RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Extended Review: Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Black LiesThis review does not contain any spoilers. Read away!

I picked up Black Lies after seeing it was one of the bestselling self-published books last month, and I now know why. I’m already a fan of Alessandra Torre, after telling pretty much every single person I met at RWA this year about how much I loved The Girl in 6E (it’s awesome, go read it), which we awarded our Seal of Excellence for July. So after seeing so many reviews raving about her self-published standalone, reading this was a no-brainer. Black Lies didn’t break any new ground, but it had a juicy twist that, while it’s a familiar one, I did not predict.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Never Enough by Lea Griffith

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

As we head into colder weather, we need all the heat we can get. Luckily, Lea Griffith's cover for Never Enough, the second installment in her All or Nothing series, has plenty of fire to go around. So, without further ado, here we go!

Dixie Mafia boss Dante Shaw always gets what he wants. And what he wants is police detective Savannah Cavanaugh. A Dom whose games have become as cold and empty as his heart, Dante instantly recognizes the dedicated cop during a visit to The Underground — only this time Savannah’s wearing nothing but a thong and high heels. Until now, waging a war of vengeance against his own syndicate had been all that mattered. But after embracing the perfect sub, Dante reconnects with his deepest emotions — and realizes he’s trapped between heaven and hell.

Savannah is no rookie. She knows how quickly this could all come tumbling down. And yet she can’t fight her deep attraction to Dante, nor can she deny him the one thing he craves most: her total submission. In the shadow of danger, Savannah finds a love she never could have expected. But she’s mixing business with pleasure — and her business is the law. How far will she go to surrender to a man for whom pleasure is never enough?

3 ...

2 ...

1 ...

Ta da:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Girl Power: Sara Raasch and the Strength of a YA Heroine

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's an undeniable need for strong heroines in books, particularly in YA lit. But what makes a heroine strong? Is she witty and blunt? Can she wield a sword? Or is it her intelligence and ability to level the playing field, so to speak? In Sara Raasch's debut, Snow Like Ashes, Meira must prove her worth in order to help save her people and her kingdom. And while Meira is strong, she's also equal to her peers, which elevates her to a new level. Today, Sara discusses her heroine and what makes her an equal player.

In Snow Like Ashes, one of the things my main character, Meira, desperately wants is to matter.

She’s spent her entire life in a refugee camp, one of a handful of survivors who escaped the brutal takeover that enslaved the rest of the Kingdom of Winter 16 years ago. This upbringing planted a powerful desire in Meira: to rescue her people. And while everyone else in her life works relentlessly to do just that, she is constantly told she isn’t needed to help. There are stronger fighters; there are quicker spies; there are safer tasks for her to do. She’s young, and she isn’t the most skilled soldier — but she is fiercely dedicated to the cause, despite the constant barrage of rejection.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

And then He Kissed Her

And then He Kissed Her by Laura Lee Guhrke

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It ON B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Getting Out of Hand

Getting Out of Hand by Erin Nicholas

4 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It ON B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Not That Kind of Girl

Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian

4 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Anything He Wants/Castaway By Sara Fawkes

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy Hump Day, smut lovers! Today we've got an excerpt from the bundled print editions of Anything He Wants and Castaway by Sara Fawkes. In this scene, Lucy has a fantasy about a sexy coworker that comes true when she finds herself alone with him in the office elevator. See, dreams can come true! In romance novels, at least. Enjoy!

The high point of my workdays lately was seeing the gorgeous stranger every morning.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: YA Goes Instagram

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's no secret YA covers try and reflect the latest trends. Just look at these recent YA covers, with their bright pictures and fuzzy filters, they could've been pulled right off of Instagram. Here are a few of the most Instagram-y covers we've noticed as of late! 


 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

TBR Pile On: Our October Mainstream Picks

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

We don't know about you, but something about the fall colors makes us want to pick up a mainstream fiction title and read about a seemingly-perfect-but-actually-fractured family. Publishing obviously agrees with us, because this month a lot of mainstream heavy hitters have books out! We culled through the best of the best to make a reading list for you.

 

Winter Street by Elin Hilderbrand


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Berlin Alexanderplatz by Alfred Döblin

To understand Franz Biberkopf (proletarian and petty criminal in Berlin circa 1920) you must be Franz Biberkopf. Thanks to Alfred Döblin, you can be him for a good number of pages.

Plot: A one-armed man robs, beats, drinks and lives with prostitutes.
Rating:
●●●●○

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

The relationship between (good) science fiction and history is always creepy, but I would have preferred to see the part where teenagers become classical music fans.

Plot: Bad kids do bad things.
Rating:
●●●○○


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Our Favorite Lady Cosplayers From New York Comic Con 2014

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last weekend was the biggest, and surprisingly most organized, New York Comic Con I've ever attended. One of the most enjoyable parts of any comic con is cosplaying, both participating in and appreciating all of the excellent outfits people put together. I noticed more female cosplayers this year than ever before, and below are some of my favorites.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST