RT Daily Blog

Clare B. Dunkle Puts Her Own Spin On The Classics

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the YA adventure The House of Dead Maids, author Clare B. Dunkle bring Heathcliff and Seldom House to life before Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights takes place. Learn why Dunkle fell in love with the classics and some of the alternate beginnings, middles and endings that she would weave into four other classic tales.

Lots of readers come to the classics through well-meaning but boring school assignments, and there’s nothing like making a thing mandatory to suck all the thrill out of it. But I didn’t have to go to school to find the classics. My mother was an English professor, so our house had a room stuffed with the greatest books ever written, and she was always ready to help me find more interesting layers in those books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Unique Jobs That Are Catching Our Eye In Series Romance!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the early days of series romances (just a few decades ago) heroines who were employed tended to work as secretaries, nurses and teachers. Today women hold jobs in all different sectors of the workforce and series romances certainly reflect this diversity. They work all around the globe and in a variety of fascinating careers. Get a special look at three of the January heroines whose unique occupations have us considering a job change!

 

Jane Harper, life coach in Because of Jane
by Lenora Worth


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Men Writing Romance, Mainstream Picks, A List Of Great Blogs And More!

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I reveal the blogs I am addicted to reading, list my favorite recent mainstream books, answer a question about men writing romance and more! Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: I’m looking for some great contemporary novels. I'm not into romance, so maybe you could recommend some books about important friendships. - Sarah


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Keeping In The Holiday Spirit: A Midwinter Fantasy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

With blizzards hitting all over the country, it is nice to escape from the cold curled up with a good book. This season, we recommend the paranormal anthology A Midwinter Fantasy to transport yourself to wonderful faraway lands. RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus shares an in-depth author interview with the anthology's authors, Leanna Renee Hieber, L.J. McDonald and Helen Scott Taylor about what you can expect inside their three new novellas!

Morgan Doremus: Can each of you describe the paranormal creatures/characters in each of your stories and make the argument for why your paranormal characters are superior? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes and Wrongs: On the conversation-killer "Please visit my site to check out my work ..."

BY Shiloh Walker, JANUARY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

There are certain words that are almost a guarantee to turn other authors off your work. Now, not all authors, mind you. There may be some that don’t care. But there are some that do. Because these words are annoying…especially when they come right after you’ve been a compliment. 

It’s also usually something a new author tends to do a lot. It’s okay…because it’s a mistake a lot of authors make and unless you do it repeatedly, it’s not going to kill interest forever.

But these words can really put a damper on the conversation. Wanna know what they are?

Please visit my site to check out my work…


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kim Murphy And The Cunning Folk

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

During a time when people believed that witchcraft was behind their misfortunes, Kim Murphy found inspiration for her latest historical fiction. Look back into the 1600 and 1700s when witch-hunts ran rampant throughout society and learn about the role that “cunning folk” play in Murphy’s new novel, The Dreaming: Walks Through Mist.

Imagine a beautiful woman being searched for minor body imperfections that would prove she was a witch. This scene was played out all across Europe. In North America, most people think of Salem, but in truth the first witch trial held on the continent took place in Virginia. As a Virginia resident, I was intrigued to learn more, and the premise became the basis for my paranormal/historical novel, The Dreaming: Walks Through Mist.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 1/11/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More From Debut YA Author Beth Revis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Beth Revis’ debut novel Across the Universe is an RT January Top Pick! This fast-paced, futuristic YA will have your pulse pounding as teens Amy and Elder race to discover the identity of the killer aboard their spaceship. In the January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, readers got to learn about the making of this new tale in the Teen Scene article “Star Struck.” Now the author answers a few more of our questions about that book that hits stores today!  

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Tell us about the trilogy. Do you have the second and third books written? Plotted? Can you give us spoilers (like are they finally going to land on the planet?!)?

Beth Revis: Haha! Yes, I do have the entire trilogy planned, and I know what the final scene of the third book will be. But I'm keeping mum about the details! I'll only say this: At least two things you think are true from the first book are actually lies.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

FBI Agents, Detectives and Marshals—Oh My!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Irene Hannon has transitioned from writing contemporary series books to creating tales of romantic suspense. Discover which classic tales of suspense inspired the author to try her hand at this new genre and find out what she's learned as she starts her second romantic suspense series.

When I decided to dip my toes into romantic suspense after writing 20+ contemporary series romances, I knew I’d be entering a whole new world.

It wasn’t going to be Kansas anymore.

And taking such a plunge is always a little scary.

But I’ve loved romantic suspense ever since my Nancy Drew days. In fact, my first novel—now buried in the deepest, darkest corner of my closet, where it shall forever remain—was a romantic suspense. And it was bad. Really bad. I didn’t have the law enforcement background to write that kind of book, nor was the internet around in those days. So I went with contemporary romance.

A few years ago, however, the urge to write romantic suspense returned.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST