RT Daily Blog

Strange and Ever After: Susan Dennard Talks Series Finale and Future Projects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cover of Strange and Ever After by Susan Dennard When the last book in a series releases, it's a bittersweet time for both the author and the readers. Neither wants to truly let their favorite characters go, but it's also an exciting time because the author is most likely preparing their next project, giving readers plenty to look forward to. Today, to celebrate the release of Strange and Ever After, the last in her Something Strange and Deadly trilogy, Susan Dennard shares her thoughts on the series and gives readers a glimpse of what's coming next.

Strange and Ever After — there couldn’t be a more appropriate title for the finale of this series. Eleanor and the Spirit-Hunters have been through so much, but in the end, they’ve stayed true to who they are.

Or who they’ve become in Eleanor’s case.

And wow, did Eleanor Fitt grow. From a teenage girl who wanted nothing more than her mother’s, her brother’s and her society’s approval, she became a woman who makes her own choices — good or ill — and faces the consequences unflinching and unafraid.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Julia London's Guide To San Antonio

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you're in San Antonio for RWA, you might appreciate an insider's guide on what to do, what to see and, most importantly, where to eat. And what better guide than romance author and San Antonio native Julia London? Today the author shares her favorite go-to spots for fun in the Alamo City.

If you’re like a lot of people I meet, the only thing you know about San Antonio is the battle of the Alamo, and you probably think the actual Alamo is a lot bigger than it really is. You’ll see for yourself: The Alamo is a short walk from the conference hotel, and a whole lot smaller than Hollywood has made it.

It seems to me San Antonio doesn’t get the buzz other cities in Texas get (hello, Austin), but it is truly one of our most unique cities. I love the laid-back, Latin American, tropical vibe. But at the same time, the city is also progressively urban. In town for a day or a week, here are a few suggestions for what to see and do:

Mission Concepcion

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 7/22/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

TRAPPED AT THE ALTAR

"Feather displays her talent for writing strong, well-developed characters and mixes them with sizzling sensuality, political intrigue and trust. Sit back and enjoy this captivating read."

THE GAME AND THE GOVERNESS

"Writing from a male point of view, Noble presents an entirely different way of seeing a romance evolve, as a rather vapid young man becomes a hero. The charming characters will sweep readers away into the story."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT At RWA 2014 - How To Find Us

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RWA logo

This week romancelandia is descending on San Antonio for the annual RWA national conference — including some of the RT staff. And we want to meet you!

Features Editor Mala Bhattacharjee and Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small — who represent RT's magazine faction — are currently accepting pitches for the January 2015 issue through the spring. Mala is not accepting formal appointments and says, "people can feel free to stalk me everywhere but the bathroom." You can find her on Twitter and contact her via email. Regina is accepting formal appointments with publishers and agents, and authors should feel free to email her and/or say hello in person. You can also find her on Twitter.

Elisa Verna, our Website Director, will be attending her first RWA and is accepting appointments with everyone. The best way to contact her is via Twitter and email. She also loves random hellos and spontanious margarita dates.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Never Have I Ever: Historical Romance Edition

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a good round of Never Have I Ever as much as the next person — after all, learning a person's secrets is always fun. But when you play with a group of feisty historical heroines with wild tales to tell, the game gets even better. Which heroine has or hasn't turned down a proposal? Has Gillian really dressed in men's clothing? Let's find out:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap: 2.3 - "The Old Man and the Key"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

All right, it’s time for more Witches! This week: some slightly confusing backstory and a shirtless (but bloody) Freddy! 

We start with a flashback, the first of the season, if you can believe it. Jo, dressed in trippy white robes, comes through the portal, sans Freddy. Back in real time, Jo covers a sleeping Freddy with a blanket, discovering the symbol branded on his chest. Jo rushes to tell Wendy: it’s the king’s symbol, which Wendy exposits is the ultimate symbol of loyalty to bad granddad. Jo admits to having suspicions about her son. Never fear, our girl Wendy has plan!


You know you missed the crazy flashback wardrobe.

source

Freya, looking smoking in a blue bustier — because that’s what I wear when I fly, sure — is ready to chase after her man. She’s saying goodbye to Ingrid, who’s packing. They remind us that Dash has powers, and Freya says “shit!” “Did she just say shit? They can do that?” my husband asks. Indeed! Ingrid wants to help Dash, Freya wants to leave him alone. Freya follows a packing Ingrid into the hall closet, where they discover a door. It’s locked. Jo lies badly, telling them it’s just leftover from the remodel. The girls clearly don’t believe her. “Why are you being weird?” Freya asks her mother, speaking for all of us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Mainstream - In Bob Prohel’s debut, Unstable Molecules, the former bookseller tells the story of four people whose lives cross paths in an alternate universe of comic-cons. Readers will meet former sci-fi TV star in the midst of a mysterious cross-country road trip. Coming soon in 2016.

Historical Fiction - In Alyssa Palombo’s The Violinist of Venice, passion and music come together as composer and priest Antonio Vivaldi and his secret mistress let their love continue to grow. Set in Venice, this heartwrenching tale is sure to leave readers breathless.

NEW SERIES

New Adult - Surrender, the first in Violetta Rand’s Devil’s Den series, stars a sexy MIT graduate who returns to his Texas hometown and meets an alluring college student who works as an exotic dancer.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 7/18/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week with the Million-Dollar Maverick?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

PARANORMAL ROMANCE: We breakdown Alexandra Ivy's latest cover! Break It Down >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Get What You Need >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Mala shares her love for recent Loveswept titles! Read More >>

SCIENCE FICTION: Read our bonus Q&A with John Scalzi. Keep Reading >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon Launches Kindle Unlimited

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

In its continued attempts to win the Iron Throne of Booklandia, Amazon has formally announced their ebook and audiobook subscription service, Kindle Unlimited. Rumors of the service had been swirling for the past couple of weeks, and the service officially launched this morning.

For $9.99 a month, Kindle users can access 600,000 Kindle ebooks and over 2,000 audiobooks from Amazon’s Audible service. Kindle Unlimited subscribers will be able to access up to 10 books at a time. Titles offered include The Hunger Games series, Tolkein’s classic The Lord of the Rings trilogy and other contemporary bestsellers. However, titles from the "Big Five" (Simon and Schuster, Harper Collins, Penguin Random House, Macmillan and Hachette) are not included, not a big surprise given the current dispute between Amazon and Hachette.

While the service is currently only available to U.S. residents, those eligible will have the option of signing up for a free 30-day trial and a free 90-day audiobook trial. Additionally, readers do not need a Kindle device to use the service. Readers can continue using devices that support Kindle's free reading apps, including tablets and mobile phones.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST