RT Daily Blog

Turning Board Games Into Novels

BY Morgan Doremus, NOVEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

I just finished reading Cynthia Baxter's latest amateur sleuth novel Crossing the Lion and loved the author's clever use of the board game Clue to add an additional layer of tongue-in-cheek fun to her story. In the book, Jessie, a full-time veterinarian and part-time detective, is asked to investigate a murder, but when she steps onto Solitary Island to begin unraveling the mystery, she is led into a world taken directly from the Parker Brothers' game. From Miss Scarlet to a conservatory and even secret passageways, Baxter's charming novel has so many nods and references to Clue that the characters can't help themselves from pointing out the similarities.

Crossing the Lion is so well done, that it got me thinking that maybe other board games could be successfully adapted into books. Here are a few of my top picks:

 

 

Chess - Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Aspiring Authors, Harlequin Is Here To Help!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, November may be the official month to dedicate yourself to your writing, but sometimes knowing that you "should be" doing something is the best way to come down with a serious case of writer's block. However, Harlequin is here to help jumpstart your creative engine. All week long you can take part in their special event So You Think You Can Write!

From November 1st to the 5th, Harlequin is hosting a variety of events to help you get informed about the buisness and inspired to create. The publisher has put together a full schedule of guest blogs, podcasts, webinars, live chats and even daily writing challenges to help hone your skills and provide valuable feedback. You can join community chats with other writers, meet over fifty editors, submit your stories and more. Find out everything from "What Editors Look For" and "Why Revisions are Necessary" to tips on "Choosing Character Names" and learn why some of your favorite authors write romance novels. You can follow the event's up-to-the-minute schedule additions on Twitter and Facebook with the hashtag #SYTHYCW or visit Harlequin's website here


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Is Aspiring Authors Month!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

All month long we will be celebrating Aspiring Authors on the RT Daily Blog. Every day we will have helpful hints about writing and the many paths to publication. You will get writing advice from authors sharing their tips and success stories, hear from industry insiders and take writing mini-challenges.

Our Aspiring Author focus is inspired by National Novel Writing Month, also known as NaNoWrMo. This month thousands of writers around the world, from beginners to experts, will take the annual challenge and attempt to write 175 pages or 50,000 words, during the month of November. You can find out more about NaNoWriMo at their website. And in the meantime, we will be here to help inspire you all month long.

So if you are a published author, aspiring writer, or just someone interested in the inner workings of how a book is put together, join us all month for tips, videos, interviews, writing challenges and of course, round two of the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars contest — it's all part of our featured Aspiring Authors coverage in November on the RT Daily Blog.

To easily follow all of the aspiring author action keep an eye on this blog post. We will be updating it everytime we post a related blog, video or article during November!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Big With Your Favorite Halloween Costume!

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Morgan and I both adore Halloween — you can't go wrong with costumes and candy. And whether you start planning your costume early, are a last minute costume maven or just enjoy seeing everyone else take part, it's hard to ignore the festivities that kick off the winter holiday season. So this Halloween we are celebrating with a special contest. Share your favorite costume below for a chance to win some awesome prizes! 

Why the contest? Because we believe that readers have a special advantage over everyone else when it comes time to plan costumes. All of the hours that we spend reading gives us experience with many different cultures, time periods and characters to fuel our imaginations. And whether you are putting together the perfect vampire ensemble, rocking out a superhero style, or are taking your cues from pop culture, Halloween encourages us to be whatever our hearts' desire — or at least dress like it for an evening.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 10/29/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week in a whirlwind transition from Boardroom to Wedding Bed?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

PARANORMAL MONTH:

YA author Bree Despain on the "What If" that inspired her paranormal series. What was her inspiration? >>

Author Yvonne Navarro's newest heroine has "tri-memory". Learn more >>

Maria Lima set her werewolf clan in the fictional Rio Seco, Texas. Which town is it based on? >>

Rachel Caine on her latest in The Morganville Vampire series. Watch the interview >>

RT's web team looks ahead to upcoming paranormal releases. Check the forecast >>

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wrapping Up Paranormal Month With A List Of Upcoming Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thanks so much for helping make our second theme month a success on the RT Daily Blog. We've celebrated paranormal novels all October with exclusive content and videos. (You can check out all of this month's paranormal action here.)


But we wouldn't dream of wrapping up our paranormal coverage without giving you a peek ahead at all the fun still to come in the genre. Here are six titles we are dying to get our hands on. Let us know which books you can't wait for in the comments below!

 

 

In The Dark Of Dreams by Marjorie M. Liu
Releases December 2010

December's Dirk and Steele novel returns Liu's diverse cast of supernatural beings to the ocean.

We've seen mind reading and manipulation of memories used for nefarious ends in this series before, but in this new release, we are happy to see that walking through other's dreams can be used for good instead of evil. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Rachel Caine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Rachel Caine's latest novel, Ghost Townwas released this week. Ghost Towncontinues Caine's popular Young Adult Urban Vampire series, The Morganville Vampires. Now the author goes behind the scenes of her writing career and popular series in this interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Caine catches readers up with her Morganville heroine, Claire, and discusses her latest adventure.

Rachel Caine On Her Writing Career and Popular Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED!: Featuring McCarthy, Dolgoff and upcoming YAs!

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I track down details about the upcoming Erin McCarthy Fast Track novels, get a reader message to Stephanie Dolgoff and report on what four YA authors are working on! Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: Erin McCarthy's Fast Track series are the best contemporary books ever! Hunky guys that race fast cars, what's not to love? I just read Hot Finish and cannot wait to get my hands on the next book - so when will it be out and is there anything you can tell me about the story? - L.Z.

Morgan: Online I was able to find out that the next in Erin McCarthy's series is called The Chase, and it releases April 2011. But L.Z., I knew that that would not be enough to satisfy you. So I went directly to the author for some insider details:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Facebook

BY Shiloh Walker, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Full disclaimer, guys.

I hate Facebook. It’s not so bad when I can do my updates through an outside client like tweetdeck, which is generally what I do, and if I can email my responses when somebody writes on my wall—that sort of thing? I’m good with.

But when I actually have to log in? I hate it.

Now some of this is just my laziness—clearing out the friend requests, deleting the event invites that I never mess with, all the applications I have to delete...and of course, checking to see what new and unusual ways Facebook has come up with to invade my privacy—I really liked the one where people could tag my exact geographical location at any given time! (Um, not…I mean, seriously, what in the world????)


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

GiGi Gunn on Cheaters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

"Never Been To Me is by turns gut wrenching and heart warming”, says RT Reviewer Kate Girard. This latest contemporary romance from author GiGi Gunn follows heroine Persi as she transitions from “the other woman” to someone’s only woman. It's unusual to write about cheaters as the heroes and heroines of a romance novel, so we went right to the author to learn why she took on this challenge and get the heroine's take on the five signs a man is wrong (or right) for you. And don’t miss the excerpt and *Web Exclusive Review* of Never Been To Me at the end of this post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST