RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Q&A: Lauren Oliver Discusses the Delirium Pilot

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Fans went crazy when Hulu and WIGS announced their plans to make the unaired pilot for Delirium, based on Lauren Oliver's bestselling novel of the same name, available for streaming. And when the pilot went live last Friday, everybody settled in to see if their expectations were met. I'll be sharing my thoughts on it later this week with Web Reviewer Christin, but I was dying to know what Lauren thought. Today, we have an exclusive interview with her where she discusses the hotness of Emma Roberts and Daren Kagasoff, the setting and her favorite part! Take a look:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


I've Got Something Under My Hood That Needs Fixin': Mechanic Heroes

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Mechanics in contemporary romance are nothing new. Crazy For You by Jennifer Crusie, anyone? Nick, the man who woos Quinn after she ends her relationship with drab “nice guy” Bill (who takes her new dog to the pound, which is pure evil if you ask me), might be one of the most notable examples of a mechanic hero. But lately, rugged grease monkeys have been popping up more frequently in romance.

The current mechanic trend is undoubtedly influenced by the popularity of motorcycle club (MC) romances, but isn’t exclusive to them. Tack from Kristen Ashley’s Motorcycle Man is a motorcycle club president who also owns a custom car and bike shop. Ashley’s Lady Luck, however, is not an MC romance but still features a mechanic hero — Ty Walker. Regardless, MC romances have definitely played a part in reintroducing readers to the deliciousness of mechanic heroes.

The covers of One Sexy Ride by Vivian Arend and Hope Burns by Jaci Burton


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sybil Bartel Reveals Why Bad Boys Are So Loveable

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's no denying that bad boys are irresistible, even to those of us who "know better" than to get involved with one. With their devilish charms and looks, they pull us in and we fall without hesitation. But why? New Adult author Sybil Bartel knows a thing or two about bad boys, especially since her latest book, No Apologies, stars Graham Allen, a bad boy through and through. We tasked Sybil with figuring out why readers love bad boys so much. Here's what she had to say:

Cover of No Apologies by Sybil Bartel Why are these heroes so appealing?

It’s that moment. That moment when your heart is racing, your breath is ragged and you can’t think one second beyond the page in front of you. He’s broken and damaged and oh so hot, he makes your knees weak. You’re questioning your sanity, you’re biting your lip and then you do what you know you never should. You give your heart away.

Why? Because you can’t resist. He’s just. That. Bad. Tall and muscular, demanding and unattainable, he’ll never apologize for his behavior and he’ll leave you with nothing — nothing except the desire for more.

We love our literary bad boys.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES

Young Adult - Bestselling author Abbi Glines is set for a new series, The Field Party, which will feature Southern bad boys, football and high school field parties. Release date for book one is TBA.

Urban Fantasy - In Lexie Dunne’s Superheroes Anonymous, Hostage Girl, who is repeatedly kidnapped by supervillains, winds up with superpowers of her own and begins a romance with a sexy superhero. This is the first in a new urban fantasy series and we can’t wait to hear more about it!

Romantic Suspense - Midnight Vengeance marks the beginning of a new series from Lisa Marie Rice. A second, untitled book is also on the way. Release date TBA.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 6/20/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week spending time with Family on the Range?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: We breakdown Sarah MacLean's latest cover! See It Now >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Read an excerpt from Christi Barth's newest novel! Keep Reading >>

EROTICA: Erin Dameron-Hill shares tips to keep your cover Amazon-approved! Read On>>

YOUNG ADULT: Michael Barakiva discusses his novel, fatherhood and culture. Read More >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A.C.T.I.O.N. - Keeping Readers Engaged the Eve Silver Way

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Keeping readers hooked and engaged for a whole novel isn't always the easiest thing to do while writing a book. We all know it's best to show, not tell, and that action and suspense keep the story interesting. But how should writers approach this? Author extraordinaire Eve Silver, who's celebrating the release of Push, has a memorable mnemonic device to help you keep readers engaged. Take a look:

Engage readers through action and suspense. Sounds simple, right? Put a ton of fight scenes, explosions, car chases or steamy love scenes on the page and you have action and suspense. Or do you? The truth is, readers have already read scenes like this over and over again. So what makes your story stand out? What makes it lure the reader to anticipate every word?

The answer is A.C.T.I.O.N.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Samhain Publishing Announces Major Changes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Samhain Publishing has long been a driving force in the romance world thanks to their extensive list of authors, unique books and savviness in the digital market. Today, the company announced a few major changes that mark a new chapter in the publisher’s life.

In an effort to develop stronger industry relationships and stay ahead of the game, Samhain has announced owner Christina Brashear has returned as Publisher, resulting in changes in the editorial staff. Current Publisher Lindsey Faber will now serve as a consultant while Editorial Director Heather Osborn will now act as a freelance editor.

Brashear hopes this reorganization will bring Samhain back to “its roots of finding and publishing best-selling romance writers.” She also pledges to “continue to nurture and support our current authors while looking to find that next generation of best-selling writers…”


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jay Crownover and the Do's and Don'ts of Dating a Bad Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Everybody loves reading about a bad boy and some of you might even be dating or have dated one in real life. But loving a bad boy isn't always easy, as many fictional heroines can atest. So we thought we'd ask New Adult author and bad boy expert Jay Crownover for some bad boy dating tips. Here's what she had to say:

Cover of Better When He's Bad by Jay Crownover I spend a good portion of every single day neck deep in book bad-boys. I really do have the best job ever! By now I think I’ve gotten a pretty good handle on what makes bad-boys tick and what makes them so much fun not only to write, but to love as well. I can’t say that there are any hard and fast rules when it comes to getting involved with a bad-boy because let’s face it, in the world of a true bad-boy, rules are always made to be broken. However, these are some do’s and don’ts that I think are pretty common if a lady or a book heroine wants to survive a relationship with a bad-boy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Page to Screen logo of a film reel

Summer is off to a great start and Hollywood shows no sign of taking a break as the heat rolls in and the days at the beach increase. This month's book-to-film news is rich with YA and mystery buzz with a dash of magic thrown in for good measure. Take a look:

Pretty Little Liars Lives On

ABC Family recently announced that it’s hit TV series, Pretty Little Liars, has been renewed for two more seasons. The show, based on Sara Shepard’s YA series of the same name, is currently on its fifth season, which means the show is now set for seven seasons. What twists and turns do they have in store for us now? We can’t wait to see!

Dumbledore and Rowling, Together Again

The cast has been revealed for HBO and the BBC’s upcoming miniseries adaptation of JK Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy. Included in the cast is Michael Gambon, who Rowling devotees will recognize as the actor who portrayed Professor Dumbledore in the movie versions of Rowling’s Harry Potter series. To see the full cast, click here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST