RT Daily Blog

Literary Love Over At Penguin Group

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 31, 2010 | PERMALINK

We love to see people taking their love of books to new heights. And today the folks over at the Penguin publishing house are doing just that. The Penguin Group publishers are launching a monthly radio show called The Literary Life. The show is hosted by the executive editor of Riverhead books, Jake Morrissey and the entire operation is put together by Penguin employees. 

Each month The Literary Life will feature author interviews, a publisher’s take on the industry, musical pieces performed by authors who are also musicians and more. This month’s show features the talent behind the best-selling Composed memoir, Rosanne Cash as well as authors Doug Dorst, Maile Meloy and Sloane Crosley. You can listen to the radio show, be sure to check out the show’s Facebook fanpage and learn more over at Penguin's Radio Room!


Read More>>

Tags:
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


On The Bookshelves Tuesday 8/31/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 31, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Paula Quinn And Her Arthurian-Inspired Historical Hero - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 31, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Paula Quinn talks about her Arthurian inspiration for the Scottish hero of Seduced By a Highlander. Learn how this hero's struggle for honor touched the author's heart. And don't miss the excerpt and the GIVEAWAY at the end of this post!

People ask me all the time where my heroes come from. Tristan MacGregor, the hero from my newest book Seduced By a Highlander, was inspired by my favorite knight in shining armor, Tristan de Lyones from the legend of Tristan and Iseult


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Dakota Cassidy And Louisa Edwards

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 30, 2010 | PERMALINK
Authors Dakota Cassidy and Louisa Edwards chat about the differences between their novels. Find out how these authors really feel about writing themselves into corners, creating secondary characters and heating up their novels with sex scenes.

Dakota Cassidy and Louisa Edwards compare their genres, series and favorite parts of writing >>

Go In-Depth With Louisa Edwards About Her Latest Novel >>

Find Out About Dakota Cassidy's Series and What's Coming Next for Her >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two Series Authors Weigh In On A Hot Trend In Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, RT's Liz French went in-depth on the recent romance trend of featuring heroes and heroines with disabilities. Now Series authors Liz Fielding and Donna Alward chat about the characters with disabilities in their novels. Learn about how heroine Matty from The Marriage Miracle by Fielding and hero Noah from Her Lone Cowboy by Alward grabbed these authors' attentions and wouldn't let go until their stories were told ...  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rachel Caine Is Going To Harvard

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

THIS JUST IN: Paranormal author Rachel Caine's Glass Houses, from the Morganville Vampire series, is now a must-read at Harvard University. The first book in Caine's Young Adult series has just been added to the university's course "The Vampire in Literature and Film."  We tracked down Rachel Caine to see what she had to say about this collegiate turn of events.

RT BOOK REVIEWS:  Any words on your first reaction when you heard that you were required reading at Harvard?

Rachel Caine: I believe I summed it all up in a very proper, authorial way when I blurted "No way!" Followed by fainting.

RT: Where did you go to college? Does it feel good to make it into the classroom of the most distinguished University in America?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mariah Stewart's New Heroine On Motherhood And Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Dallas MacGregor, the heroine of Mariah Stewart's latest contemporary romance, Home Againis an award-winning actress who's starred in many top box office hits and a devoted mother. She recently moved her son out of the Hollywood spotlight and brought him back to her hometown of St. Dennis. Now she chats about her new life and disputes the old adage that you can't go home again.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 8/27/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Were you too busy to get online this week because you were helping make Wedding Cake Wishes come true?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tall, Dark and Dangerous: Olivia Drake Discusses The Historical Romance Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Olivia Drake, aka RITA-award winning author Barbara Dawson Smith, has had some time to think about historical romance heroes over her last 26 novels. In honor of her August release, Never Trust a Rogue, the author shares her wisdom about the five kinds of historical heroes and what readers (and heroines) can expect from each type of man.

Man of action, man of steel, master of his own destiny. All these descriptions fit the historical hero, a hard-edged, dominant male who is willing to take enormous risks to protect his property, his loved ones, and his beliefs. Besides being fierce and formidable, he is intelligent, loyal, and quick-witted. Readers can admire his boldness and bravery while living the fantasy of conquering the heart of a warrior prince. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Elizabeth Phillips Invites Readers To A Wedding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Look what we got in the mail:

That's right. We are all invited to Teddy and Lucy's wedding! Thank you Susan Elizabeth Phillips for reuniting us with some of our favorite friends from Lady Be Good, First Lady, Fancy Pants, What I Did for Love and Glitter Baby. Who wouldn't have a great time! That is...

So mark your calendars, the festivities begin on January 18th, 2011 with the release of Mr. Irresistible.



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST