There are so many new book deals being made in the Young Adult market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of the new YA book deals that we can't wait for — just after they have been announced! 

In Susan Vaught’s Freak, a teenage boy with schoizophrenia becomes the main suspect when his mute best friend disappears. We can’t wait for this controversial tale that is slated for publication in Fall 2012.

What would you do if you transferred to a new school only to instantly be humiliated? Well, if you are the heroine of Kristin Walker's upcoming novel Seven Clues to Winning You, you go underground and attempt to salvage a scavanger hunt and in the process maybe learn that you aren’t all alone at your new school. Publication date TBA.

C. Alexander London debuts with what seems to be a twist on The Prince and the Pauper. The novel, Proxy, is the tale of two boys from the opposite extremes of society in a community where the poor are paid to take punishments for the rich. Can these boys untangle the conspiracy that they are both wrapped in? We will let you know as soon as there’s any news about this intriguing novel!

It’s love at first tee-time for the heroine of Liz Finchera’s Hooked. This Native American teenager is the first girl to join her teen’s varsity golf team — with unexpected results! No word yet on the publication date.

Author Jessica Keener transports readers to the Mad Men-esq world of Boston, MA in the 1970s where her heroine, a sixteen-year-old singer, reacts to her drug-abusing mother’s death by acting out and looking for solace by becoming sexually active. We predict that this January 2012 novel will intrigue readers who enjoy Sarah Dessen and Cynthia Voight.

And here’s your Friday Freebie:

Fan favorite author Cecil Castellucci re-boots Casablanca as a two-book YA series. The twist? The author sets the story on a space station. The story will be told in two parts - The Tin Star and A Stone in the Sky. We are ravenous for more details, and will be passing them along as soon as they are announced.

For more soon-to-be-published books you can visit our Upcoming Releases page and be sure to check out our Forewords column every Monday for the week’s newest book deals across all the genres!
Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL PRINT SHARE PERMALINK