RT Daily Blog

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 2/1/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


RT Exclusive: Laura Moore's Radcliffe Sisters Discuss Jordan's New Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Laura Moore's contemporary western Rosewood Trilogy is equally driven by the Radcliffe sisters' relationships with each other and the romances that these women find along the way. This month the series second, Believe in Me, features the middle sister Jordan who must learn to love again. In honor of the Radcliffe's special bond, the author shares an RT-exclusive scene between Margot and Jade. And then don't miss your chance to meet Jordan's new man in the excerpt of Believe in Me at the end of this post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 1/28/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week facing Danger in the Desert?

Here's what you missed on the RT site.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Go inside the Gilded Age of Laura Lee Guhrke’s new novel. Read the Excerpt >>

MYSTERY: Carol K. Carr’s heroine, India Black, is a tart-tongued brothel owner! Check Her Out >>

EROTICA: Learn how Kate Pearce keeps the details of her series straight. Read More >>

MAINSTREAM: Donna Ball’s heroine picks up the pieces after happily-ever-after fails. Find Out Why >>

INSPIRATIONAL: Which author was inspired by Lori Wick’s tales? Discover Who >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Heroine's Profile

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Isabel Sharpe reveals her heroine's dating dilemma, and the unique solution that Candy comes up with in this month's series romance, Turn Up the Heat!

Have you ever tried to write an online dating profile? I have. It’s not easy, especially when you’re not a person with simple moods and tastes. Here’s what mine could be like:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beat Back The Mid-Day Blues With Diana Pharaoh Francis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Earlier today we gave you a chance to share a coffee break with Caris Roane. Now it’s mid-afternoon and we hope that this check-in on Diana Pharaoh Francis' Horngate Witches will energize you to power through the rest of the mid-day doldrums!

Hi everyone! I hope your holidays have been wonderful and I want to wish you an extraordinary and healthy New Year. 
 
I’ve been thinking about the holidays at Horngate. Because it is a place of witches, the solstice would be the day of celebration. At the same time, many people who live there are non-magical and come from a variety of religious backgrounds. Add in the Shadowblades and Sunspears who are equally diverse, and you have an extravaganza of religious cultures. But I imagine that everything in the end would revolve around who they are now and what they’ve become—members of a covenstead and a sprawling, frequently dysfunctional family. 
 
On the solstice eve they would gather together in the Great Hall, as outside the wind howls and snow fills the air in a dense whirl of white chaos. Inside, the anneau floor is lit and the ceiling and walls is decorated with flowers, garlands, holly, herbs, witchlights, strands of silver, gold and copper. Overhead iron chandeliers full of beeswax candles shower down gold beams of light. The scents of rosemary, frankincense, myrrh, cedar and sage permeate the air. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take A Coffee Break With Caris Roane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Spend a few moments talking vampires with this paranormal author ...

Hi, Everyone! Caris Roane here!

I must confess this is absolutely one of my favorite things—talking about paranormal romance and my love of vampires. First, I have to thank the writers-who-have-gone-before for inspiring me to write my own vamp series: Sherrilyn Kenyon, Gena Showalter, Lara Adrian and J.R. Ward to name a few. Kresley Cole has also written one of my fav vamps in Sebastian! Also, Laurell K. Hamilton has done a brilliant job with her vampires and if you’ve caught any of my other blogs you know I’m a serious Jean-Claude fan!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Stephanie Perkins' Top Ten Tips For Visiting Paris - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Stephanie PerkinsAnna and the French Kiss, Anna’s parents ship her to boarding school in France. This YA tale about love, cinema, and France was rated an RT Top Pick! Says the reviewer, “Perkins brings France to life in a way that can only be seen through the eyes of a teen. Anna's reactions absolutely ring true, especially her worries about accidentally offending the Paris natives.” However, Anna may have found life in Paris a little bit less intimidating if she had been armed with Stephanie Perkins' Top Ten Things You Should Know About France Before Visiting! After the post check out the *Web Exclusive Review* and enter to win your own copy of this Parisian adventure.

When Anna Oliphant—the heroine of my novel—is shipped to Paris for her senior year of high school, she is afraid. She doesn’t speak the language, she’s familiar with the stereotypes, and she’s under the impression that the French do NOT like Americans.

Her worries are unfounded.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dear Jane: Ten Tips For New E-Book Readers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

***

Hi Jane, I'd like to talk some basic care and keeping of my new e-reader. What are the essentials for keeping my brand new reader alive and working well?

- Rhyan

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Science Fiction Icon L.E. Modesitt Jr. Is Coming To This Year's RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to announce that best-selling author L.E. Modesitt Jr. is attending the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION!

This multi-award winning author has won fans for his works of science fiction and fantasy. Now those attending the convention will have the chance to hear him speak on the science fiction genre panel, Creating Out Of This World Science Fiction.

The author will also be signing books at the Saturday bookfair which is open to the public. Fans who are coming just for the bookfair should bring their treasured copies of his books and he will autograph them. All attendees will also be able to purchase Modesitt Jr.'s latest books at the bookfair.

Finally on Sunday, conventioneers will enjoy a more intimate chance to meet the author during our Social Sunday sessions, where he will be participating at the author speed meeting event

More about the authors attending this year's convention >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Steve Hockensmith Ditches His Prelude

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Steve Hockensmith's latest addition to his mystery series Holmes on the Range with this month's World's Greatest Sleuth! The novel follows the adventure of two brothers in the late 1800s, that travel to the first-ever World's Fair in order to enter the competition for the title of the World's Greatest Sleuth. Enjoy this exclusive look at the original prologue of Hockensmith's new release.

I admit it: I’m a cheater. Not at cards or Monopoly. Not on my taxes. And dear Lord -- I’m not talking about cheating on my wife! How could you think such a thing of me?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST