RT Daily Blog

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Danielle's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do! With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and of course parties, one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a gander at RT Editorial Assistant Danielle Valente's picks.


Pirates, Scalawags & More

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


2014 Reading Challenge: Young Adult - We Check In

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK


We're well into our reading challenge, where RT Web Team's DJ dared Elissa and Elisa to read Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone, a title a bit outside their comfort zone. (Here's part one.) Today, we're checking in to see how the quest is going thus far. DJ knows that if he picked a dud, his coworkers will never, ever let him live it down. For at least two weeks.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.3 - "Earth Kills"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 100 TV logo

source

The night begins with a flashback to the early days on the Ark. Clarke and her parents — doctor Abby and Jake — are watching an old soccer game with Wells and his father. Abby tells Jake she received some lab results he was waiting on. He immediately leaves and we’re left wondering what he’s up to.

Present day, Clarke tries to reassure Jasper he’s going to be okay, but we’re not so sure. After all, he’s been through a lot. Outside, Clarke hears a girl screaming and finds Charlotte, a young girl, who was having a nightmare about her parents’ deaths. Turns out Charlotte had assaulted a guard when her parents were “floated” (execution by way of being sucked out into space), earning her a spot amongst the 100. Clarke comforts her and tells her maybe everyone can have a fresh start.

Meanwhile, two members of Bellamy’s gang, Trina and Pascal, are lost in the woods when a strange orange fog envelops them, seemingly killing them. The next morning, Bellamy’s minions report back on Trina and Pascal’s disappearance, and he tries to reassure them everything’s fine. Atom’s not his biggest fan right now, though, and neither is Octavia, who just learned her lovely brother punished Atom for making out with her.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

What the Duke Desires by Sabrina Jeffries

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Summer He Came Home by Juliana Stone

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Cover Model Sock Hop!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

logo for the 2014 RT Convention

Grab your poodle skirts and bobby socks and get ready to dance the night away with your favorite cover models at the Cover Model Sock Hop this May in NOLA! Complete with '50s music and dance — don’t worry, we'll have instructors on hand to lead you through the steps — this is a not-to-be-missed extravaganza!

The 2 hour event starts promptly at 7:30 pm on Tuesday, May 13th, and an extra ticket ($70) is required to attend. Throughout the night, select winners will get special slow dances with the hunky models. And when you’re not showing off your skills on the dance floor, you’ll be able to enjoy delicious treats and drinks, including the signature “Cover Model Cosmo”!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The Demons by Fyodor Dostoevsky

If you survive the first (rather tedious) 100 pages, you’ll meet the most cruel and lucid demons on Earth. Among others, there's Kirillov, who commits suicide to prove the non-existence of God, and Shigalev, who wants to enslave 90 percent of humanity to let the remaining 10 percent live better. 

Plot: The demons want to destroy everything, but they fail because everything is already destroyed.

Rating: 97 out of 100

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What's The Best Book Cover Of The Month? Take The Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

We had fun culling through the book covers from all the amazing books releasing this month. But which cover will you vote as the very best? Last month you chose The Dark Affair by Máire Claremont. Will another historical romance cover catch your eye, or will another genre prevail? Take a look at our top ten covers of April 2014 and then cast your vote in the poll at the end of the post!



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Teen Girl Eschews Love Triangle, Chooses Herself

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Photo of an open bottle of nail polish

source

Sixteen-year-old Oakvale High School junior Madyson Morrow instagrammed a picture of her toes poolside with the caption, “Alone at last!” The teen told us she’s completely over the back-and-forth between soccer star and class president James Leader and Link Masterson, who eschews all extra curricular activities except for drag racing and fist fights.

“Seriously, I couldn’t deal anymore,” Madyson told us as she painted her toe nails while reclining by the pool. “It was like, James needed me so he could win state, and then Link had all this family drama that he couldn’t handle and was like, throwing rocks at my window at 2 a.m. so we could make out to help him over his angst.” She rolled her eyes. “I mean, it was hot at first, but, like, hello? I had to take the SATs twice because that guy had no respect for my sleep schedule.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Potential Teen Werewolf Hero Discovers He’s Just Experiencing Late Puberty

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Image of a husky puppy

source

Eighteen-year-old Oakvale High School junior Xavier Medina clarified yesterday that his sudden growth and increase in body hair was, in fact, not a werewolf transformation after all, but an instance of late puberty.

“I woke up one morning with a ton more hair. My chest and stomach were covered in thick, black fur. I even noticed hairs on my knuckles!” Medina told us. “I was terrified I was turning into a werewolf, you know, like on that TV show? My sister is obsessed with it, I don't watch it. Anyway, it seemed like the only logical explanation. Especially because I’ve been eating a lot of hamburgers. My mom is pissed because she keeps having to buy groceries.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Navy SEAL Hero Happy To Retire; Didn’t Really Want To Pursue That Vendetta, Anyway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Close up of veteran's dog tags and military medals

source

Annapolis — Former Navy SEAL and all-around bad ass Redd Stone was all smiles the week following his retirement after an illustrious and top secret 15 year career. “You know,” he told us between long drags of beer, “it feels good to be outta the game.” He patted his stomach. “Some of my buddies have missed it, started up security firms, taken on last minute, killer missions. Not me, no thanks. I want to sleep through the night. In a bed.”

Stone explained the constant travel, risky missions and gunfights get to a person after a while. “I missed out on a lot of TV, you know? I don’t even know whatever happened at the end of Lost.” He held up his hand, “Don’t tell me, I’ve got it all recorded.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST