RT Daily Blog

Back By Popular Demand: Printable Monthly Book Ratings!

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

When we redesigned the RT website, we added many new features to the site in our quest to help you "read smarter!" We've expanded our online coverage, broken out the genres to bring you more content and updated the site's look. Now we are thrilled to announce that one of your favorite features from the old site is back.

Lately we've been getting a lot of mail asking about the downloadable PDF list of the current month's book ratings. We heard that this was the list that many readers relied on to take to the bookstore to stock up on reading material. You asked and we listened! Now the complete list of the current month's book ratings is available to everyone. Just check out the sidebar on RT's home page to download the January list or click here >>

Do you have any other suggestions for other ways we can improve the site and help you "read smarter!"? I love hearing from you, feel free to contact me at Morgan@RTBOOKREVIEWS.com.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Three new mysteries each get a *Web Exclusive Review*!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

The multi-faceted mystery genre is out in full force this January. In the January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine there were tales of suspense, paranormal occurrences, amateur sleuths and much more. And three other diverse January mysteries are each getting a *Web Exclusive Review* today!

Lois Winston starts her new series featuring amateur sleuth Anastasia Pollack in Assault with a Deadly Glue Gun. Travel back in time to solve a mystery about The Attenbury Emeralds with Lord Peter Wimsey and his wife, written by Jill Paton Walsh. And finally it is an embarrassment of mystery novella riches in Joyce Carol Oats' latest anthology, Give Me Your Heart.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Tiger's Curse - a January Top Pick!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

"It is a book J.K. Rowling wishes she wrote ..." raves RT Reviewer Meera Patel about Colleen Houck's YA series starter, Tiger's Curse, a January RT Top Pick! 

 

Tiger's Curse, Houck's debut, hooked Patel with its fast-paced adventure about teen Kelsey who gets a chance to travel to India with a tiger, only to learn that he is a prince cursed to spend eternity in animal form. Tiger's Curse will hit shelves this Tuesday but right now you can enter to win your own copy in our special Tiger's Curse Giveaway.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
71COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview with Jennifer Greene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jennifer Greene has been writing tales of romance since the early 1980s. In the past twenty years she has published over 80 novels under three different names, and is still going strong today! Not only is she nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice Award this year, Carina Press is re-releasing her early as e-books. Now RT’s Whitney Sullivan catches up with the author to get a unique perspective on the many ways the genre has evolved and get a special look at some of the re-releases from Carina Press that have received *Web Exclusive Reviews* on the RT site this season.  

Whitney Sullivan: Carina Press is re-releasing several of your best-selling stories from the eighties; which tale are you most excited to see back in reader’s hands? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Brockmann, Genre-Jumpers, Romantic Suspense Picks And More!

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I share inside info on Suzanne Brockmann's next Troubleshooter novel, investigate the usability of the iPad overseas, discuss my new favorite genre and more! Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: I am totally addicted to Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooters series. What can you tell me about the next book in the series? - Nan

Morgan: Oh, I definitely have the inside scoop on this one! Even though it will release at the end of March, I have already had a chance to read Ms. Brockmann's Breaking the Rules, book 16 in the Troubleshooters series. Here's what I can tell you - since you are a fan, you will absolutely love this story. (I'm sorry to say that newcomers to the series may want to start with the beginning story since there is so much going on, it can be hard to keep up without the proper background.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Avocato adds to her popular Pauline Sokol mystery series

BY Faygie Levy, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

If you're one of the many who enjoyed Lori Avocato's Pauline Sokol mysteries about a nurse turned fraud investigator this is your lucky day. Avocato has written and self-published the seventh adventure in the series, Dead Weight. It is available on her website, LoriAvocato.com for $7. Back for more fun with Pauline are Jagger, Goldie and friends. Also, look for a series epilogue to be e-released shortly. To learn more about the previous books in the series, check out Avocato's RT page for a list of her previous releases.

For more on authors self-publishing their own stories check out the February issue of RT Book Reviews on sale now.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Cathryn Fox

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Erotic romance author Cathryn Fox has been heating up readers' dreams with her paranormal series, Eternal Pleasure. Now get an insider's look at the gated community of Serene, New England and the creatures that make their homes there. In this author interview Fox shares details about the first three stories in the series and offers her advice for readers new to paranormal erotic romance!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your current series, Eternal Pleasure, is set in the community of Serene, New Hampshire where all sorts of paranormal creatures live. So why does a community with the name of ‘Serene’ host witches, demons, vampires, lycans and shape shifters?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Marie Bostwick

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

With the lingering frustrations from the storm that crippled New York City last week, the RT editors have spent a lot of time indoors pursuing their various crafty hobbies. Here's a never-before-seen video interview with one of our favorite crafting mavens, mainstream author Marie Bostwick. She and RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus chat about quilting and the role that it plays in her latest novel, A Thread So Thin

Marie Bostwick on crafting A Thread So Thin >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

VICKY’S GUIDE TO WRITING AND PUBLISHING A NOVEL THE ACCIDENTAL WAY

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

From inspiration to publication, debut author Vicky Dreiling shares how she "accidentally" ended up writing her Regency romance, How to Marry a Duke!

How to Conjure Up an Idea for a Novel

Watch TV. No, I’m not joking. One night, I happened upon the reality show The Bachelor. While I’d never watched the show before, I was riveted and knew by the end of the episode that I had to write a Regency-era version. I invented a hostess for this mad courtship, Miss Tessa Mansfield, an infamous and wealthy matchmaker. Then I created the most eligible bachelor in England, Tristan the drop-dead gorgeous Duke of Shelbourne. 

How to Write a Regency-set Bachelor Novel

First, I thought about famous bachelors such as Prince William (who is now off the market, but I digress). What do these coveted bachelors have in common? Every single female on the planet is determined to land them. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lawrence Watt-Evans Is Inspired By...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Lawrence Watt-Evans transports readers to a world in which the struggle between magic and law has forced a good man to become an outlaw hero. Now the author shares the events that inspired him to create his own version of this classic literary figure. 

My recent novel, Above His Proper Station, is the second half of the story that began a year earlier in A Young Man Without Magic, and that story was the result of several conversations I had with myself and my editor, the late Brian Thomsen, back in 2007. I had just finished a trilogy called the Annals of the Chosen that turned out to be much less fun to write than I’d expected – which doesn’t mean it wasn’t fun to read, of course, but I didn’t much enjoy writing it. I wanted my next project to be very different, and to be something I would enjoy writing.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST