Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Historical Romance - We are thrilled to learn that author Jane Ashford, who has been writing for decades, will soon re-publish her 18-book backlist as well as an all new tale of historical intrigue. Her never-before-read book, The Widow Wylde, will tell the tale of a woman who becomes the prime suspect in her husband’s murder case. In desperation, she turns to the man’s nephew searching for help. Working together, will they be able to protect her from being accused of murder and discover the true killer?

Paranormal Romance - Author Joyce Gessinger will start her new IKATI series with The Daughter, about a young woman who learns that she’s actually a shape-shifting predator. Unwittingly caught between two fearsome forces that will do anything to see the other destroyed, the heroine must fight to survive. This novel is slated to be in stores in 2012 and we can’t wait to learn more about this heroine’s secret heritage! 

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Erotica - Joey W. Hill will be continuing her popular paranormal Vampire Queen series with two more tales. The author gave us a peek at what’s ahead for her characters in this exclusive interview

Romantic Suspense - Bestselling author Laura Griffin continues her popular Tracers series — perfect for fans of CSI and NCIS — which follows a special group of forensic scientists. Readers are promised three more books, all of which are set to be published in 2013 and 2014.

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY

Historical Romance - Have you ever wondered what HBO’s Boardwalk Empire would look like if it were set in New York and was focused on a love story? Then get ready for Jamie Brenner’s The Gin Lovers, which features an innocent young woman who learns that her husband’s high society family is hiding dangerous secrets. This book will definitely be on the top of our "to buy" list when it hits shelves this fall! 

Mystery - Dennis Tafoya takes on family drama for The Poor Boy’s Game, the story of a tough, female ex-Marshal who has moved into the private sector only to come up against the most frightening criminal she’s ever met — her own father, who has just broken out of prison.

Urban Fantasy - When Melissa Olson’s “Null” heroine arrives at the scene of a violent magical murder just moments before the LAPD arrives, she has no time to clean up and thus becomes the prime suspect in both the investigation being conducted by the police — and the one run by her boss, the City’s Master Vampire. But can this woman’s werewolf bodyguard and a sympathetic detective prove her innocence before it’s too late? Find out in Dead Spots, which will be published this fall. 

Historical Fiction - The year is 1867 and three women have just agreed to leave their homes in New York City and travel to Nebraska as mail-order brides. But will this Civil War widow, Bavarian immigrant and barmaid be able to escape their respective troubles — bankruptcy, shyness and grief — by starting over? You’ll have to read Kelly O’Connor’s In Need of a Good Wife to discover if they each can find happily ever afters. 

EXCITING DEBUT AUTHORS

Series Romance - In Freefall, the debut novel from Jodie Bailey, a young woman working with an undercover agent, who also happens to be an ex-commando, will attempt to end the reign of a powerful drug smuggler. It will be an uphill battle as one of the heroine’s cohorts is trying to undermine the team’s progress. Thankfully, we don’t have long to wait; this Love Inspired Suspense tale will be published in 2012.

Contemporary Romance - New voice Melissa Culter pairs a celebrity chef with a cattle rancher and creates sparks in her trilogy starter, The Trouble with Cowboys. The chef is returning to her hometown to start a restaurant with her two sisters, so we’ve got a hunch that they will be the heroines of books two and three, but nothing is for certain until we get our hands on the first in the series next October!

Mystery - Visit Wales with Ewart Hutton’s first book Good People. The story follows a rule-breaking cop who gets “exiled” to the country. (Although honestly, being sent to Wales doesn’t sound like much of a punishment to us …)

NON FICTION PICKS

Memoir - Emily Rapp gained a following during 2011 with her New York Times op-ed “Notes from a Dragon Mom” about raising a child with the illness Tay-Sachs, who is deemed unlikely to live longer than his third birthday. The article investigated how to be a good parent, successful and “live a meaningful life” in comparison to the expectations set forth by society’s philosophy, myth and literature. The yet-untitled full-length book based on this article does not have a publication date yet, but we’re already stocking up on tissues. 

Writing Help - And if you’re a mom who is interested in writing, be sure to take a look at Use Your Words: A Writing Guide for Mothers. This instructional book by Kate Hopper is focused on helping moms write about their lives, their triumphs and tragedies raising children, turning family lore and anecdotes into something much greater. 

MOVIE DEALS

Young Adult - Author Jennifer Lynn Barnes popular series The Squad stars Toby, a computer hacker who gets drafted to become part of Bayport High School’s varsity cheer team, only to learn that the team is actually made up of government agents. This story about a band of teenage spies has been optioned by ABC Family, the producers of the popular TV adaptation of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series, among others.

Mystery - Although Tana French has only published three books in the five years that she’s been writing, the author is already making waves and garnering recognition. So it’s not surprising that her popular novels In the Woods, which won 2007’s Edgar Award for Best First Novel, and 2008’s The Likeness have both been optioned by Paramount Pictures for film adaptations.

These are this week's deals that we can’t wait to hear more about in the coming months. Check back every Monday for more Forewords and you can always visit our Upcoming Releases Page!