RT Daily Blog

Inside The Issue: April 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

The April issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon, and here are some of the stories you can look forward to reading ...

Elisabeth Naughton shares a look at the myths and legends of her Eternal Guardians series, J.R. Ward talks about her 10th Black Dagger Brotherhood book and we remember Penny Jordan with a tribute from her friends and colleagues. Aspiring authors get some advice from Lori Foster, and we investigate how some authors are successfully straddling traditional and self-publishing. In Teen Scene, we introduce you to a Medieval assassin nun (that's right!). And, then, take a look at some of the authors who will be at the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention!

There's all this and more between the pages of the April 2012 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peek at the April issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cover Trend: Hair Styles Times Of Crisis

BY Morgan Doremus, FEBRUARY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

If I were fighting for the fate of human kind, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to make it to the hair salon as frequently as these Urban Fantasy heroines must for the elaborate dos they sport on the covers of several recent and upcoming releases. Most of these colors aren’t found in nature, and I don’t know about you but I have enough problems keeping my mane under control on a daily basis, so I’m pretty sure that if I learned I was humanity’s last hope, I would be giving myself some sort of bob or pixie and calling it a day!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Shannon K. Butcher's Newest Alpha Hero

BY Dawn Crowne, FEBRUARY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Alpha men may make some of the best romance heroes, but let’s face it, these characters can be jerks. A lot of the time, alphas heroes are written as dominate, overbearing and bossy. Sure their protectiveness and bad boy qualities are great in the fantasy world of a book, but in real life this kind of attention could drive a girl nuts.

However, in the new paranormal e-novella, “Bound By Vengeance” by Shannon K. Butcher, the author’s alpha hero is pitch perfect. Liam Lann is a true warrior, a Sentinel who has been fighting for hundreds of years against the Synestryn. But Liam’s time is almost up. He can no longer contain the magic that courses through his body, which makes him dangerous. Without a mate, Sentinels eventually become so ravaged by pain of their magic that they seek their own death.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Stops By Lady Jane's Salon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

No group deserves the title “romance community” more than those who frequent Lady Jane’s Salon, NYC’s only romance reading series. For the past three years, Lady Jane’s founders Maya Rodale, Hope Tarr, Leanna Renee Hieber and Ron Hogan have welcomed romance authors and readers for a monthly get together to celebrate the genre. And while visitors may see new faces in the crowd, or may be a new face themselves, everyone is surrounded by friends, connected through of the shared love of romance. There is never a lack of conversation, never an awkward moment, because there is always something to talk about — books!

Last Monday’s anniversary event was kicked off by historical romance author Lauren Willig. Lauren is no stranger to Lady Jane’s; in fact the salon’s audience has heard the award-winning author read from several different books in her Pink Carnation series. This time the audience was wowed as Lauren launched into an excerpt from her brand new release The Garden Intrigue.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Meredith Duran On Her Upcoming Release At Your Pleasure

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Meredith Duran is one of the freshest new voices in historical romance. With several RT Top Pick! ratings and RT award nominations already under her belt, fans are eagerly anticipating the release of Duran's sixth book, At Your Pleasure, next month. Today the author shares with us some details about the revenge-seeking hero, Adrian, his hostage, heroine Lady Lenora, and how these two enemies become lovers.

***

Adrian Ferrers is a man seeking revenge. What can you tell us about his situation? 

I was in a dramatic frame of mind when I began writing At Your Pleasure. I wanted to tell the story of a truly epic love — and a star-crossed couple who, in the world’s eyes, absolutely could not be together. My aim was to capture that dreadful, wonderful, intoxicating feeling that comes of yearning desperately for someone whom you know in your bones you were meant for — but who is destined to never be yours. As a result, Nora and Adrian’s story is dark, intense, and (I think) the most romantic book I’ve written.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Paranormal Fiction - Dracula fans delight, Linda Mercury is embarking on a new series which will feature a female Dracula that has a bi-sexual fallen angel for a lover. Dracula's Secret certainly sounds like the type of story that Anne Rice and Laurell K. Hamilton fans will want to sink their fangs into!

Fantasy - With his next project, Brian McClellan will whisk readers back to the world of 18th-century Europe. Readers can expect all the trappings of the time — including angry peasants and an active guillotine. The books’ hero is a man who must rely on a group of mages, and the son who hates him, to keep his head in this dangerous climate. The first book, Promise of Blood will be on shelves in Summer 2013.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 2/10/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week eating Just Desserts?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Jo Beverley on one of her favorite time periods. Discover The Georgian Era >>

YOUNG ADULT: Jennifer Lynn Barnes talks paranormal YA trends. What Does She Think? >>

PARANORMAL: Find out why you'll fall for Joey W. Hill's new hero. Get The Details >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Philippa Gregory On Her Debut YA Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Award winning author Philippa Gregory is best known for her entrancing historical fiction novels that take readers from the Tudor period in England through the 17th century, and beyond. This year, Gregory has the fourth in the Cousins' War releasing, however, fans will be thrilled to learn that the author is also embarking on a new adventure by publishing her debut Young Adult novel in May. Gregory's upcoming novel is a medieval-set story of adventure and romance. Today the author gives RT BOOK REVIEWS an exclusive look inside the story, introduces us to a few of the key characters and shares what it was like to write her first novel for a younger audience. 

***

So the obvious first question is, when will your Young Adult series be set?

1453

What made this story a good fit for the YA market (as opposed to adult historical fiction/fiction)?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Anna Randol's A Secret in Her Kiss

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney are Dishing about author Anna Randol’s debut romance novel A Secret In Her Kiss. The story sweeps readers to exotic Turkey in 1815, where academic heroine Mari Sinclair finds herself living in the middle of the crumbling Ottoman Empire. Working with her father’s people, the British, and her mother’s people, the Greeks, Mari does a delicate balancing act as she secretly helps fight for Greek Independence by acting as a spy for the British. Her skilled artwork hides plans about the Ottoman encampments, but someone knows Mari’s secret and will do whatever it takes to quiet her for good. Enter, Major Bennett Prestwood, a dedicated soldier who has been forced to take on one last mission before returning home to England: protect Mari whatever the cost.

Morgan: I think what got my attention most about A Secret In Her Kiss is the fact that the book gives readers a very traditional romance in a very different way.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Intentions of the Earl by Rose Gordon

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Project Daddy by Kate Perry

Buy For $2.51 >>

 

Young Adult

Sleepers by Megg Jensen

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST