Lucky 13: Our Most Anticipated Young Adult Books Coming in 2013

With a new year comes resolutions, new beginnings and best of all ... new books! This month we'll be sharing thirteen titles across the genres we're looking forward to in 2013, continuing with Young Adult releases! So just in case your TBR list wasn't already a mile long, here are a dozen (plus one!) YA titles we're anticipating in 2013:


 

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Releases February 2013

We are thrilled that in Marissa Meyer’s second Lunar Chronicles outing we don’t have just one heroine to root for, but two! Yes, Cinder, the cyborg with a heart of gold and a spine of steel, is back and ready to break herself out of prison. But in whole other country there is another heroine, Scarlet, also fighting for survival in this futuristic world ruled by the evil Lunar Queen.

     

 

Mind Games by Kiersten White

Releases February 2013

Kiersten White dazzled us with her Paranormalcy trilogy, which RT reviewer Kelly Brennan described as “Buffy meets The X-Files”. But in 2013, we can expect something new from the author. This February, the first book in the Mind Games series is releasing. Book one features two amazing siblings with equally amazing abilities. Fia’s instincts are never, ever wrong which helps her navigate the world, while Annie’s premonitions of the future are what make her special. Held captive at a school that harnesses the powers of the students, Annie and Fia must do as they are told or risk the other’s life — unless they can find a way out.


     
 

Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter

Releases February 2013

Katarina Bishop is perhaps the cleverest of all the YA heroines. She has to be in order to keep up with her criminal mastermind family. And as much as she bemoans her lack of normalcy, the tricks that Kat’s sticky-fingered relatives have taught her have sure come in handy. But nothing, not even some quick-witted moves, are going to be enough for Kat to save her boyfriend from being conned in the Heist series third novel, Perfect Scoundrels. Kat seems to have nine lives and we will happily read about every one of them as long as the action packed adventure from the terrific Ally Carter keep on coming!

     
 

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Releases March 2013

Say it isn’t so! Please, Cassandra Clare, don’t let this be the last of the Infernal Devices series. These Shadowhunters have been keeping us awake at night since 2010 with action and romance, not to mention one of the most immersive worlds we have read in … well, just about forever. But as sad as we are to say goodbye to this series, we do understand your need to give poor Tessa a break. Being orphaned, kidnapped by the Dark Sisters, forced into her Change so that she can take on others’ appearances, hunted by the mysterious Magister … the list of mistreatments Tessa has suffered is legendary. So it is about time for her to settle down. And even though you have promised us an action filled series finale that takes us around the world, what we really can’t wait for is to see who Tessa is going to choose Jem or Will.

     
 

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Releases March 2013

Anyone who has ever been in love can relate to the premise of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium series. In the future, love is seen as a disease — sweaty palms, inattention, fluttering stomach — it certainly seems like something that needs to be cured, not celebrated. However, during Delirium and Pandemonium, teen Lena has found love and realizes that she will fight to keep control over her own emotions. After leaving her home behind and joining the resistance, Lena is ready to take on anything in the series’ third book Requiem, and we are more than ready to follow her into the unknown.

     
 

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Releases March 2013

Mila 2.0 doesn’t release until March, however, last year ABC preemptively purchased the rights to this futuristic YA thriller and Debra Driza and her debut novel became the talk of Hollywood and the RT office. Mila thinks she is just an ordinary girl, living an ordinary life in a small town in the Midwest. But in truth, she is actually an android — an experiment in artificial intelligence created by the woman she thought was her mother — so she decides to leave. But where will she go and who can she trust if everything she has ever been told is a lie?

     
 

The Rising by Kelley Armstrong

Releases April 2013

Who wouldn’t want to be a superhero? Cool powers that allow you to run faster, jump higher, hear and see better than everyone else. Sign us up! Of course, Maya and her friends might not agree. They have amazing shifting abilities, but so far their heritage has just landed them in deep trouble — lost, alone and in the crosshairs of a very scary covert organization. But in the third book in the Darkness Rising series, Maya and co. have the opportunity to do some hunting of their own and take down their enemies once and for all.

     
 

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins 

Releases May 2013

We swooned when we read Anna and the French Kiss. Loved when we met Lola and the Boy Next Door. So it should come to no surprise to anyone that Isla and the Happily Ever After is on the top of our 2013 TBR pile. Set in the city of lights, Ilsa and Josh are seniors at the School of America in Paris and even though they are still teens, they must deal with some very real, very grown up decisions about life and love and the reality of not having a perfect relationship. With the author’s incredibly emotional storytelling, we have stocked up on tissue in preparation for this upcoming release. But just because we are ready for some tears doesn’t mean there won’t be joy as well — Stephanie Perkins will be bringing back couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket in this series finale! 

     
 

Invisibility by Andrea Cremer and David Levithan

Releases May 2013

With instant classics Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Every Day, David Levithan is hands down one of the best YA authors writing today. Andrea Cremer is newer to publishing, but with her popular Nightshade trilogy fans line up around the block to meet this up-and-coming writer. So when these two team up to write the story of Stephen and his quest to break the curse of invisibility that his grandfather saddled him with, let’s just say that we are expecting magic!

     
 

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Releases June 2013

Alina Starkov, the RT Reviewers’ Choice for Best Young Adult Protagonist of 2012, will be returning in the highly anticipated novel Siege and Storm. In the Grisha trilogy starter, Shadow and Bone, Alina discovered that she is a Sun Summoner — the first summoner born in centuries. But instead of using her powers to destroy her enemies, Alina was forced to run and hide. But no one can accuse Alina of being a quitter and in the upcoming novel she returns to her homeland to fight. Now she needs to figure out a way to not be overcome by the Darkling’s manipulations and we need to re-read the first book to make sure we are ready to go on another fantastical ride with Alina.

     
 

Untitled Divergent Book 3 by Veronica Roth

Releases October 2013

Katniss who? As far as we are concerned 2013 is all about Tris! That’s right, Veronica Roth is currently deep at work for the Divergent series third which is, frustratingly, still untitled. So far there hasn’t been talk, or even a whisper, from the author or the publisher about what to expect in this upcoming book, so we asked the different factions what they think. Candor initiates told us that this will be, hands down, the best book of 2013. The Erudite peeps are also super excited, however, they also reminded us that there are many other things in the world to read while waiting for this book’s fall release. We got good news from those in Abnegation. They promise to share their copies of the story as soon as they get them. And the Dauntless — let’s just say that this faction is ready to fight for a chance to get a peek at Roth’s story, much like we are! 

     
 

Tiger’s Dream by Colleen Houck

Releases 2013

We have been following Colleen Houck’s Tiger’s Curse series with an intensity that borders on obsession. So you can imagine our excitement we learned that the author would be writing one more book set in this world. With (what we thought was) Kelsey, Ren and Kishan’s long awaited conclusion taking place in 2012’s Tiger’s Destiny is it possible that the author is going to introduce new characters in Tiger's Dream? Or maybe things aren’t as tied up as we once thought between the Kelsey and the shapeshifting brothers. 

     
 

Untitled Daughter of Smoke and Bone Book 3 by Laini Taylor

Releases 2013

Reading a Laini Taylor book is almost like reading poetry. With amazingly beautiful descriptions and intricately created characters, we feel like we could almost fall into the crazy worlds of Taylor’s imagination. But as much as we love to visit these paranormal lands, we wouldn’t want to take up permanent residence. Just take Karou in Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. She is a devil’s minion, traveling over the world in order to collect teeth for … well, we aren’t exactly sure what. But let’s face it, it can’t be good. And just when Karou thought not knowing her past would be better than knowing, that’s when fate steps in and shows her that perhaps ignorance is bliss. So what is up next for Karou? We won’t know until the end of the year (or maybe 2014), when Laini releases the series third.

     

Which YA stories are you most excited for? Let us know in the comments! And you can always find the latest genre news and coverage on our Everything Young Adult Page.