RT Daily Blog

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Post Mortem by Albert Caraco. 

Caraco's mother taught him to hate women and he has learned so well to hate everything else too. "My hatred for this world is what I find more worthy of esteem," he says. 

Plot: Caraco's mother dies. 

Rating: 82 out of 100 

Austerlitz by WG Sebald  

An elegant and deep book that I read every month and stop after thirty pages. For the umpteenth time I ask myself: Is it good if you get bored? 

Plot: Austerlitz speaks a lot. 

Rating: 75 out of 100 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Held Captive: Prisoners In July Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Breaking free of past crimes and decisions can do a world of good for a person. Sometimes, it can even lead to love, as illustrated by this month's roundup of enchanting historical reads. This month, we're highlighting the latest releases from a few of your favorite authors and their new characters who find themselves embarking on new paths. Let's take a look:

In Grace Burrowes’s The Captive, Duke of Mercia, Christian Severn, has one thing on his mind: revenge. It’s the only thing keeping him alive while imprisoned in a French stronghold, and his desire to exact revenge against his captors may come true when he finds himself suddenly free. But Gillian, Countess of Greendale, has other plans and tries to persuade him to give up his thirst for revenge to allow his kindness to prevail to provide a better life for his daughter. As Gillian and Christian grow closer, his plans begin to pan out.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Margaret Stohl Talks Idols

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Margaret Stohl is no stranger to the YA spotlight. In addition to co-authoring the bestselling Beautiful Creatures series and the new spin-off series, Dangerous Creatures, Margaret has also struck out on her own with her Icons series. The second in the series, Idols, releases today and to celebrate, we have an exclusive Q&A with Margaret. Take a look:

Describe Idols in five words.

Heart-bruising-pounding-breaking. Aliens. Elephants. Vision-quest. Thailand.

What can readers expect to learn in the book?

Readers will learn that every love story is also a hate story and vice versa. So I guess to look for the one in the other. Readers will learn to start plotting their trips to Thailand immediately, and I hope going to volunteer in elephant preserves. Learning to give an elephant a bath was one of the most exquisite moments of my life. And I hope readers will learn that emotional relationships change and grow, just like characters and in fact people. We can't help it, none of us. 

Which character has surprised you the most over the course of writing the series?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 7/8/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE HIGHLANDER'S BARGAIN

"This time-travel romance displays the author’s worldbuilding skills beautifully, and the numerous thrills and suspenseful plot will keep readers hooked throughout."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: The Shadows by J.R. Ward

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're back with another Cover Breakdown! This time, Elisa takes a closer look at the dark and compelling cover for J.R. Ward's The Shadows, the upcoming thirteenth installment of her popular Black Dagger Brotherhood series! Let's get started!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap: 2.1 - "A Moveable Beast"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JULY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

At last it’s time for season two of those campy witches with the amazing hair, the Witches of East End! First off, I’d like to thank Lifetime for moving the ladies to a 9 p.m. time slot because I am old and I appreciate them respecting my bedtime.

There’s tons of exposition this episode in addition to your usual supernatural hijinx, and then a sexy ending that had me clutching my metaphorical pearls.

So let’s get to it, shall we? We begin with a veritable clip show from season one: The girls found out they were cursed witches! Freya had two brothers fighting over her. There were lots of past lives and kicky flashbacks with wigs. Cat-shifter Aunt Wendy was awesome. The girls met their dad — and found out about their long lost brother, and the world, Asgard, their mom and aunt left behind. The portal opened.

And we’re off!

We open in a forest, with a cat skulking around, a shadow chasing behind. Aunt Wendy shifts into human form and looks around furtively. Be careful, Wendy, you’re on your last life!

Freya, in our first lingerie sighting of the season, casts a spell complete with green flame.

Oh! Kinky alert! (This will be a theme. Trust me.) Upstairs, Joanna is tied to the bed and Victor smolders as he takes off his belt. Wocka wocka. (Does EL James get a cut of this?) Except then Victor takes out a knife and cuts Jo. She screams.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Young Adult - In Meg Kassel’s startling debut, Black Bird of the Gallows, a girl discovers that the boy next door is actually a harbinger of death. After learning that her town is destined to fall apart, she must fight for her life and find a way to survive before it’s too late.

Science Fiction - In Heroine Complex, Sarah Kuhn’s debut described as “The Devil Wears Prada with superheroes”, a personal assistant has to pose as her high maintance superhero boss. As she discovers and accepts her own special powers, she must save the world from a supernatural invasion. Yikes! Release date: TBA.

Mainstream - Shifting Colors by Fiona Sussman tells the tale of a mother and daugther separated by land and sea as they navigate life amidst apartheid in South Africa and late twentieth century Britain. Coming soon in 2015.

NEW SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: How To Tell Toledo From The Night Sky By Lydia Netzer

BY Cyndy Aleo, JULY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of How to Tell Toledo From the Night SkyWhen Lydia Netzer's first book, Shine, Shine, Shine, was released, it was amazing, and quirky ... and it was at the forefront of a small recent trend of quirky, socially impaired characters.

I wasn't sure how well it would be received. It was smart — so smart it involved complicated equations as love notes — and super-quirky, and I wasn't sure of its mass market appeal in an industry that sometimes seems dominated with "more of the same." 

Seeing how well that book did was great, but Netzer's sophomore effort (if we don't count June's novella "Everybody's Baby"), How to Tell Toledo from the Night Sky, is astounding. Netzer manages to take a blend of magical realism, the quirk factor of her previous novel, and her own unique voice to create a novel that stands out from the crowd being created by authors like Matthew Quick and Graeme Simsion.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Deployed U.S. Troops Celebrate The Fourth - And How Readers Can Give Back

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

source: Kim Lowe

Baseball, hot dogs, apple pie and fireworks! July 4 is the pinnacle of summer vacation, bringing families together to celebrate our nation’s Independence Day. Military personnel in far-flung places will also celebrate July 4th, although it may not be the traditional barbecue. I asked Tamara Argyle — a Navy surgeon, avid reader and aspiring author — about her holiday experience while deployed to a remote location in Afghanistan. Tamara shared that the international coalition was used to shelling overnight. But the insurgents rocketed them all day on July 4th, thus requiring them to wear full body armor even in the mess tent, giving new meaning to:

And the rocket's red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.

They were rewarded with a special dinner hosted by the Australian contingent who staffed the mess tent. Tamara enjoyed steak, corn-on-the cob and watermelon, bringing a little taste of home for the US troops.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

In Bed with the Devil by Lorraine Heath

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

One Lucky Night by various authors

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST