Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Mystery - Stephanie Bond takes on two estranged sisters as the heroines of her upcoming books. The Two Guys Detective Agency series will follow the Guy sisters, who set aside their differences to invest in a struggling PI agency in a strip mall. We look forward to seeing if working together will help these two siblings bridge the gap that’s formed between them — of if being co-workers will simply drive them further apart.

Young Adult - For Sarah Zettel’s next historical adventure, she tells the story of an orphan who assumes the identity of a lady-in-waiting. But there’s a reason this series is called The Palace Intrigue Diaries. Nothing is as it seems: the original lady-in-waiting was murdered, the court is full of spies and the young artist who has caught our heroine’s eye may be her only ally — or her enemy. We can’t wait for the drama, lucky for us it will begin in Fall 2013 with Scandal’s Daughter!

Historical Romance - Love boys with brogue? Then Sue-Ellen Welfonder’s next quartet will be sure to please. The author will be treating fans to four more Scotland-set historical romances — and the series will begin soon with an e-novella.

Young Adult - Sophie Jordan will embark on a new series with teen heroes and heroines. Uninvited, the series starter, introduces a heroine who discovers that she carries the “Homicidal Tendency Syndrome” gene. This revelation will have her re-examining her life and the future she thought she’d have. We can’t wait for this spooky psychological thriller to hit shelves.

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY

Science Fiction - If you love space operas, be sure to check out Shadow’s Call by Adam Christopher. According to the announcement of the book’s sale, the novel features the following elements: 1) “a washed-up Fleet commander” who must fight 2) “a sentient mechanical spider race” and all of 3) “sinister allies” on 4) “a distant outpost, bathed in toxic radiation from a nearby star.” Luckily that commander has help from 5) “a long-dead Cosmonaut” and something we didn’t even know existed 6) “a sexy but troubled celebrity asteroid-miner.” Any of those six elements alone would be interesting but all together they equal a fascinating story teaser! The only thing we’re left to wonder about is when this novel will be published ...

Thriller - Do you believe that global warming is a hoax or are you staunchly in the An Inconvenient Truth camp? Either way you’ll want to check out Gregg Loomis’ upcoming tale, Hot Ice. The story features special agent has just uncovered that a secret organization may be altering the results of the study of global warming.

EXCITING DEBUT AUTHORS

Urban Fantasy - It’s the year 2059 and the 19-year-old heroine of Samantha Shannon’s seven-book series is employed by London’s criminal element. She has the power to drop in and out of people’s minds, making her the perfect liaison between secret cells. However, the young woman has just been kidnapped and brought to Oxford where she will meet Warden. In a city that has been forgotten for 200 years, Warden, a Rephaite will act as her keeper … and may steal her heart. We can’t wait to get more answers about this series that will begin with The Bone Season in 2013.

Paranormal Romance - What would you do if you discovered that the man who was destined to be your target for assassination held the keys to your heart? This is the struggle that Amy Raby’s heroine stumbles into in Assassin’s Gambit, when she learns that the man she’s been trained since birth to kill is actually the person she’s fallen for. (Lucky for us, after we read Raby’s series first, we can most likely expect at least three more books set in the same world.)

Mainstream Fiction - Fans of The Help and The Secret Life of Bees should keep an eye out for Dollbaby by Laura L. McNeal. The story opens in New Orleans 1964 as a young girl comes to stay at her Southern grandmother’s home and a maid named Dollbaby helps her navigate her grandmother’s world.

STAND-OUT SHORT

Mystery - Elect H. Mouse State Judge gives adults a look at a noir Toy Story might be like. Nelly Reifler gives us a look at the abduction of two daughters of a politician just before an election. Their captors are the Sunshine Family, the girls are mice and the P.I.s investigating the case are Barbie and Ken in this novella.

NON-FICTION PICK

Biography - Go deep into the art world that emerged in wartime and post war-America in Mary Gabriel’s Ninth Street Women. The book looks at the ladies of Abstract Expressionism who broke barriers and made great strides for women’s equality in the world of art. 

TELEVISION TIE-IN

Marcus Sakey’s 2009 thriller Good People will be adapted for the small screen. The story follows a married couple desperate for a child — and barely keeping their relationship together and their bank account in the black — who discover that their reclusive tenant has died and left $400,000 in the downstairs apartment. The money seems like the answer but they soon discover that it belongs to some of the most dangerous Chicago criminals … and the men want it back. Tobey Maguire is set to star in the show and the original director of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’s, Niels Arden Oplev, will helm the project. 

These are this week's deals that we can’t wait to hear more about in the coming months. Check back every Monday for more Forewords!