RT Daily Blog

Rewriting Societal Rules With The Heroine From The Captive by Grace Burrowes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a historical heroine who's not afraid to bend the rules of courtship? In Grace Burrowes's The Captive, hero Christian, Duke of Mercia, is a traditional fellow, while heroine Gilly, the Countess of Greendale, thinks he could use a few pointers. Today the author tells us how Gilly sets Christian straight.

Christian, Duke of Mercia, was raised as the heir to any great title would be, with a firm grasp of the rules of courting. He’s been married, so he knows those rules lead to a proper conclusion at a proper altar with a pretty, smitten lady wearing a pretty, expensive ring of his choosing. He relies on the tried and true procedure when pursuing his second duchess, Gilly, the widowed Countess of Greendale, but the results suggest his rules need revising.

Rule No. 1: Propose on bended knee.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


World Cup Fever: Six Soccer Romances to Heat Up Your TBR Pile

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying things have been heating up thanks to the World Cup. People are excited, Twitter’s all abuzz and there are hot soccer players on our screens left and right. (And if you’ve been living under a rock these past few weeks, trust us, they’re super hot.) And if the World Cup isn’t enough, here’s a rundown of soccer romances that deserve a spot on your ereaders. All books are available as ebooks only unless otherwise noted.


Striker by Michelle Betham - Local TV Sports reporter and daughter to an ex-professional soccer player, Amber Sullivan knows better than to get involved with a player. But when she snags an exclusive story on Ryan Fisher, one of the hottest and most talented players, she finds her resolve wavering.

Buy it now: Amazon | Kobo


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Suzanne and Melanie Brockmann Take On YA

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Back in May, while we partied it up at the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention, we sat down with bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann and her daughter, Melanie Brockmann, for an interview in which the Brockmann's discussed their upcoming YA novel, Night Sky. This series opener is set in the same futuristic world as Suzanne's Born to Darkness. Watch the video below to hear Suzanne and Melanie talk about what it's like writing together, their creative processes and what readers can expect to see in the new series. Take a look:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Luckiest Lady in London by Sherry Thomas

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Barefoot in the Sand by Roxanne St. Claire

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Rooms by Lauren Oliver

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

In our Cover Breakdowns feature, I've been taking closer looks at recently revealed covers that have caught my eye. Today, I examine the cover for Lauren Oliver's upcoming adult novel, Rooms, due out on September 23. As a major Lauren Oliver fan, I'm super excited to read Rooms and I'm rather in love with the cover. Take a look:

Isn't it pretty?

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family — bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton and unforgiving daughter Minna — have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Carly Phillips's Dare to Surrender Trailer Reveal and Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let's be honest - trailers are the best part about seeing a movie in the theater. So it's only natural that our trailer love carries over to our one true love: books. Today, we have an exclusive reveal for the trailer for Carly Phillips's Dare to Surrender, which is part of the collaborative Invitation to Eden series and the third book in her own Dare to Love series.

Let's start with seeing what this book's all about:

After ending a relationship to a cheating, domineering man, Isabelle Masters takes off in her leased Mercedes, only to be arrested for grand theft and hauled to a local police station. To her surprise, she is rescued by the most unlikely person possible, Gabriel Dare, a man she’s been attracted to for far too long. Gabe offers Isabelle freedom along with an invitation to Eden, an exclusive island resort where everything and anything is possible. 

Although Gabe yearns to possess Isabelle, he knows all too well he must fight his primitive need to bind her to him, and instead help bring out the independent woman she yearns to become – or risk losing her for good. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Tenth of December by George Saunders

Short moral dilemmas whose solutions are in their own language: erratic, changeable and incommunicable. A man turns to KnightLyfe®, a medicine that allows someone to assume the speech of a  courteous cavalier and reveals the betrayal of a damsel colleague.

Plot: Tragedies in moral, colorful languages.
Rating: 84 out of 100

The Incal by Alejandro Jodorowsky and Moebius


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Genre Fiction Power Couples

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Many readers know the power couples of literary fiction — Jonathan Safran Foer and Nicole Krauss (who, technically, aren’t anymore after they recently revealed their split), Zadie Smith and Nick Laird, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman — but what about genre fiction? There’s plenty of romance in romance … and urban fantasy, science fiction and YA! Below are some genre fiction power couples who just ooze mushy love.

Ilona and Gordon Andrews

A photo of Ilona and Gordon Andrews

The first genre fiction power couple that comes to mind is, of course, Ilona Andrews — the writing team of Ilona and Gordon Andrews. Ilona immigrated to the U.S. from Russia and met Gordon (whose real name is Andrew Gordon, fun fact), and together they wrote Magic Bites. Their Kate Daniels series is extraordinarily popular and the two have such a fun, playful dynamic in person. I’ve seen them on several panels at RT Con, and they’re absolutely delightful.

Tahereh Mafi and Ransom Riggs


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

DJ and Christin Sound Off on the Delirium Pilot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

A few weeks ago, Hulu and WIGS announced their plans to release the passed over pilot for Delirium, which is based on Lauren Oliver’s bestselling book of the same name, online for a limited time. Book fans went crazy in anticipation and on Friday, the world was finally able to see Oliver’s beloved book come to life. And as major fans of the book, RT’s Assistant Web Editor DJ and reviewer Christin had high expectations, and today, they share their post-viewing thoughts. Warning: spoilers ahead!

THE GOOD

DJ: What I love most about the pilot is that, for the most part, it captures the feel and tone of the book. There’s a creepy sterility to the world and the characters that really drives home the idea that a central emotion - in this case, love - is absent. In particular, Senator Hargrove, played by Michael Michele, seemed the most “cured” and I really enjoyed her scenes.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thea Harrison's Hybrid Moments

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's no one right way to publish a story. For many authors, there are multiple routes to explore. Thea Harrison's Elder Race series is a great example of an author who has chosen to publish traditionally, with a small press and independently across the same universe. Today she's here to talk about her publishing journey and why she felt different stories were suited for different publishing methods.

Being a hybrid author is an interesting and challenging experience, and my path to becoming one took a few years. I returned to fiction writing by going the traditional publishing route. I’ve had nine books in my Elder Races series contracted by Berkley Publishing. Six of those have been published, and the seventh, Night's Honor, releases September 2.

An image showing the covers of Night's Honor, The Wicked and Pia Saves the Day by Thea Harrison

While unquestionably I love those bigger, full-length novels and storylines, there were other aspects to the Elder Races universe that intrigued me — world-building that I wanted to do, along with side characters who were in my head, and who wouldn’t necessarily warrant a full-length book but who were begging me to tell their stories.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST