RT Daily Blog

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Keeping Your Historical Romances Fresh

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

This afternoon historical romance writers (and a sprinkling of readers, too) got a treat with the workshop "Tackling Historical Realities in Today's Historicals". Captained by Renee Bernard, the panel was also made up of Victoria Alexander, Cheryl Holt, Julianne MacLean and Sophia Nash. From the glittering ball rooms of the ton to the harsh beauty of the highlands, all five of these authors are renowned for bringing their historical romances to life with detailed settings and characters who act according to the social norms of the time. 

We were thrilled to be able to catch up with Captain Renee Bernard for a quick chat about what inspired her (and her band of merry authors) to create this workshop:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Mixing It Up At The Intergalactic Bar & Grille

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tonight science fiction fans, readers and authors all gathered at the Intergalactic Bar & Grille! Hosts Linnea Sinclair, Jade Lee, Janet Miller (aka Cricket Starr), Karen Miller, Marcella Burnard and Nathalie Gray embraced all things science fiction as the inspiration for some out-of-this-world treats and games for all that attended. 

During the party, the hosts gave us some sneak peeks on what we can expect from them in the future.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Being Un-Human In Paranormal Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

When it comes to the world of paranormal romance, readers know that they can will be able to find anything and everything that could go bump in the night within the pages of these books. But how do authors keep these characters fresh? At today’s paranormal panel readers got an insider look at how genre experts Angela Knight, Shana Abe, Kate Douglas, Jacquelyn Frank and Erin Quinn make their magical beings seem so real. 

We got a chance to chat with the authors about which otherworldly characters are their top creature choice and how each author makes their special characters come to life:

Angela Knight shares that her choice was easy to make. “My favorite otherworld creature to write is the vampire. I've been fascinated by vamps since I was a teenager in the late 1970s, when I read Interview With a Vampire by Anne Rice. Which was a very sensual book, if disturbing in a lot of ways.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Creating Dark And Dangerous Urban Fantasy Worlds

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

From demons to vampires, kick-butt heroines and dark alliances, the worlds of the Urban Fantasy genre are a dark re-imagining of our own. But what sources do authors mine for inspiration and how do they keep readers coming back for more? Earlier today Jackie Kessler moderated a discussion with Kelley Armstrong, Diana RowlandRachel Vincent and Jaye Wells about the ways that they create the creatures they feature, the directions that the genre is moving in and what fans can expect from them next. 

We got a chance to chat with Jackie Kessler about the characters readers can find in Urban Fantasy today and she said one of the best things about the genre is that "when you write urban fantasy, you aren’t limited to the human race."

While we are all familiar with the ever-popular vampire tales, Jackie was quick to point out that Urban Fantasy is not limited to just vampires. She then went on to give us a 'cheat sheet' to the creatures found in the panelists' books: 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Starting The Morning Right With The Welcome Mixer!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today the wait is finally over — we've kicked off the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention! This morning the fun began bright and early with the Welcome Mixer. Readers, authors, booksellers and industry insiders turned out for the first party of the convention. 

After we all got some morning treats, RT Founder Kathryn Falk greeted convention goers and shared a preview of what was to come in the days ahead. We also heard a lovely tribute to Walter Zacharius, the head of Kensington Publishing who recently passed on. And of course, Kate Ryan, RT's Bookstores That Care Network Coordinator, announced RT's Bookseller of the year, Darlene Krogol of Another Look Books. This Michigan-based bookseller wrote a song that celebrated RT's commitment to supporting Independent bookstores and, to the tune of a classic by Gladys Knight & the Pips, RT's Mr. Romance 1996, Mark Johnson serenaded the crowd!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We're Headed To LA For The 2011 RT Booklovers Convention!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're off to LA to meet up with our fellow genre fiction fans at the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention. Goodbye rainy New York, sunny L.A. here we come! All week long you can follow the convention action on the RT Daily Blog. You will get insider info from authors attending panels and leading workshops. You can also get our take on this year's annual awards ceremony and check out photos from the morning mixers and nightly parties.

Over the next five days we are looking forward to attending some of the 125 workshops for readers, writers and booksellers and librarians. From hands-on craft workshops to discussions about the industry and spotlights on each of the genres, our upcoming hours will be filled with sessions that promise to be memorable. This year's workshops will be recorded and offered as mp3 audio files by www.ConferenceRecording.com for everyone who can't attend or can't read their handwriting after jotting down notes during the panels. And for everyone who can't make it to the full five-day convention but is interested in coming for some of the events, take a look at the day pass options available.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Allie Pleiter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Allie Pleiter is known for her inspirational romances. This month her Steeple Hill Love Inspired Historical romance, Yukon Wedding releases. Today the author chats with her editor Krista Stroever and RT's Morgan Doremus about her new novel and what fans can expect next.

Allie Pleiter On Yukon Wedding And Other Projects In The Works >>

Allie Pleiter Talks About Writing Series Romance For Harlequin >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Than Words: A Moving Romance Anthology

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

It is always wonderful to hear about women making positive changes in their communities. Mix this charity work with sweet romance and you get this month's Harlequin anthology More Than Words Volume 7. For this book, contemporary romance authors Carly Phillips, Donna Hill and Jill Shalvis teamed up to write love stories inspired by real life heroines who work to better others' lives. We were so enamored with this great collection of stories that we asked the authors to tell us a little bit more about their characters and the work they do.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 4/5/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTOBUY AUTHORS

Mainstream Fiction - HarperCollins will publish Amy Tan’s next novel The Valley of Amazement. Tan describes the book as “a story about 1890-1940 San Francisco, Shanghai and the valley in-between…. A painting called the 'Valley of Amazement' is passed along through three generations of women of the same family. Despite vast differences in their upbringing, culture and circumstances, each of the women is drawn to discover the meaning of the painting and the unknown histories of their mothers.” No word yet on a release date for the novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST