RT Daily Blog

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 5/3/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance  
  
 My Favorite Countess
by Vanessa Kelly

“The strong protagonists, deep emotional intensity and rising sexual tension all make the fast-paced romance memorable.”
  One Whisper Away
by Emma Wildes

“The first in Wildes’ Ladies in Waiting series is a lush and highly sensual love story.”
       
 Follow My Lead
by Kate Noble

“The appealing characters and pacing showcase Noble’s writing talents.”
  Warrior of the Isles
by Debbie Mazzuca

“Mazzuca has created a delightful blend of magic, adventure and romance."
       

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


We Interview Historical Romance Author Kate Noble About Her Fourth Regency Romance And More!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Kate Noble has just released her fourth Regency romance with this month’s Follow My Lead, which takes her characters across Europe on a quest that turns unexpectedly dangerous. Today we chat with the author for an insider look at Follow My Lead and where she’s headed next!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In Follow My LeadWinnifred “Winn” Crane is attempting to gain membership to the all-male Historical Society when she meets Jason. How did this Regency miss originally become interested in such scholarly pursuits?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kevin Hearne On The Deep Themes In His New Urban Fantasy Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kevin Hearne gives readers a special look at his new urban fantasy series, The Iron Druid Chronicles. Learn about the serious themes that are hiding out in this series that unites different ancient gods and classic myths into one fast-paced adventure!

Hounded was written as much for my own entertainment as anyone else’s—and I certainly did not intend for it to be “deep” and fraught with the kind of gravitas that makes the jowls of college professors quiver portentously. But now that I’m a couple of years removed from writing it, I’m capable of putting on my English teacher hat and making up some pseudo-academic stuff that is entertaining in its own nerdy way.

Though I make no claims to literature with my series, there are some serious themes that are entirely intentional, such as the idea that only love and friendship can anchor a long-lived person to his or her humanity. A broader look at humanity’s struggle with faith vs. reason arose unintentionally, however, in the process of building the world.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dorothy St. James On Creating Complete Cozy Characters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, how do you keep your cozy characters sane as they stumble over corpse after corpse? And how does a character go from unlucky body-finder to eagle eyed amateur sleuth? It is a daunting prospect but you aren’t on your own with these dilemmas. Today cozy author Dorothy St. James (aka Dorothy McFalls) shares some of the tricks of the trade that she learned from four fellow mystery authors!

“If Jessica Fletcher walks into a room, run! Someone is about to be murdered, and you sure as heck don’t want it to be you.”

Growing up, this was a running joke in my family.

The idea that an amateur sleuth/mystery novelist would become involved with a murder investigation week after week grew all the more unbelievable with each season of Murder She Wrote until one night my dad exclaimed that Jessica Fletcher was a serial killer who cleverly framed scores of innocent dupes.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Graphic Novel Author Laura Lee Gulledge

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Graphic novel author Laura Lee Gulledge gives readers an insider look at her debut work Page by Paige. This story which got 4 1/2 stars from RT's Dawn Crowne, follows a young teen trying to find a place for herself in New York City. In this video interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus the author shares her thoughts about the way that art can help people push through many different types of emotional issues, including the lonliness that heroine Page faces in Page by Paige.

Laura Lee Gulledge talks about Page by Paige >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of Page by Page >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Mystery - Brad Parks’ next two books following fictional investigative journalist Carter Ross have just been purchased by Minotaur.

NEW SERIES ALERT

Paranormal - Beginning in 2012, debut author Rachel Graves will hit the scene with her Dead trilogy. The three stories are titled Waking up Dead, Hollywood Dead and Deadly Revelations. Graves’ heroine is a war veteran, who must deal with otherworldly creatures including witches and vampires.

Young Adult - Sarah Rees Brennan is releasing a gothic romance trilogy that starts with Listen for a Whisper. The story revolves around a young journalist who starts to investigate her small hometown and uncovers a multitude of secrets, including murder. Release date TBA.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kicking Off The Dark Days Of Supernatural Giveaways!

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

This summer YA fans can celebrate their passion for everything paranormal with HarperCollins' The Dark Days of Supernatural tour. From May through the first week of July the publisher is releasing seven very different paranormal stories from authors Aprilynne Pike, Ellen Schreiber, Kim Harrison and four fantastic debut authors: Veronica Roth, Amy Plum, Josephine Angelini and Tara Hudson.

You can get in on the action all this month by entering to win your very own Dark Days of Supernatural tote bag full of all these great stories here on the RT website. We will also be giving readers an insider look at these books with messages from the authors and excerpts from their new novels.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
41COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Robert Masello Talks About Genre Crossing With His New Novel The Medusa Amulet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robert Masello's fast-paced thriller takes Scholar David Franco on a quest for a Renaissance mirror that may carry the secret of eternal life. The story combines elements of mystery, magic and history to stunning effect. Today the author chats with us about what inspired him to create this story that crosses genres with such panache.

This morning, I got the e-mail I have always been waiting for. It came from Morgan Doremus, the editor of this website, and it invited me to contribute to this blog.

I feel like a man dying of thirst who’s suddenly been offered a tall, frosty beer.

For years, I have been writing books like The Medusa Amulet, which has just come out, and begged my publisher to reach out to the romance reading audience. My books have traditionally been billed as thrillers, or paranormal adventures, and because they do have plenty of action and scares, they are often marketed to a male audience. And trust me, I’m happy to have any audience at all.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Caddyshack Inspired Jen Lancaster To Write A Mainstream Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month memoir author Jen Lancaster moves into mainstream fiction with If You Were Here. Today the author shares why she proudly proclaims, "I blame Carl Spackler" for her first work of fiction.

Have you ever witnessed something so meaningful or momentous that the memory of it stays with you the rest of your life? There are those among us who’ll never forget the footage of Kennedy being shot or the Challenger exploding. Some people have seen miracles unfold, like Captain Sullivan’s heroic Hudson River landing or the Chilean mine rescue. Others will always remember observing tiny but nonetheless profound acts of kindness.

For me, that moment involved watching the movie Caddyshack.

I had no idea that one silly film from thirty years ago had the potential to impact my adult life. And yet because of Caddyshack, I almost ended up making the most expensive mistake of my life when buying my first home.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 4/29/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week on vacation enjoying Surf, Sea and a Sexy Stranger

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Read the excerpt of Madeline Hunter’s latest tale. Go Between The Covers >>

URBAN FANTASY: Mark Del Franco on the hero of Uncertain Allies. Learn More >>

EROTIC ROMANCE: Kimberly Dean gets ghostly. Check It Out >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Emily March on re-kindling love in her new novel. Get The Details >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST