Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Historical Romance - Just what are they teaching ladies at the School for Brides in Cheryl Ann Smith's historical series? Certainly not to go after a dangerous highwayman to offer him a marriage of convenience. However, this is exactly what the heroine decides to do in the author’s third book, which will be on shelves next year. 

Paranormal - What’s harder than saving a doomed marriage? Saving said marriage while also trying to destroy a demon from Hell. The couple from Kristen Callihan’s upcoming novel Winterblaze must to this and more as the author continues her historical Darkest London series. 

NEW SERIES ALERT

Romantic Suspense - Just off of her popular “Sweet” books’ success, author Christy Reece is at it again with a new series. This one will feature three sisters living in the Deep South. We can’t wait for more of Reece’s signature suspense, and we are equally intrigued to see if the author will set this trilogy in her home state of Alabama. 

Contemporary Romance - Get ready for some serious cowboy action when Kat Murray releases her upcoming Studs & Spurs books. The series starter, Taking The Reins, introduces a heroine who is down on her luck and looking to turn around her family’s failing stud ranch. Thankfully, she has the help of a sexy horse trainer. Publication date: TBA. 

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY

Erotica - Heather Massey, founder of the uber awesome science fiction romance blog The Galaxy Express, has just announced her deal with Red Sage Publishing for an upcoming Victorian sex doll erotic steampunk romance The Watchmaker’s Lady. Releasing in Spring 2012, the tale has been already been labeled a “clockpunk” story. And we were just wondering what would be the next big thing after steampunk ...

Series Romance - The historical couple in Kate Bridges’ next Harlequin book have quite a history. They often butted heads while the heroine was engaged to the hero’s cousin. But they have both begun new lives in the wake of the Great Chicago Fire and it is time for them to set aside their differences if they hope to make a go of their new start in Napa Valley, California.

Thriller - Have you ever wondered what actually happened when Niccolo Machiavelli sat down to write The Prince? Then you should definitely check out the upcoming historical thriller by Michael Ennis titled A Most Beautiful Deception. This story will transport readers back to 1502, Italy, to tell the classic political tome’s secret history and the background will include the Borgias, Leonardo da Vinci, a courtesan on a dangerous mission, a mastermind killer and more!

Science Fiction - Alex Bledsoe is writing a second story set in the same world as his fall release The Hum and the Shiver. Titled Wisp of a Thing, Bledsoe’s newest protagonist is struggling to recover from his girlfriend’s death. Unfortunately for him, a Tufa civil war is starting and he is caught in the middle of the action. Tor will be releasing this new title in 2012. 

Young Adult - Described as “the Titanic disaster in outer space”, Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner's Wrecked is already getting a lot of buzz. The story begins when a rich teen socialite’s spaceliner crash-lands on an unknown planet. If inhospitable lands and strange incidents aren’t enough, the heroine must also face the unwanted feelings she has for the young war hero that finds himself on the planet as well. This otherworldly tale releases in Summer 2013. 

Contemporary Romance - Get ready for not one but two new oh-so-romantic tales from author Jane Graves. There is no word on titles or release dates for her next two books, but we do know a bit about the leading men. In the first book, the hero is a veterinarian who stayed in his small town and the second book features a champion bull-rider who is back in that same town — breaking his vow to never return. 

EXCITING DEBUT AUTHORS

Mystery - Author Stephan Talty has already made a name for himself with the New York Times bestselling nonfiction book, Empire of the Water. But now Talty is moving in a whole new direction, into fiction. His novel Black Irish kicks off a series that features a Harvard-educated policewoman. The series starter has the heroine on the run as she receives confusing messages from a serial killer loose in Buffalo, New York. 

Women’s Fiction - Fans of Sue Monk Kidd and Rebecca Wells have a new author to look forward to reading. Natalie Baszile's first novel, Queen Sugar, which will be releasing shortly, is about a woman at a crossroads in her life. Moving to the Gulf Coast in order to care for the sugarcane estate her father left her, the protagonist is very unsure what her future holds.

NON-FICTION PICK

Cookbook - Obsessed with Tolkien? Can’t get enough of the fantastical Middle-Earth? Transport yourself there with Astrid Tuttle Winegar's A Hobbit’s Cookbook: Eleventy-one Sweets, Snacks, and Savories Inspired by Middle-Earth. But don’t be fooled by the title, recipes included in the text are not all for Hobbits. This cookbook will teach you how to eat like a king (or an elf or orc) as well. We just wish we didn’t have to wait until Fall 2012 to get our hands on what promises to be a delicious book! 

MOVIE DEALS

Nicole Kidman’s Blossom Films has purchased Kevin Wilson's very unusual story, The Family Fang. Wilson’s book features a married couple that makes their living creating unique performance art, and are raising their young children as part of the act. But will Child A and Child B agree to stay in the show once they are grown? We will just have to wait until the film releases, hopefully sometime soon, to find out. 

ABC Family Films is currently adapting author Dan Waters' series Generation Dead. Set in a typical high school in Connecticut, full of typical students, except, oh yeah, the student body includes “living impaired” students that long for normal lives. These teen zombies don’t want much, just to try out for the football team and enjoy romances with girls like everyone else.

These are this week's deals that we can’t wait to hear more about in the coming months. Check back every Monday for more Forewords and you can always visit our Upcoming Releases Page!