RT Daily Blog

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Paranormal Romance - In Valhalla’s Vikings, Asa Marie Bradley’s debut novel, a headstrong woman must join forces with an immortal Viking King and his band of warriors in order to keep Loki from carrying out his villainous plans.

NEW SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Lauren Layne’s Frisk Me, the first her upcoming contemporary romance New York’s Finest series, stars an NYPD Officer who winds up in the spotlight after a heroic act goes viral. Sparks fly when a skeptical reporter tries to discover the truth behind the good deed. Look for this sizzling series starter in July 2015.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 6/27/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week trying To Catch a Camden ?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Grace Burrowes discusses rewriting societal roles. Keep Reading >>

MAINSTREAM: DJ breaks down Lauren Oliver's cover for Rooms. Check It Out >>

EROTICA: Read this week's Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Mechanics are super hot right now. Find Out Why >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rewriting Societal Rules With The Heroine From The Captive by Grace Burrowes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a historical heroine who's not afraid to bend the rules of courtship? In Grace Burrowes's The Captive, hero Christian, Duke of Mercia, is a traditional fellow, while heroine Gilly, the Countess of Greendale, thinks he could use a few pointers. Today the author tells us how Gilly sets Christian straight.

Christian, Duke of Mercia, was raised as the heir to any great title would be, with a firm grasp of the rules of courting. He’s been married, so he knows those rules lead to a proper conclusion at a proper altar with a pretty, smitten lady wearing a pretty, expensive ring of his choosing. He relies on the tried and true procedure when pursuing his second duchess, Gilly, the widowed Countess of Greendale, but the results suggest his rules need revising.

Rule No. 1: Propose on bended knee.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

World Cup Fever: Six Soccer Romances to Heat Up Your TBR Pile

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying things have been heating up thanks to the World Cup. People are excited, Twitter’s all abuzz and there are hot soccer players on our screens left and right. (And if you’ve been living under a rock these past few weeks, trust us, they’re super hot.) And if the World Cup isn’t enough, here’s a rundown of soccer romances that deserve a spot on your ereaders. All books are available as ebooks only unless otherwise noted.


Striker by Michelle Betham - Local TV Sports reporter and daughter to an ex-professional soccer player, Amber Sullivan knows better than to get involved with a player. But when she snags an exclusive story on Ryan Fisher, one of the hottest and most talented players, she finds her resolve wavering.

Buy it now: Amazon | Kobo


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Suzanne and Melanie Brockmann Take On YA

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Back in May, while we partied it up at the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention, we sat down with bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann and her daughter, Melanie Brockmann, for an interview in which the Brockmann's discussed their upcoming YA novel, Night Sky. This series opener is set in the same futuristic world as Suzanne's Born to Darkness. Watch the video below to hear Suzanne and Melanie talk about what it's like writing together, their creative processes and what readers can expect to see in the new series. Take a look:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Luckiest Lady in London by Sherry Thomas

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Barefoot in the Sand by Roxanne St. Claire

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Rooms by Lauren Oliver

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

In our Cover Breakdowns feature, I've been taking closer looks at recently revealed covers that have caught my eye. Today, I examine the cover for Lauren Oliver's upcoming adult novel, Rooms, due out on September 23. As a major Lauren Oliver fan, I'm super excited to read Rooms and I'm rather in love with the cover. Take a look:

Isn't it pretty?

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family — bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton and unforgiving daughter Minna — have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Carly Phillips's Dare to Surrender Trailer Reveal and Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let's be honest - trailers are the best part about seeing a movie in the theater. So it's only natural that our trailer love carries over to our one true love: books. Today, we have an exclusive reveal for the trailer for Carly Phillips's Dare to Surrender, which is part of the collaborative Invitation to Eden series and the third book in her own Dare to Love series.

Let's start with seeing what this book's all about:

After ending a relationship to a cheating, domineering man, Isabelle Masters takes off in her leased Mercedes, only to be arrested for grand theft and hauled to a local police station. To her surprise, she is rescued by the most unlikely person possible, Gabriel Dare, a man she’s been attracted to for far too long. Gabe offers Isabelle freedom along with an invitation to Eden, an exclusive island resort where everything and anything is possible. 

Although Gabe yearns to possess Isabelle, he knows all too well he must fight his primitive need to bind her to him, and instead help bring out the independent woman she yearns to become – or risk losing her for good. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Tenth of December by George Saunders

Short moral dilemmas whose solutions are in their own language: erratic, changeable and incommunicable. A man turns to KnightLyfe®, a medicine that allows someone to assume the speech of a  courteous cavalier and reveals the betrayal of a damsel colleague.

Plot: Tragedies in moral, colorful languages.
Rating: 84 out of 100

The Incal by Alejandro Jodorowsky and Moebius


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST