RT Daily Blog

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.5 — "Rent"

BY Regina Small, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Previously: After a failed escape attempt, Claire tended to a dying man on the Gathering's hunt and earned herself a place on Dougal's traveling band of rent collectors. Jamie got knocked on the head with a sword and — YUP — took his shirt off.

Jamie Shirtless Watch 2014: Technically? 22 minutes in, but it's under less than ideal circumstances.

To the recap!

Turned toward the mountains, Claire — who's rocking an amazing fur-collared coat — recites aloud the first part of John Donne's "Present in Absence." That initial stanza is about how the only thing that can fix the pain of someone's absence is time, which has an obvious double meaning for Claire.

Claire's halfway through when she's joined by a slight, bespectacled fellow who joins in her recitation. They bond over a mutual love of Donne as Dougal's men engage in some mildly drunken roughhousing and lively swearing in Gaelic.

Turns out Claire's fellow Donne enthusiast is Ned Gowan, a lawyer who's come to help Dougal with the records and receipts. Ned's also the only one Dougal trusts with the collected rent, which he keeps in a leather pouch on his horse. Amid a coughing fit, Ned explains that, besides money, they also accept grain, cabbage, trussed fowl and goats — but NO live pigs, not this year. Man, landlords today really don't know how easy they have it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Witches of East End Recap: 2.8 — "Sex, Lies and Birthday Cake"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

To the episode! We’ll call it: The One Where (Almost) Everyone Has Sex. Ready?

Hoo boy! We open on Spike coaching Freddy through slicing up a dude in the forest. They’re still looking for a host for Bad Grandad. Freddy would like to stop killing randoms. I would like for you to do that too, Freddy! Spike agrees … they need to kill someone they know!

It’s Freya’s birthday! To celebrate, she’s walking around the house in purple lingerie! (It was recently my birthday. I kept to my usual yoga pants, to the delight of my neighbors, I’m sure.) Jo’s cooked some chocolate chip pancakes for the occasion, and there’s a big shindig later to celebrate Freya turning 30 for the first time ever. Yay, Freya! Freya’s depressed about Killian, though.

Ingrid’s at Dash’s, she’s been avoiding him and is there to apologize. Except there’s a PYT there, clearly post coital. Ingrid storms out, as is her right as a soap character.

Killian and Ava’s sexcapades have ended, as her grandma is visiting. He’s off to bartend Freya’s party, giving Abuela time to scold Ava. Ava’s been increasing the potion’s strength but Killian’s feelings for Freya keep shining through — and she’s still not pregnant.

Tommy comes over to surprise Wendy, just in time to see her shift from a cat to a woman! He’s understandably freaked. Wendy just tells him: she’s a witch. He runs away, as is his right as a Muggle.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Claudia Connor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love debut authors here at RT and we love introducing them to our readers. Today, we're shining the Debut Author Spotlight on Claudia Connor, the author behind Worth the Fall, which our reviewer says is "a beautiful story" that "reminds readers that your life is never too complicated for love." Read on to learn more about Claudia and the book!

Name: Claudia Connor

Book: Worth the Fall

Genre: Contemporary romance

Current Home: Germantown, TN

Author Icon/Favorite Author: Oh, boy, it’s impossible to choose one favorite, but if I could spend a day picking someone’s brain it would probably be Nora Roberts. I think she’s a genius. I mean hello? Roarke.

Favorite Word: "Haboob" — I recently learned this word because I have a friend who lives in AZ. And more importantly, my husband didn’t know it. First time that’s EVER happened. I was so excited I did a happy in-your-face dance. As he wins at absolutely everything, he didn’t care.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Sydney Landon continues her Danvers series with two new installments. Readers can look forward to even higher stakes and more passion.

Mystery - With Sacrifice, Philip Freeman continues his series of mysteries set in medieval Ireland, which star a nun who must work amongst Christians and druids to catch a killer. Coming in Fall 2015.

Contemporary Romance - Mary Sullivan continues her Accord, Colorado series for Harlequin’s Superromance line with at least one more book. Release date TBA.

Erotic Romance - Sylvia Day's fourth Crossfire book, Captivated by You, finally has a release date! The book will be releasing digitally and in print November 18. Gideon lovers rejoice!


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 9/5/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week being Seduced by the Heir?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Nalini Singh dishes on Rock Addiction! Get Rockin' >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Enter to win M.L. Buchman's The Night Stalker series! Good Luck >>

YOUNG ADULT: Isabel Gillies talks love, life and Starry Night. Read More >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Isabel Gillies Talks Starry Night, Love and LIfe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Actress, writer, mother — Isabel Gillies seemingly does it all! With a succesful run on Law and Order: SVU and two memoirs under her belt, Isabel now makes her fiction and YA debut with Starry Night, a novel of young love, New York City and growing up. We had the chance to speak with the multi-talented writer over the phone and asked her about her creative process, writing Starry Night and, of course, about love. See what she had to say:

***

Starry Night is your first novel for teens, though you’ve written two non-fiction titles. How did your writing process change for Starry Night? How did it remain the same?

Well, it remained the same because of one overriding reason: I wrote it everyday. I worked on it every day, and when I wrote my first book, I had read Stephen King’s On Writing and he says if you’re going to write, write every day. So I wrote every day while I was writing this. Though, not every, every day, because I have children and I don’t write on weekends.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Dos and Don'ts of Book Events

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

If there’s anything booklovers love more than books it’s author events and book signings. Meeting your favorite author and other readers is great. But while we here at RT are pros at attending events, some of you may be getting ready to go to your first event and aren’t sure what to do. So, to help you out, here are our tips on what to do (and what not to do) at an author event.

***

The Dos:

1. Be excited — You’re about to meet your favorite author! This is definitely something to be excited about and it’s okay to let your inner fangirl/fanboy make an appearance or two.

2. Make new friends — Like most booklovers, us included, you’re probably a bit of an introvert, so talking to strangers while waiting for the event to start may seem daunting. But at a book event, you will always have two things in common with the stranger next to you: a love for the author you’re seeing and books. So don’t be afraid to reach out and make some new friends!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Nalini Singh Turns up the Music with Rock Addiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Nalini Singh is no stranger over here at RT and her paranormal romances have hooked us again and again, earning her several Top Pick ratings and RT Award nominations and wings. But before she was a queen of paranormal, Nalini penned contemporary romances and now with Rock Addiction, the first in the Rock Kiss series, she's returning to her roots. Today, Nalini answers our burning questions about the new book and series. Take a look:

***

Rock Addiction marks your return to Contemporary Romance. What about this story inspired you to go back to your roots?

I've actually had Rock Addiction partially written for a long time. I knew I wanted to tell this story, but while I had the start, I didn't feel as if I knew the characters deeply enough, didn't yet have an insight into what drove them. Then one day, everything clicked and I wrote it compulsively — I think often a story needs time to grow and develop in my mind, until it gets to a point where all the pieces are in place for it to be told.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win A Duke's Heart

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win A Duke's Heart by Sarah MacLean

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Gamble

The Gamble by Kristen Ashley

4.5 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Warrior Heir

Die For Me by Amy Plum

4.5 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST