RT Daily Blog

Author Interview With Carly Phillips

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary Romance powerhouse Carly Phillips, is interviewed by RT BOOK REVIEWS Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan about her summer release Kiss Me If You Can and what readers can expect from the author's next series ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Bollywood In A Book

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Shobhan Bantwal chats about her new release,  The Unexpected Son , and her reputation for creating "Bollywood in a book." And don't miss the EXCERPT of The Unexpected Son at the end of this post!

When I decided to take up fiction writing at the age of 50, a result of what I call a "menopausal epiphany," I naturally turned to my own Indian-Hindu culture for story ideas, which offers a delicious and intriguing array of topics.

While conflict is part and parcel of every society, it is even more abundant in conservative cultures like India, where love and romance are rarely given credence. The rigid caste system and arranged marriage still exist in contemporary India, dowry abuse is rampant, women are still considered burdens, and dominant males are fierce guardians of their heritage. I grew up in the midst of it all, in a strict Brahmin family. I also had an arranged marriage.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joan Johnston Returns To The Wild Wild West

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Joan Johnston is returning to the west with her new series, Unexpected Brides. So we caught up with the author to get all the details about her new book deal and find out what readers can expect from the series.
 
RT: Who are these "Unexpected Brides"?
 
Joan Johnston: My "brides" are all sisters orphaned by the great Chicago fire of 1871. The eldest is being forced out of the orphanage where they've been living the past four years because she's eighteen. She answers a newspaper advertisement for a mail-order bride — from Jesse Creed, a forebear of the Creeds in my New York Times bestselling Bitter Creek series — and brings along her two little brothers! As you might suspect, the western men who end up with these brides discover a woman who's nothing like the bride they expected to marry.
 
RT: Where in the west are the stories set?
 
JJ: I think the titles give it away! [They are Texas Bride, Blackthorne’s Bride, Wyoming Bride and Montana Bride.] The first and fourth books are set in Texas. Book two is set in Wyoming and book three is set in Montana.
 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Monday Morning Movie Find!

BY Morgan Doremus, JULY 26, 2010 | PERMALINK
Surfing the Net this weekend, I ran into this video that combines the awesomeness of Fight Club with the refinement of Jane Austen. Believe it or not, this clip perfectly encapsulates my college experience where Brad Pitt and Edward Norton's epic film was on constant replay in my roommate's DVD player and my English professors were obsessed with Austen and her contemporaries. As a rule I'm not into mash-ups, but for this video I'll make an exception.

Jane Austen's Fight Club >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/23/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your entire week trying to solve The Mommy Mystery?

Here's what you missed this week on the RT website.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Head To Head On Historical Accuracy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Two historical romance fans go head-to-head on the importance of historical accuracy in historical romances. When they debate about Renee Bernard's new release, Seduction Wears Sapphires, the author also weighs in on how historical facts influenced her writing.

Lizzie Poteet, one of RT's summer interns, is a stickler for historical accuracy. She says, "I understand that in fiction there is a level of, well, fiction and fantasy. But, I hate it when historicals are blatantly inaccurate that I notice things like medieval garb on a Regency duke or inappropriate speech patterns. My books don’t have to be 100% historically accurate. They just have to make sense."

Taking the opposite stance, RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan doesn't care so much about the facts. "I'd rather the story be fun than completely accurate. I mean, the number of dukes and earls and lords running around all getting married during the same time period ... well there are more Regency novels published than there were titled men looking for (or accidentally finding) women to marry!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Modern Advice From Historical Matchmaker Lady Sophia Dalby - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical matchmaker Lady Sophia Dalby is the renowned courtesan-turned-lady of Claudia Dain's historical series, The Courtesan Chronicles. Lady Dalby has just had her hands in the midst of the unexpected match between American miss Jane Elliot and the English Duke of Edenham in this month's Daring A Duke. Now, Lady Dalby stops by to answer RT's questions about flirting, men and the true value of scandal. And don't miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the interview!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Shannon K. Butcher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2010 | PERMALINK
To conclude our three video interview series with the authors of the urban fantasy anthology Dark And Stormy Knights, Shannon K. Butcher sits down with RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus. They chat about Butcher's Sentinel Wars novels and how writing romantic suspense novels influenced the author's urban fantasy series.

Veiw RT BOOK REVIEWS YouTube Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Using Calibre To Track Print Book Purchases - Part II

BY Dear Jane, JULY 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

This is part two of using Calibre to create a catalog of your paper library (read Part I here.) However, the information below can be useful to those who use Calibre for organization of their digital books. There is a screencast for this which you can find here (full screen) or embedded below. Screencaps and a written version follows.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Critiques The First Chapter Of The Upcoming Susan Elizabeth Phillips Release

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT web team has been abuzz today about the upcoming Susan Elizabeth Phillips release Call Me Irresistible (aka Ted’s book) after SEP posted the first chapter on her website.

The editors and interns just had to take a look at the excerpt and this is what we learned from chapter one. First, there are lots and lots and lots of old faces that will make an appearance. The daughter from 1987’s Glitter Baby is the heroine, the son from 1989’s Fancy Pants is the hero and other cast includes the characters from First Lady, Lady Be Good and more. Second, the hero Ted Beaudine is perfect and the heroine Meg Koranda is not. And third, the book starts with Ted marrying Meg’s best friend Lucy.

We had so many opinions around the office that we thought we would weigh in.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST