RT Daily Blog

Author Interview With Cathryn Fox

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Erotic romance author Cathryn Fox has been heating up readers' dreams with her paranormal series, Eternal Pleasure. Now get an insider's look at the gated community of Serene, New England and the creatures that make their homes there. In this author interview Fox shares details about the first three stories in the series and offers her advice for readers new to paranormal erotic romance!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your current series, Eternal Pleasure, is set in the community of Serene, New Hampshire where all sorts of paranormal creatures live. So why does a community with the name of ‘Serene’ host witches, demons, vampires, lycans and shape shifters?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview: Marie Bostwick

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

With the lingering frustrations from the storm that crippled New York City last week, the RT editors have spent a lot of time indoors pursuing their various crafty hobbies. Here's a never-before-seen video interview with one of our favorite crafting mavens, mainstream author Marie Bostwick. She and RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus chat about quilting and the role that it plays in her latest novel, A Thread So Thin

Marie Bostwick on crafting A Thread So Thin >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

VICKY’S GUIDE TO WRITING AND PUBLISHING A NOVEL THE ACCIDENTAL WAY

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

From inspiration to publication, debut author Vicky Dreiling shares how she "accidentally" ended up writing her Regency romance, How to Marry a Duke!

How to Conjure Up an Idea for a Novel

Watch TV. No, I’m not joking. One night, I happened upon the reality show The Bachelor. While I’d never watched the show before, I was riveted and knew by the end of the episode that I had to write a Regency-era version. I invented a hostess for this mad courtship, Miss Tessa Mansfield, an infamous and wealthy matchmaker. Then I created the most eligible bachelor in England, Tristan the drop-dead gorgeous Duke of Shelbourne. 

How to Write a Regency-set Bachelor Novel

First, I thought about famous bachelors such as Prince William (who is now off the market, but I digress). What do these coveted bachelors have in common? Every single female on the planet is determined to land them. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lawrence Watt-Evans Is Inspired By...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Lawrence Watt-Evans transports readers to a world in which the struggle between magic and law has forced a good man to become an outlaw hero. Now the author shares the events that inspired him to create his own version of this classic literary figure. 

My recent novel, Above His Proper Station, is the second half of the story that began a year earlier in A Young Man Without Magic, and that story was the result of several conversations I had with myself and my editor, the late Brian Thomsen, back in 2007. I had just finished a trilogy called the Annals of the Chosen that turned out to be much less fun to write than I’d expected – which doesn’t mean it wasn’t fun to read, of course, but I didn’t much enjoy writing it. I wanted my next project to be very different, and to be something I would enjoy writing.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Timely Trip Off The Beaten Path With Harlequin's Newest Regencies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Just after New Year's, Harlequin has us thinking about trips off the beaten path with two newly released Regency romances. Readers can visit Northumberland in Michelle Styles' Impoverished Miss, Convenient Wife or head to Bershire, England for MIss Winbolt and the Fortune Hunter by Sylvia Andrew

Reviewer Dawn Crowne was particularly taken by two aspects of Styles' Regency romp. She says of the tale,"Heroine Phoebe is a wonderfully strong character and the Northumberland setting unique." And who doesn't love a story of redeeming love just as we start failing at our New Year's resolutions? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Stephanie Rowe Talks Guilty Pleasures - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Stephanie Rowe talks guilty pleasures and gives readers a special look at the unusual weakness of Trinity Harpswell, the heroine of this month’s paranormal release Kiss at Your Own Risk. And don’t miss your chance to win the novel at the end of the post!

HE NEEDED A KILLER WOMAN.
Blaine Underhill was one lucky man. Having recently escaped a century and a half of imprisonment at the hands of an evil witch, he's determined to save his still-enslaved friend. But in order to do so, he'll need the help of one of the world's most lethal women.

SHE WAS DROP DEAD GORGEOUS, LITERALLY.
Trinity Harpswell is sick and tired of being a Black Widow. Having managed to go three years without accidentally killing anyone she loves, she's one short week away from freeing herself from this killer curse forever. When Blaine tracks her down and convinces her to help him, little does Trinity know that the next seven days are going to be murder! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
29COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 1/4/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

E-Reader Refresher

BY Dear Jane, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

***

I spent the last week fielding questions from my family members about how to use their new devices. I thought that there might be several people out there who previously were uninterested in ereading posts that might need a refresher course. The instructions below are for Mac users, however, Kindles and nooks are also PC-compatible.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ruth Pennebaker on Mothers, Daughters and the Things We Don't Know About Those We Love the Most

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Ruth Pennebaker on the extremely challenging but, often extremely rewarding, relationships that fuel her latest tale. 

My new novel, Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakthrough, centers on what I think is the richest, most complicated relationship around – the mother-daughter relationship.

I wrote the novel for all kinds of reasons – the way any author writes a book, I guess. But one of the most compelling reasons is that I had a very troubled relationship with my own mother, who died 13 years ago, but I’m hopeful my relationship with my grown daughter will be far better. Anyway, I’m familiar with mother-daughter conflict and mother-daughter love.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Tasty Mysteries - With Recipes!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of my very favorite trends in the mystery genre is the tales of deception and death that involve cooking and baking escapades. I love figuring out the identity of a murder, thief or other evil-doer, and then introducing a new recipe into my kitchen repertoire from the story I just devoured. So we went to Sheila Connolly, Jenn McKinlay and Julie Hyzy, who are each continuing their sleuths' adventures this month. The three authors share the food aspect in these yummy mysteries — and a recipe from their tasty series!

 

A Killer Crop
by Sheila Connolly


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST