang gets everyone else caught up on the fact that they’re not alone and why they were sent to Earth.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Everlasting Enchantment by Kathryne Kennedy

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Bride Wore Chocolate by Shirley Jump

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces The 2014 RITA Award Finalists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Today Romance Writers of America announced the 2014 RITA Award finalists — a fantastic selection of romance authors and titles. We’re pleased to bring you a colorful visual of all the 2014 RITA awards finalists. The winners will be announced at the end of July, at the RWA Annual Conference in San Antonio.

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST