RT Daily Blog

Video Interview With Allie Pleiter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Allie Pleiter is known for her inspirational romances. This month her Steeple Hill Love Inspired Historical romance, Yukon Wedding releases. Today the author chats with her editor Krista Stroever and RT's Morgan Doremus about her new novel and what fans can expect next.

Allie Pleiter On Yukon Wedding And Other Projects In The Works >>

Allie Pleiter Talks About Writing Series Romance For Harlequin >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


More Than Words: A Moving Romance Anthology

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

It is always wonderful to hear about women making positive changes in their communities. Mix this charity work with sweet romance and you get this month's Harlequin anthology More Than Words Volume 7. For this book, contemporary romance authors Carly Phillips, Donna Hill and Jill Shalvis teamed up to write love stories inspired by real life heroines who work to better others' lives. We were so enamored with this great collection of stories that we asked the authors to tell us a little bit more about their characters and the work they do.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 4/5/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTOBUY AUTHORS

Mainstream Fiction - HarperCollins will publish Amy Tan’s next novel The Valley of Amazement. Tan describes the book as “a story about 1890-1940 San Francisco, Shanghai and the valley in-between…. A painting called the 'Valley of Amazement' is passed along through three generations of women of the same family. Despite vast differences in their upbringing, culture and circumstances, each of the women is drawn to discover the meaning of the painting and the unknown histories of their mothers.” No word yet on a release date for the novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Jenna Black's Dark Descendant

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Jenna Black's upcoming April novel, Dark Descendant. Black leaves behind her vampires and fae to start a new series about the children of mythic gods. Today we go beyond the back cover blurb to talk about how the author is leaving her own special mark on these gifted offspring.

***

The Joys of Cannibalism

My dream of being a published author took me a long time to achieve. Sixteen years, to be exact. During those sixteen years of collecting rejection letters, I wrote eighteen full novels and one incomplete one. It was the eighteenth novel that finally sold and launched my career as a published author.

When I tell people this story, they invariably ask me if I’ve subsequently sold any of my first seventeen books. The answer is no, because my writing has evolved too much since then for me to be happy with those older books. However, when it came time for me to start a new urban fantasy series, I decided to go back and cannibalize that one incomplete novel that was sitting in a drawer. (Figuratively—it was actually sitting on a hard drive, but let’s not get technical.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Cheryl Ann Smith

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Cheryl Ann Smith 

Book: The School for Brides 

Age: 40-ish 

Current Home: SE Michigan 

Author Icon: My favorite book is Shanna, so Kathleen Woodiwiss. 

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: 8-10 full manuscripts and many, many partials.

Time it took to sell first book: This book took only a couple of months to sell once my agent read the finished manuscript and submitted it to editors. But I’ve been writing for about 16 years.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 4/1/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week getting ready for the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Katharine Ashe shares a day in the life of a pirate. Check It Out >>

PARANORMAL/URBAN FANTASY: Get up to speed on 4 long-running series. Learn More >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Go between the covers of Jill Shalvis’ new novel. Read The Excerpt >>

FANTASY: Jim C. Hines’ e-book anthology gets a *Web Exclusive Review*. Get The Details >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Carole Mortimer brings her historical family to the present. Learn Why >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Interview With Erotica Author Sunny And Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today RT’s Web Editor Morgan Doremus chats with paranormal erotic romance author Sunny about her popular Mona Lisa and Lucinda series, how she transitioned into her career as an erotica author and what fans can expect next!

Morgan: I would love to start out by discussing your most well known books, the Mona Lisa series which features the Monères race. While these characters are technically aliens since they originated on the moon, your stories are generally labeled 'paranormal' rather than 'science fiction' — why do you think this is?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Inside Look At Gaelen Foley's Inferno Club Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Gaelen Foley's historical romance series third, My Irresistible Earl is an April RT Top Pick! Today, the author gives us a guided tour of the popular establishment that her new hero is part of, The Inferno Club. But readers be warned — all is not as it seems for these members of the English peerage.

The Inferno Club is a raucous, decadent gentleman’s club that is actually a front for a spy ring in service to the Crown. What makes my dark and sexy spy guys different than every other Regency spy ring on the market today is that rather than being attached to the Foreign Office, my heroes are members of an ancient secret chivalric order, the Order of St. Michael the Archangel, that was founded during the Crusades. The Order does not fight an ordinary enemy, but an evil, centuries-old secret society of highborn conspirators that have infiltrated every court in Europe, modeled on the Illuminati.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Elizabeth Boyle's Lord Langley Is Back In Town

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Elizabeth Boyle's upcoming historical romance novel, Lord Langley is Back in Town. We go beyond the back cover blurb to find out what readers can expect from the latest in this author's Regency-era series.

***

Meet Lord Langley, my elusive hero of Lord Langley is Back in Town. Readers first “met” him in This Rake of Mine as the devil-may-care diplomat father of Felicity and Tally Langley. I say “met” because until now, Lord Langley has never set foot on the page, making him all that much more of an enigma.
 
But I couldn’t shake the one known fact about Lord Langley: he’s a seducer of the first order—a real lady killer--having claimed the hearts of duchesses and princesses and ladies from one side of Europe to the other. He needed a strong woman who could match him witty retort for witty retort, outwit him at every turn, and most of all, harbored just as many secrets as he did.
 
And then came Minerva Sterling, one of the Standon widows, and I realized I’d had the perfect heroine for him all along. This is one of the mysteries of writing—when you look at the page one day and realize you’ve unintentionally written the perfect heroine for your rake-in-waiting. Here was a woman with secrets—Big Secrets—and Langley is just the sort of man who could uncover them—since that’s exactly what he’s been doing for the Foreign Office all these years—seducing ladies to uncover secrets of state.
 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST