RT Daily Blog

Science Fiction Icon L.E. Modesitt Jr. Is Coming To This Year's RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to announce that best-selling author L.E. Modesitt Jr. is attending the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION!

This multi-award winning author has won fans for his works of science fiction and fantasy. Now those attending the convention will have the chance to hear him speak on the science fiction genre panel, Creating Out Of This World Science Fiction.

The author will also be signing books at the Saturday bookfair which is open to the public. Fans who are coming just for the bookfair should bring their treasured copies of his books and he will autograph them. All attendees will also be able to purchase Modesitt Jr.'s latest books at the bookfair.

Finally on Sunday, conventioneers will enjoy a more intimate chance to meet the author during our Social Sunday sessions, where he will be participating at the author speed meeting event

More about the authors attending this year's convention >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Steve Hockensmith Ditches His Prelude

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Steve Hockensmith's latest addition to his mystery series Holmes on the Range with this month's World's Greatest Sleuth! The novel follows the adventure of two brothers in the late 1800s, that travel to the first-ever World's Fair in order to enter the competition for the title of the World's Greatest Sleuth. Enjoy this exclusive look at the original prologue of Hockensmith's new release.

I admit it: I’m a cheater. Not at cards or Monopoly. Not on my taxes. And dear Lord -- I’m not talking about cheating on my wife! How could you think such a thing of me?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Be A Part Of The Novel: Live - UPDATED!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

The sensational folks behind The Novel: Live (thirty six authors, six days, one co-written novel) are offering us the chance to get involved — again.

Back in October thirty six authors — including such big names as Julia Quinn, Elizabeth George, Deb Caletti and Susan Wiggs — worked together to create a single novel. They did this over the course of six days, writing in front of an audience and taking their suggestions, to raise money for literacy. Amazing, right? That line-up impressive as someone who doesn't even like speaking in public I can't imagine being able to put together an entire story in front of an audience!

The resulting novel from this charity event will be e-published by Open Road Media this May. And I am positively rabid to get my hands on this story, I mean, look at the authors involved. But before the book can hit digital bookshelves, these authors need our help with one more thing ... naming the book.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get A Taste For Alphabet Soup

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the March issue of RT, we investigate a new trend we've been noticing on books as of late — the initialed psuedonym! Enjoy this additional content from our "Alphabet Soup" article as the co-authors (and sisters!) who comprise P.J. Parrish give you a taste of what's to come.

RT: Why did you decide to use "P.J." instead of your names? Did it have anything to do with your chosen genre? Were you looking for a particular audience?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Ladies Who Love A Good Steam

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Reading romance is all about getting a glimpse into exciting times and new worlds and there is nothing more adventurous than the re-imagined Victorian-era tales of Steampunk fiction. To keep up with the new sub-genre, RT's Morgan interviewed Mari Fee, Sahara Kelly and Tilda Booth, authors who have Steampunk e-novellas from Samahin Publishing's Silk, Steel and Steam series. 

Morgan Doremus: Steampunk is still a relatively new sub-genre in the paranormal/fantasy category. Can each of you define what you see Steampunk as and how your story fits into the genre?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Modern Spin On The Marriage Of Convenience - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s an old fashioned marriage for the contemporary couple in Robin Kaye’s new release, Yours for the Taking. Now the author offers her advice for making this kind of partnership successful. And enter to win a copy of Yours For The Taking at the end of this post!

My latest book, Yours for the Taking is a modern day marriage of convenience story with an urban twist. I thought you might benefit from The Dos and Don’ts of Marriages of Convenience. I’m sure my heroine, Gina Reyez could have used the little cheat sheet below to help her on the rocky road that led to her happily ever after. 

THE DOS AND DON’TS OF MARRIAGES OF CONVENIENCE

1. Do get the sexual orientation of your marriage partner correct. Any mistake could prove embarrassing later on in the relationship. Then again, as in Ben and Gina’s case, it could prove to be rather exciting.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT EXCLUSIVE: Excerpts From A Gossip Column

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Pamela Klaffke worked as a journalist before turning her attention to writing novels. So Klaffke is no stranger to the type of writing that keeps a gossip column juicy. In the author's new novel, the January RT Top Pick!, Every Little Thing,  protagonist Mason has been the object of her very own mother's gossip column. We just had to know what sort of intimate details Mason's mother revealed about her daughter, so we asked Klaffke to share a bit from the humiliating newspaper column.

The late Britt Castleman was Mason McDonald’s mother. At the outset of Every Little Thing, Britt has recently passed away due to complications of vaginal rejuvenation surgery and her daughter, Mason, has been summoned back to her hometown of San Francisco for the funeral. She’s been partially estranged from her mother for years, choosing to live in a tiny Canadian mountain town where no one knows of or reads her mother’s embarrassing newspaper column, many of which have detailed the most private moments of Mason’s life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Hendrix On The Ten Worst Curses To Endure

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Lisa Hendrix's paranormal medieval historical romance, Immortal Champion, was rated a January RT Top Pick! RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin praised Hendrix's "talent for seamlessly blending magic, myth and romance." So it is no surprise that the Vikings of Hendrix Immortal Brotherhood series suffer from a curse that would make us give up all hope! Discover what this author considers to be the ten worst curses that can be cast on a man or beast.

In the early days of the Viking raids on England, one chieftain heard rumors of a great treasure, and he sent his best men to steal it. Unbeknownst to the raiders, however, the treasure was guarded by a powerful sorceress named Cwen, and when the warriors killed her son in the ensuing battle, she spun dark magic to curse them. She condemned them to live as were-beasts, changing back and forth between man and animal at dawn and dusk every day. And in her fury, she also made them immortal, so that their torment would go on and on...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Crude Dragon To A Sizzling Hero - With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Janet Chapman shares a look at the evolution of a very special hero: William Killkenny. This month William creates sparks with Madeline Kimble in Dragon Warrior. But William first appeared in Chapman's world long before he was ever hero material ...

Every so often a secondary character shows up in one of my stories and catches me by complete surprise with his sheer … loudness. But when two captivating secondary characters appear on the same page—well, that’s why it’s called magic.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 1/25/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST