RT Daily Blog

Spooky, Cozy Pinterest Crafts: We Channel the Best Crafty October Mysteries

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy October, friends! Are you ready to carve those pumpkins and decorate your house? We at RT love Halloween, so we're ready for the season to begin. We were inspired by two upcoming cozy mysteries to get our craft on and headed over to Pinterest. (Pinterest seems to love Halloween as much as we do, no lie.) 

First up is Heather Blake's One Potion in the Grave, a Top Pick! read starring witch Carly Bell Hartwell, who runs the Little Shop of Potions. You can have some potion fun of your own at home …

These awesome potion bottles actually look easy to make! (We know we all say this about everything on Pinterest. But for real this time.)



And some Harry Potter potion bottle labels, free for you to print out at will. The Internet! What will they think of next?

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Through the Smoke

Through the Smoke by Brenda Novak

4 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Look of Love

The Look of Love by Bella Andre

3 stars

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

 

New Adult

White Hot Kiss

White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

4 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Signed Print Copy Of Nalini Singh's Rock Addiction

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

A cover of Rock Addiction

This week Nalini Singh released the latest in her new Rock Kiss series, the novella "Rock Courtship," and in case you took a major Internet break during the month of September and somehow missed the Rock Kiss boat (there's a "rock the boat" joke in there somewhere), we're offering one reader a signed print copy of Rock Addiction, the first in the series. And, this giveaway is open to international readers! To enter, fill out the widget below. A winner will be chosen tomorrow, Friday, October 3. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Finding Julia By Desiree Holt

BY , OCTOBER 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Since we're giving away a Kindle Paperwhite loaded with the book, it only makes sense that our Hump Day excerpt this week would be from Finding Julia by Desiree Holt, about a woman torn between familial responsibilities and the man of her dreams. Happy reading!

Illumination from the outside slanted in through the partially open drapes, providing enough light without turning on the lamps. The darkness made her feel more secure, insulated, but still her mouth couldn’t form any words to answer him. She was conscious of his maleness, of the feel of his body against hers, of the unfamiliar heat of desire rushing through her. Feelings she’d never known before gripped her and held her. She stood there, wanting his touch more strongly than she could admit.

“I’m going to kiss you,” he said. “We’ll take it from there.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Transmuted by Karina Cooper

BY , OCTOBER 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Paranormal/Urban Fantasy author Karina Cooper is a favorite of ours and we couldn't be more excited about today's cover reveal. Ever since 2012's Tarnished, the first in the St. Croix Chronicles and our 2012 Steampunk Novel Award winner, we've been hooked on Karina's thrilling series, which is coming to a bittersweet end next year. On January 26, 2015, Transmuted, will be the sixth and final installment. Today, we're revealing not only the cover for the new book, but also the official blurb.

In this final installment of Cherry St. Croix’s adventures, only one threat could compel the disgraced countess to return to Society — immortality.

All is not peaceful in the wake of the Midnight Menagerie’s ruin. Although the Karakash Veil has been forced to flee its stronghold, the mysterious head of the criminal organization is not content to fade away.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2015 RT Booklovers Convention Registration Is Now Open!

BY , OCTOBER 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

The wait is finally over. Registration for the 2015 RT Booklovers Convention in Dallas, TX, being held May 12-17, is officially open! You can register at rtconvention.com and email Trent@rtconvention.com with any registration questions or concerns. Please note that in order to reserve a room at the RT Convention hotel, you'll need to register for the convention first. Once you register and specify you'd like a room at the Hyatt Regency Dallas, you'll be sent a link to book your room. We can't wait to see you in Dallas!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If It Pleases the Court: Cara Connelly on Why Lawyers Make Great Romance Authors

BY , OCTOBER 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

We’re pretty sure George Clooney just married the most glamorous lawyer in the world this weekend, and now that fall TV has returned, Julianna Margulies-as-attorney-Alicia Florrik is swanning across our TV in the greatest pantsuits in creation. So our interest was understandably peaked when we heard about Cara Connelly’s latest Top Pick! contemporary The Wedding Vow, starring prosecutor Maddie St. Clair and suspected art thief Adam LeCroix. Turns out it really is raining lawyers, because Cara is an attorney herself! We happen to know a fair number of lawyers-turned-romance-authors, and we wondered what that was all about. Cara was kind enough to oblige.

***

FIVE REASONS LAWYERS MAKE GREAT ROMANCE AUTHORS

1. Lawyers expected their day jobs to be a lot more exciting.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books

BY , OCTOBER 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Death in Venice by Thomas Mann

To love what has been lost (or never had) is always tragic, even moreso if your love is not reciprocated.

Plot: An old man likes a kid too much.
Rating:
●●●●○

Decameron by Giovanni Boccaccio

We live at the mercy of fortune and nature, armed with a little "wit and the ability to narrate where these forces brought us."

Plot: To forget the plague, ten young people have a party.
Rating:
●●●●○

The Book of the Law by Aleister Crowley

Some placid mystical deity breaks the ice, then comes the Beast ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

September Seal Of Excellence

BY , SEPTEMBER 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. September 2014's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Jennifer Lohmann's Harpequin Superromance Winning Ruby Heart. This is the first category/series romance to win our Seal of Excellence Award.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Creative Heroines In October's Historical Romances

BY , SEPTEMBER 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

We’re never ones to shy away from creative endeavors and neither are the heroines you’ll get to meet in this month’s collection of new Historical romances. The leading ladies this month may be ladies of society, but they also hold creative, if not quirky, professions that make them standout heroines. Let’s take a look!


In Elizabeth Hoyt’s Darling Beast, renowned actress and playwright Lily Stump has seen better days. With her son in tow, she moves into an abandoned theater where she stumbles upon Apollo Greaves, Viscount Kilbourne, who has escaped Bedlam. As Apollo and Lily grow closer, Lily vows to help clear Apollo’s name of the crime he didn’t commit. But does Lily have the strength to write them a happy ending?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST