RT Daily Blog

Big Names In Short Stories - Authors Writing Series And Full Length Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Many beloved authors get their start writing the shorter format series romances. Nora Roberts, Janet Evanovich and Jennifer Crusie are just a few of the writers that first left their mark on readers’ hearts in bite-sized stories. But for some of these storytellers, even after they’ve found success writing longer, stand-alone books (which are also sometimes known as single title works) they keep coming back to their series romance roots. And who can blame them? These novels are quick, fun romps at affordable prices. Today we’re taking a look at a few of the authors who are writing in both format and often going above and beyond to create stories of both lengths that deserve to be on your keeper shelf!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


How Two Notable Debut Fantasy Authors' Characters Take Down Their Enemies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month two new authors debut two very different fantasy tales that take readers from dystopian Atlanta to a Japanese-influenced steampunk universe. Although both tales are very different, we decided to examine how the characters of each story take down their foe.

In Alex Hughes’ debut fantasy Clean, talented telepath Adam is kicked out of The Guild, a special organization of supernaturals, for drug use and must work for the local cops in order to continue solving crimes. Adam must juggle staying clean with earning the trust of the local police department — and that means investigating a series of murders tied to The Guild. Curious about Adam’s gift, we asked the author if she had any suggestions for what it takes to catch criminals using telepathy:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Places You Should Consider Submitting Your Manuscript

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, we know that it can be disheartening to look out into the abyss of potential publishing houses and only see the same old phrase, “no unsolicited manuscripts accepted.” These days many of the major publishing houses rely on their ties with literary agents and in-house promotions to find new authors. But don’t despair; today we’ve come up with a list of nine places — from off-the-beaten path publishers to special back doors of the big-name houses — that would welcome your query letter, manuscript or submission. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vivian Arend On Writing Wolf Shifter Romance And Silver Mine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

Vivian Arend has won over paranormal romance fans with her sexy tales of wolf shifters and the obstacles they must face in order to secure their happily ever afters. Her latest release, Silver Mine, is the second in her Takhini Wolves series and tells the story of veterinarian Shelley and crossbreed shifter Chase. When Chase comes in to Shelley's clinic after being brutally attacked, Shelley offers to help mend his wounds and track down his attacker — risking both her life and her heart. Today, the author shares some details about this new release and why she loves writing shifter romance.

One of my favorite tropes in paranormal romance is fated-mates. There’s something about two people getting gobsmacked out of the blue that makes me go awww.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

September 2012: Which Self-Published Story Is Right For You? Take The Quiz!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

There are a lot of hidden gems out there in the self-publishing world, and we’re determined to bring the extra-shiny ones to your attention. Each month in the RT magazine we review authors and titles in our “Self-Pub Hub” column and in our review sections. This month we’re seeing great choices across the board in genres such as mystery, erotica and mainstream … but which to choose?! Have no fear — we’ve concocted a handy-dandy quiz that should help you strike gold and find the book of your dreams.

***

1. You’d love it if your BFF were more into …

A) Reading books

B) Playing with her kids

C) Designing clothing

D) Spying, sleuthing and otherwise knowing what everyone is up to

E) Helping those in need

 

2. Your ideal man is …

A) Captain Jack Sparrow

B) Edward Scissorhands

C) Special Agent Seeley Booth

D) The Beast from Beauty and the Beast

E) ER’s Dr. Doug Ross (aka George Clooney)

 

3. What scent would you spray on before a first date?

A) Something light, floral and romantic

B) Apple pie, vanilla and clean cotton — the scents of home

C) A classic, luxe perfume

D) Musky and mysterious

E) A clean citrus scent

 

4. What is your ideal week-long vacation?

A) An all-inclusive cruise

B) A New England bed and breakfast getaway

C) Renting an Italian villa


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Author Beverly Jenkins Interviews Sandman Slim Creator Richard Kadrey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

We love it when authors remind us that they're readers, too. When romance author Beverly Jenkins confessed that she was a huge fan of urban fantasy writer Richard Kadrey — author of the Sandman Slim series — we were more than a little surprised. Said Jenkins of Kadrey: “I didn't think anyone could replace Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden at the top of my hit parade but Stark is bearing down on Harry like a semi rolling at 80!” We asked Jenkins if she'd like to interview Kadrey, and based on this thoughtful, hilarious interview, she is definitely a fan!

***

Beverly Jenkins: In looking at your bio, you come off as a twenty-first century renaissance man. You’re an award winning writer, artist, photographer, lecturer, a “degrader of perfection” according to one interview, and you’ve been immortalized as an action figure. You’ve bellied up to enough cultural bars for four or five people. How would you describe yourself?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 9/18/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

HOW TO CAPTURE A COUNTESS

"[Hawkins] sets her witty tale in Scotland and adds a charming castle and an engaging cast of characters, readers have the beginning of an appealing new series."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maya Banks Sells Her Newest Erotica Trilogy For 7 Figures

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today bestselling author Maya Banks announced on her blog that she has sold a new erotic romance trilogy to Berkley. The good news keeps on rolling as Banks also states that these three books will be publishing “very quickly”. The series starter, Rush, will be released in February, followed by Fever in April and then the finale, Burn, in August.

Banks assures readers that with this series, we will get what we’ve “come to expect” from her writing. She goes on to compare these new books to some previous works. Banks writes: "For those of you familiar with my Sweet Series, these new books will be very much that same flavor with a mix of my Harlequin Desires as well. I’ve jokingly said that if you take the heroine from Tycoon’s Rebel Bride and put her with Damon from Sweet Persuasion you have a good idea of the first book heh."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ten Things To Love About Ten

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

When RT's Elissa raved about Ten, the thrilling new YA horror story from Gretchen McNeil about a group of teens who escape to an island for a weekend-long house party — only to find their weekend ruined by a raging storm and a deadly serial killer, we knew it was special. So much so that the book was nominated for September's Seal of Excellence! Today Elissa shares why Ten is a book not to be missed. 

How much do I love Gretchen McNeil’s Ten? Let me count the ways. (Spoiler, there are 10 ways.)

1. The setting, a beautiful house on a nearly deserted island off of Seattle, is both drool-worthy (gorgeous mansion on the water) and terrifying (remote as all get out).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT 

Mystery – Do you spend your time worrying about X, Y and Z? Fret no more! Sue Grafton will be wrapping up her Alphabet Mystery series as Detective Kinsey Millhone finds out what X is For…Y is For…, and Z is For…. Fans will also be treated to Kinsey & Me: Stories, an additional collection of short stories that feature our favorite detective who ferrets out clues from A-Z. 

Young Adult - The situation she’s in bites, but the heroine in Rachel Tafoya’s The Night House has no choice but to sell her blood to hungry vamps. The first book in this trilogy, which will be on shelves in 2014, follows her adventures as well as that of James, the empathetic boy who feels her pain and longs to take it away.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST