RT Daily Blog

Jane Austen With A Paranormal Twist

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

There have been many Jane Austen adaptations over the years - traditional retellings, contemporary spins (including my favorite, Clueless) and even the inclusion of a monster or two. This month readers can enjoy a whole new take on Jane Austen's beloved stories when four historical romance authors use Ms. Austen's characters as inspiration for their new paranormal anthology Bespelling Jane Austen. So how does one go about picking an Austen story to adapt? Find out here.

Susan Krinard writes "Blood & Prejudice"

Pride & Prejudice is my favorite Austen story. I like it most because Darcy is the kind of hero I really enjoy: standoffish, apparently arrogant, but also deeply compassionate underneath. He's a strong man who is also responsible, and it doesn't hurt that he's tall, dark and handsome! Lizzy, too, is my favorite kind of heroine: "spunky," acerbic, and a match for any man. How could I not love this story? (Plus, Darcy makes a fantastic vampire!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Three Questions With Katherine Heigl

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

A beautiful, albeit uptight, woman is forced to raise an orphaned baby with a messy bachelor. Sounds like a great contemporary romance or Life As We Know It. The much anticipated Rom Com stars opposites Katherine Heigl and Josh Duhamel opens today. So I sat down with Ms. Heigl to ask her about her life, family and career.  

***

In the movie, you and Josh's character go on a blind date that turns out awful. Do you have any real life experiences going on blind dates?
I've never had a blind date, but I had a really, really bad first date. I went out with my trainer from the gym. I was super excited because I didn't know anyone in L.A. and he was a good looking guy. He shaved his legs, but - I don't know - maybe it was a trainer thing. Anyway, he took me out to Sizzler, which was cool because I was totally down for a steak, but before the apps were there, he handed me a head shot and asked if I could give it to my agent...awkward.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kalayna Price's Grave Undertaking

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Kaylana Price kicks off her new urban fantasy series with this month's release, Grave Witch. The series heroine, Alex, has the ability to see into the world of spirits and this witch's powers are attracting the attention of an unusual admirer. Get an inside look at the world of a heroine who is not afraid to flirt with Death!

My vision narrowed, leaving the world faded behind a patina of gray. Flakes of rust covered the stainless steel gurney, and the threadbare, tattered linen sheet covering the body rippled in the breeze blowing through me. The linoleum floor under my boots had worn away, and the cement beneath it crumbled. Outside the circle, John’s wrinkled jacket was pocked with holes, but he was filled with light, his soul a dazzling shimmer of pale yellow.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Scooped! Featuring A Singh Sneak Peek, Contemporary Romance Recommendations and more!

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I share insider information about Nalini Singh's new novels, suggest some good contemporary romance reads and reveal who I am looking forward to seeing at Comic Con. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: I am really excited for Nalini Singh's next Psy/Changeling book, but I have to admit that I am really, really ready for Hawke's book. Will we ever get to read his happily-ever-after?!? - S.K.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laura Childs Delivers Big Thrills In the Big Easy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Laura Childs turns what could be traditional "cozies" into "thrillzies" by setting her Scrapbook Mysteries series in New Orleans. In Childs' newest release, Fiber & Brimstone, amateur sleuth Carmela Bertrand follows a killer into the haunted Halloween parties of the Big Easy and beyond. Read on to learn how the author captures the true spirit of the city from the Rue Bourbon to the Mississippi River. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Megan Hart

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Megan Hart's third Order of Solace novel, Selfish Is the Heart, was released this week. Now the author goes behind the scenes of her series in this interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Hart shares the inspiration for her handmaidens, her definition of solace and the difference between romance and erotica.

Megan Hart Discusses Her Order of Solace Series >>

Megan Hart Considers What Is the "Right Amount" of Character Angst >>

Megan Hart Shares the Differences Between Erotica and Romance >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Big Move For Debbie Macomber!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Debbie Macomber is moving, but not out of Port Orchard, Washington. The author is changing publishing houses. Starting in 2012, Macomber will be releasing six new novels with Ballantine Bantam Dell!

Readers need not worry, Macomber's new publisher is devoted to keeping the same small town charm of her previous novels. “The values of family, community and service are integral elements of Debbie Macomber's storytelling, which are cherished by her readers and admired by her peers,” says Theresa Zoro, the director of publicity at Random House which owns Ballantine Bantam Dell. 

The first three of these six books will hit shelves in 2012, with Ballantine planning to publish three Macomber novels the following year. The even better news is that Macomber will be starting a new series set in Port Orchard, Washington — the inspiration for her popular Cedar Cove books!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Small Town, Big World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jo Leigh may live in a small town, but that didn't keep her from incorporating a much larger world into her new series romance, ShiverThe story impressed RT Reviewer Andrew Shaffer as being, “Smart, funny and awash in pop-culture references, Shiver is exactly the type of book that’s needed to attract new readers under 30 to contemporary romance.” Find out how a woman who lives so far off the beaten path creates novels that are pitch-perfect to readers ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Night Out At The Honky Tonk - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Ever wonder what it would be like to spend a night hanging out with some line-dancing, beer-drinking, Texas cowboys? Now you can get in on the action without ever leaving home. Author Carolyn Brown's October release, My Give a Damn's Busted, is the latest installment of her down-home contemporary romance series that revolves around a cowboy bar in Mingus, Texas. And after this special trip to the Honky Tonk, the author will be giving away two signed sets of her entire series!

Put on your tight fittin’ jeans and boots! Tonight we’re going honky tonkin’ in Mingus, Texas. There are several beer joints in town but we are going to the Honky Tonk. It’s still hot in Mingus, Texas even though it’s the first of October so don’t be thinkin’ about a jacket. Dress to work up a sweat because you will be two-steppin’ and line dancin’.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
24COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Soap Actress To Author

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Superstar soap opera actress Lisa Rinna is now wowing fans in a whole new way. This Days of Our Life and Melrose Place veteran is making her fiction debut with Starlit, the story of a waitress who becomes a star — and then must deal with the consequences of fame. So we caught up with the actress to find out what it was like for her to become an author!

You've been in the public eye for so long as an actress, what reaction did you get from friends and fans when you announced you were going to start writing?
Well they know I like to do things outside of the box and things that scare me and so I don't think anyone was that surprised :)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST